5/24 Foster Cat - Bean AM: 239; +6 ~141; PMPS 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

tuckers mom

Very Active Member
My first condo for foster cat Bean, being fostered through DCIN.

I have not used Lantus before, Tucker uses Levemir.

I don't have a condo from yesterday, but here's a link to Health that explains some numbers.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=15247

She is a dry food eater, working on transitioning but I've only had her since Saturday night and transitioning will take time. She ate some Wellness Core today and a chicken treats. Not a big appetite and from what I hear, hunger strikes are par for the course too.

She was on Humulin N, then switched to Lantus the beginning of May, 3U BID not hometested. The drive up to CT from GA proved that even 1.5U may be too much for her, whether that was stress or the fact that she is a steroid induced diabetic, I'm not sure. She started on 0.5 U of Lantus Sunday morning. I don't have much else I can tell you at this point.

You can read about her history on DCIN: http://fdmb-cin.blogspot.com/2010/02/be ... ns-ga.html

So far I'm remembering not to pull too much insulin and put it back into the Lantus pen :) I was proud of myself for remembering that.

Are there any major differences between Lantus and Levemir other than that?

Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to offer.
 
Re: 5/24 Foster Cat - Bean AM: 239; +6 ~141

Hi Jennifer,

What a nice bean you are to get this one on the right track. I don't know the differences, between the two. Sara's is on lantus and was on vetsulin prior to that.

I don't think it makes any difference on how much insulin you draw off. Just don't enject anything, air or insulin back into the bottle. Measure it off into a sink etc. Sometimes I have had to draw maybe a unit of so more because of bubbles. Thats another story in my book. I guess sometimes you can get bad syringes.

Good luck with Bean and your such a good mamabean to do this. :-D

See you on the board.

jan and sara
 
Re: 5/24 Foster Cat - Bean AM: 239; +6 ~141

I don't know the difference between L & Lev, but I wanted to say hi and welcome you and Bean to LL. You are a wonderful bean to take her on. But she is very cute - gotta love those toes.
 
So today
AMPS 239 0.5U
+6 141
PMPS 139 0.5U

I gave her the shot even though her numbers haven't budged since +6, but I don't know this cat yet and how she will react and she did eat Wellness Core during the day.

She ate some canned food a few minutes ago. It was Lilly Grace's canned that falls out of her bowl when she eats and then clumps and dries on her feeding mat, but it was only a few hours old and it's the first sign of Bean eating canned so far.

Lilly Grace has Cerebellar Hypoplasia, one of her symptoms is being a sloppy eater, she bobs at her food and can't hold her head still when she eats so the food flies :mrgreen:
 
Jennifer -

What a kind and generous thing for you to do. Bean looks and sounds like a charmer. And, it's a big plus if she will clean up after Lily Grace!

It looks like 0.5u was the way to go. Given that the Tilly Protocol is for both Lantus and Levemir, I think you can treat the two as equivalent. Some of the members here have found that Lev may give a little more duration than Lantus and when switching from Lantus to Lev, the Lev dose is reduced slightly. Off the top of my head, I can't think of anything else. I'm sure Jill or one of the others who have used both will be by to answer your question.

Good luck with your new addition. The photos of Bean are just adorable!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top