5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555, +8~268, PMPS~413

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15544

Ok! Here we go! The fresh start! Both very nervous of bad consequences, but also hopeful of draining that shed a little and getting a better idea of what she really needs to stay a bit more even while eating more on HER terms vs on demand. Does that make sense?

AMPS +10.5 - 278ish
+16.5- HI
AMPS(+24.5)-555
*note - starting with a 1.25 vs the original plan of 1u*

Im trying to remind myself that she would be this high, no matter how much insulin I was giving her because of the bounce. Today I will probably get a +3, 6, 9, and MAYBe an 11. Its a shoot and run situation this evening.

I have to say, it is very, very, VERY nice to not stress this a.m. about her eating enough food before the insulin hits her system. Food intake can be done at HER pace for the next few days, at least. This might be enough to relax her (and ME) that she will eat better. Strangely, she got up with me this a.m. with enthusiasm...so I put down her wet food before test/shoot. She showed interest!!!!!! She took a few licks!!!!!! I have been shaking the treat bag every 10-15minutes and putting some on her food (typical of what we do every a.m.), and she is responding!!!! Its slow as usual, and she has a ways to go to eat 'enough'. But this is the first time in over a week I have not had to pick her up and put her in front of her bowl...AND that she is actually eating SOME! She can take as much time as she needs to eat whatever she will, with no worries. Ahhhh!

Of course the water bowl is her best friend right now. Im a little perplexed with her urine out put, considering how much she is drinking. Lots of 1/4 c sized deposits in her box. Typically she pees large amounts. I hope this is not a sign of an infection. Im not seeing her go in / out of the box a lot. Its just smaller output. I do have a/b's IF she shows her typical signs and the vet is closed.

It does look like I will be able to try the Lev with her maybe this weekend or beginning of next week. Someone is sending me a vial (MJ, THANK YOU! :mrgreen: ). It will be good to get it started while she is still on a low dose. Her vet gave me his blessing, though he admits to knowing nothing about it...or that the vet community knows much about it and its dosing. I reassured him that many others on this list have switched. Some find it makes a world of difference, others dont. At this point, we both believe its probably not going to hurt. Its a harmless switch, coming at a good time.

So thats our lengthy report. Pretty busy this weekend, but I will try to keep up on posting AND my ss, as well as next week. The month of June looks much more mellow than the past few months. What a relief!

Btw...Jojo, if you see this...thanks for stopping by. It was very helpful to read your post. I did respond, in case you see this condo. I was afraid I would come home last night to a zillion replies telling me what a bad decision I am making. I appreciate, even if you disagree with this, that you didnt shake my confidence/hope too much and offered the support. I may like some guidance as I start increasing her dose, however.

Party tonight, right? Latte just finished 1/3 can wet food in order to have the energy! ;-)
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555

So happy to hear that you and Latte can relax this morning and let her eat at her pace. You gave a wonderful WCR. Wishing you the best with this new start, and you are right.....it can't hurt (at least that is how I feel too). :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555

Great news that she ate a bit...what a stressful time you both have been going through. Good Luck I hope she settled nicely with the new dose
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555

Hoping that the day goes okay for you and Latte...you sound a tad better Carolyn and well, relaxed. Seems you have weighed all your options thoroughly...as long as you are testing for ketones and she is eating a little...onward we go, right? Thinking of you both and looking forward to seeing Latte at the party tonight! hugs!
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555

It looks like Latte is happier without her shot today =) When the meter reads HI like that, it's over what... 600? That means she came down a bit on her own between the HI and the 555... right? I mean it could be/probably is shed action, but *I'd* take that little drop as a good sign, especially with the fact that she ate breffis today and seems to have a bit of energy =) I've got all my fingers crossed and I've asked my zoo to cross paws and send lots of positive energy to Latte so this experiment will work and give you exactly the results you are hoping for! Tugger just told me that he'll help keep an eye on her tonight at the party and said he'll tempt her with Stu's yummy foods to try to keep her eating, that's saying a lot because Tugger loves foods so if he's willing to bring it to Latte and doesn't nibble it up on the way to her throne... ;-)
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555

Hi Carolyn, It sounds like things are under control and that you are feeling much better about what you are doing. And Latte knows it and is responding--in her way! Please do send her to the party tonight. Stu will cook up something special just for her.

Hugs,
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555

Glad to hear Latte has decided to eat on her own.

Just as an FYI, if you switch to the Lev, you will need to reduce the dose. I'd PM Jill and ask how much to tweek. Many cats need a little less Lev than Lantus.
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555, +3-471

After seeing her laying next to her water bowl right before +3, I was certain we were going to see a HI. She has peetered out, and kinda fell over on her throne when trying to get on it. She is due for pain meds soon. Might be part of her sudden ickiness. She finished 1/2 of a 3 oz can wellness by +2. Would like to see more, but its an improvement.

I forgot, but added in first post...I started her at 1.25u vs 1u, because Im certain she will need more than 1u.
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555, +3-471

Go, Latte! I am so glad to hear that she is eating and it must be such a relief for you, Carolyn. You do such an awesome job of taking care of Latte, you shouldn't doubt yourself. Blackie is looking forward to seeing Latte at the party tonight! He'll be wearing chamomile flowers (I couldn't find any blue or green flowers). I'm sure he can bring some extra flowers for Latte to wear.
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555, +3-471

Good Morning Carolyn and Latte,

What a nice start to your day. As you said- the HI would be there anyway so it's a new start and she's eating some.

Sending lots of positive vines your way as you begin Lev.
 
Re: 5/27 Latte AMPS(+24)-555, +3-471, +5-370

so, is this likely left over shed action? Those are still awfully big drops for a skipped shot and reduction to 1.25.

She had a few spoons of babyfood at +3...not much interest tho.
 
AMPS(+24)-555 (pred 5mg, dose start over @ 1.25)
+3- 471
+5-370
+6- 334
+8- 269
+9.5- 329
PMPS-413
+3.5- 434 (pre 5mg)

Latte has this on/off switch in her, I swear. Quite often it short circuits just as she shows some signs of hope. About +2.5 she became very lethargic and stopped eating, after only 1/2 can of food this a.m. I tested her multiple times today in the middle of the floor, without a flinch. Usually she has to be barricaded a bit or she will wiggle away. I ended up feeling I should syringe feed her at the end of her cycle...I got a total of 26mls in between +9.5 and +11.5. She did eat a little kibble while I was at work this evening, but nothing very measurable. :YMSIGH:

My plan was to give the appy stim while I was home today and skip a dose of bupe. But she had started out eating so well, and was walking so poorly I thought I would do it the other way around. Guess I made the wrong call. I really dont want to give her the appy stim unless Im home, after her vomiting episode the last time. I want to make sure her intake can be somewhat controlled in case THAT was the reason she vomited.

Im glad she was happy to see me when I came home. It was the most animated I had seen her since early this a.m. She is still very soft from her numbers yesterday.

Little perplexed about the day time numbers. I was expecting HI on the meter, each and every test. What a surprise! I went back and forth, One minute thinking this is a terrible idea and I should bump her up at least another .25 tomorrow. Then I remember she has been bouncing for 6 cycles. We are barely half way through this bounce. I think its really important to see where she ends up when it clears, as not to get confused as to what are her true numbers and what is a bounce. I dont doubt it will be high...but how high. I also question increasing too quickly and too much if she is not eating. Look at those drops today on a skipped dose AND reduction of almost half her insulin. :? Maybe there is some shed action left. But enough for her to drop almost 300pts in a cycle?!?! I will hold my breath and bite my tongue until her next increase on Sunday to 1.5.

So that was our day in a nut shell...I slept, making up for only 2.5hrs of sleep in a 36+hr period. Latte slept...uhhhhh, i guess cause she is an old cat?! She is high, but didnt go into HI readings as of yet. This all has to be good!

NiNi!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top