5/28 Latte AMPS-498, PMPS~249, +5-435 Bounce :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
PMPS-413 (pred 5mg)
+3.5- 434
+6.5-446
AMPS-498 (pred5mg)
*a little kibble between pmps and +3.5, also between +6.5 and amps, so amps could be padded with food spike*

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15590

This is SOOOOOOOOO hard!!!!!!!! :?
I wanted to raise her dose to 1.5 this a.m. I want to do it tonight...or as soon as possible. BUT, I also just saw her drop 300pts in yesterday a.m.'s cycle on this dose, on top of the fact that this *could* still be a bounce from the other day.Then add in the continued lack of appetite, overall. Neither the 6 cycles on the dose, nor the 6 cycles of bouncing will commence until tomorrow. ARG!!!!!!!!!!! I so wish I could be home all day today to see what happens. THAT might help me to determine if I should bump her up sooner. :YMSIGH:

The protocol does say if a cat is high/flat, to raise in 24-48hrs. IF she is still bouncing, it should clear by tomorrow a.m. She would be due for an increase if I held 6 cycles on Sunday a.m. Maybe I could comprimise and raise it on Saturday pm ( I will be gone all of her am cycle)???? confused_cat Im thinking the next bump up (1.5u), is going to be the one to watch and hold a little longer. Then you add the switch to Lev on Tuesday, and....

Im begging her to hold on a few more days....no infection, no ketones...just a few more days...PLEASE!!!! I promised her we would get her out of these higher numbers. She is counting on me! nailbite_smile

She did eat some kibble while I was at work last night, and overnight (total approx 1/8th cup- so not much). She is eating some wet this a.m. We will wait and see what the total will be by the time I leave this a.m. I did NOT give her bupe after 9am yesterday. Im suspecting some of her lack of eating *could* be a result from how it is making her feel by having it in her system 24/7. Sure enough, she ate overnight for the first time in a while...and one of the few times since starting bupe. She is walking okay today, so I am going to continue to go without for an undetermined amount of time. I wonder if some of her wobbliness was not so much pain, but again a result of bupe in her system constantly???? So far this morning, no wobbles!

She seems good this a.m. - bright, alert, walking well, eating some, drinking lots (blah). Lets hope the light switch in her stays ON a little longer today, than yesterday.

Starting Tuesday next week I will have SIX...yes SIX DAYS OFF! :shock:
I am soooooooooooo excited!!!!!!!!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat

In the meantime...its off to work I go!
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498

Carolyn,

I have no insight on her BG numbers, and I know that's an ongoing concern, but I'm thrilled that she seems to be doing much better with her willingness to eat and walking. The bupe probably did affect her walking so I'm glad to see she is not wobbly without it. Now you know she is better, and the wobbliness is not her.

I hope you have a wonderful week off with her and find time for yourself. Even if its only an hour or two at a time.

Jason
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416

gosh, i feel for you, carolyn. hope latte has a good numbers day for you while you're gone.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416

(((((Carolyn and Latte))))) Hang in there, Carolyn. It's good to hear she's eating a little better on her own. We're sending lots of positive thoughts your way.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416

Yes Carolyn...sending positive thoughts your way...hang in there Latte ~ Mama will be home for 6 days soon....good girl Latte!!
(((((Carolyn & Latte)))))
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416

((((Carolyn))))

You're doing a GREAT job with Latte. You have no control over her numbers, only her insulin unfortunately. It's wonderful that as of now she has no ketones or infections and all you can do is look at what to do now. You're doing the right thing IMO by not raising her dose when you're away if she fell so hard yesterday. At least you know that she is not going to hypo out while you're gone. More than likely her numbers ARE padded by the kibble. :? If she should drop on her own, at least it won't be dangerously so.

Just breathe and get through this day by day. It will happen. You'll get through. See it in your head... and it will be Tuesday before you know it!!!

Try to have a good day, mama :razz:

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343

I am just astounded she can still take these drops on less insulin!
Everything about this a.m. is just a smidge better...numbers, food (2/3 can vs 1/2), and she was up/about for 3hrs vs 2. She is now down for the count.

No bupe yet today. We will see if it helps her eat more later. Not counting on it, but who knows.

Will try to take my lunch around her +6-7 and come home for test. Then back for pmps. Fingers crossed the entire cycle will just be a smidge lower...progress.
 

Attachments

Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343

carolynandlatte said:
I am just astounded she can still take these drops on less insulin!
Everything about this a.m. is just a smidge better...numbers, food (2/3 can vs 1/2), and she was up/about for 3hrs vs 2. She is now down for the count.

No bupe yet today. We will see if it helps her eat more later. Not counting on it, but who knows.

Will try to take my lunch around her +6-7 and come home for test. Then back for pmps. Fingers crossed the entire cycle will just be a smidge lower...progress.


Sounds like a great plan. 343 is a beautiful number...especially compared to that 498. Hopefully she won't drop much more and you did the exact right thing! You know your Latte and you made a judgment call from your gut. I have been learning (slowly) that the numbers are not always the important thing..see I do learn :) Safety first and what's easiest to handle if it happens. You can't deal with a hypo situation if you're not there. ANYTHING else you CAN deal with.

KWIM?

xoC
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343

Hey Latte!!!

Meworning from San Clemente, I hope that you feel better today and have some more to eat for your mama bean ;-)
Wow what a great mama bean you have! How excited are you to have her home for 6 DAYS dancing_cat dancing_cat

My mama bean had to work ALL flippin day yesterday grr_red , but my daddy bean was home to take care of me. He's kewl, much faster
at the shot :thumbup

Just wanted to say meow!!!

Doodles and Heidi >"<

I'll hope for lower numbers :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343

carolynandlatte said:
Im suspecting some of her lack of eating *could* be a result from how it is making her feel by having it in her system 24/7. Sure enough, she ate overnight for the first time in a while...and one of the few times since starting bupe. She is walking okay today, so I am going to continue to go without for an undetermined amount of time. I wonder if some of her wobbliness was not so much pain, but again a result of bupe in her system constantly???? So far this morning, no wobbles!

a long, long time ago, meowzi zonked on buprenex too. we think she may have gotten a little too much. eyes wide open, staring, not moving, no purring, no eating, no sleeping. really strange. but it's never happened again. no wobbles though. just thinking the next time you give bupe, if you haven't tried the lowest dose for her weight yet, could try that and then add to it within the hour if it doesn't seem to have sufficient effect. we've done that too, add 0.1 ml once or twice more after the hour. do not exceed the maximum safe dose for her weight, of course.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343, +6.5-266

She was very good when I got home. :mrgreen:
Some more of her WET food was gone! That was a surprise. So she is at a total of 3/4+ can. First test I got off her was a 196! :shock: Wasnt sure if there was REALLY enough blood on the strip. Tried again and got a 266. Would have tried once more, but she was really hard to get bleeding, and so patient. I would guess mid 200's is most accurate. She seems to be seeing nadirs sometimes around +8 lately...so who knows what she will do. Im not feeling the great need to see blue at this point. I think it will just compound the confusion with another bounce. Mid yellow is perfect. Now, if she could just stay around there until shot time...or bring pmps into pinks instead of red or black, that would be huge progress and give me a lot of hope with this experiment!

Regarding the bupe....I have only been giving .03ml, sometimes .02ml. I havent been home much to observe. When I am home she is just sleepy, or bug eyed for quite a few hours. But I have seen her be able to get up and take care of her needs MOST of the time...not always. maybe even just .01 or .015??? Im using injections and its very easy to measure micro doses of it with an insulin syringe.

3.5 days left until vaaaaaaaaaacation!

Oh...I am also now in possession Levemir!!!!!!!!!!! (THANK YOU MJ!!!! :YMHUG: )
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343, +6.5-266

carolynandlatte said:
She was very good when I got home. :mrgreen:
Some more of her WET food was gone! That was a surprise. So she is at a total of 3/4+ can. First test I got off her was a 196! :shock: Wasnt sure if there was REALLY enough blood on the strip. Tried again and got a 266. Would have tried once more, but she was really hard to get bleeding, and so patient. I would guess mid 200's is most accurate. She seems to be seeing nadirs sometimes around +8 lately...so who knows what she will do. Im not feeling the great need to see blue at this point. I think it will just compound the confusion with another bounce. Mid yellow is perfect. Now, if she could just stay around there until shot time...or bring pmps into pinks instead of red or black, that would be huge progress and give me a lot of hope with this experiment!

Regarding the bupe....I have only been giving .03ml, sometimes .02ml. I havent been home much to observe. When I am home she is just sleepy, or bug eyed for quite a few hours. But I have seen her be able to get up and take care of her needs MOST of the time...not always. maybe even just .01 or .015??? Im using injections and its very easy to measure micro doses of it with an insulin syringe.

3.5 days left until vaaaaaaaaaacation!

Oh...I am also now in possession Levemir!!!!!!!!!!! (THANK YOU MJ!!!! :YMHUG: )


Hey look at that!!!!
You don't have to second guess your instincts..they were right!! It wouldn't have been too good if you raised Latte's dose :(
So now you want blue? Don't get greedy! :lol: Yellow is just a lovely place for Ms. Latte to be. It gives her room to fall if she'd like while you're gone.
I'll be sending some stay yellow vines your way ...you sound sooooo much better than before! :-D

Have a great afternoon, Carolyn

I've given Alex 0.1 orally and it doesn't space him out at all....
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498,+2.5-416, +3.5~343, +6.5-266

Wow! Look what Latte can do on only 1 unit! I'm so happy to hear that she's eating better too. She must be getting ready for the 6 days she gets to spend with mom. I hope the rest of your day goes as well.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498, PMPS~249

OMG!!!! LOOOOK at THAT! 249 ps on 1.25u!!!! :o
I was so excited I almost forgot to shoot her! ohmygod_smile
Then she jumped off her throne and I invited her out for grass. Suddenly she was not behind me. I saw her beeline it to the bathroom to take another nap. :lol: I think I scared her with my jumping up and down. ;-)

AMPS- 498 (pred 5mg)
+2.5- 417
+3.5- 343
+6.5- 266
PMPS- 249 (pred 5mg)
+1-270

As I mentioned, she ate a little more wet in the a.m. when I was gone. there was a little kibble gone between her +6.5 and pmps as well! :smile: She sat on the floor taking skritches for almost 30minutes when I got home tonight and PURRED! Finally! She has such a motor, and its been missing for almost a week now. It was hard to ruin the moment when it came time for meds.

So, we will see how tonight goes. If she jumps real high, I am going under the assumption she went lower after +6.5 and her liver panicked into a bounce. I do not think she went "too low" in the way we know it. If this happens, it may be best to just hold this dose until it clears and I can see where it is taking her during the a.m. cycle. I fully expect some sort of rise this evening, as she always does from the pred. I also dont know when she at the kibble...that could be affecting her numbers now or in the next few hours. If she can stay in the 200-300 range...than PROGRESS we have made!!!!!

Today she ate well so far, she pooped, she played with a whisker that fell off (thought it was a toy I guess?!?!), purred, and was bright. Wish I could say she cleaned herself, but she doesnt do much of that these days due to her lack of flexibility. She was not wobbly in the least bit that I have seen so far. She jumped off her throne (after I begged her not to), and did not fall over or have her legs buckle under her, as she has recently when she has tried this. And still no bupe.

I told her we could have a party tonight with catnip, feathers, treats, grass, skritches, etc. App
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498, PMPS~249

In some cases it's a day at a time. For Latte, it may be one number at a time or one cycle at a time. Give her a few scritches for me.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498, PMPS~249

Great pmps and report for Latte. I am so happy for you. And purrs! It looks like your instincts were right on to lower her dose and start over. I hope the night goes as well as today did.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498, PMPS~249

Reading today's condo sure made me smile. :-D Loved hearing about Latte purring. I hope tomorrow is as good or even better.
 
Re: 5/28 Latte AMPS-498, PMPS~249

Great PM report, Carolyn. I couldn't be happier to hear this. Sometimes you just have to keep the faith...when it's all that you can do ;-)

Have a great night :-D
 
Well, leave it to Latte... :YMSIGH:
That cant be anything but a bounce. Any rise from the pred should be dropping her now. Any kibble eaten earlier today should be losing its umph. She SHOULD be dropping about this time.

So, here I will sit @ the new low dose until I see WHY she is bouncing.

I couldnt get google docs to load all the way tonight. But I was able to look back at some stuff. I know life is different for her now, pred is increased, etc. But back in the beginning when she was on the pred, .75 - 1u was bringing her into greens, steady blues, yellows, and occassional pinks (bounces). I thought that was interesting. I guess I continued to raise her dose, thinking I should keep her in the greens all the time. As we moved forward I learned how unsafe that was for her...yet I continued raising her dose in reaction to any high yellows, pinks, reds, etc.

She ate a little wet food and is now drinking a ton of water.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top