5/23 Lanky AMPS 411; PMPS 97, +10 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Where did this AMPS come from?

ETA: Lanky did eat more than normal yesterday but...Dad was home & I watched BOTH like a hawk so I don't think Lanky got any unapproved snacks only 2 or 3% Fancy Feast...so?

Went ahead and shot 7.25n (cycle #4). This was my first night too off the couch & back in bed. This process sure makes me superstitious & I am thinking of moving back to the couch! Lanky's P's are good. AM food is fancy feast 2%, smaller amount than yesterday.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

Hi Susan, It looks like some sort of a bounce. Lanky's AMPS numbers tend to be high in any event. Don't worry. His liver is working and just needs to be trained. It can be a long, drawn-out process. And everyone says that AMPS is always the last thing to come down.

Ella

Hey Lanky, I hear that you'd like to join my kitchen crew for the Thursday Full Moon party. You are very welcome. I'll fill you in on your tasks on Thursday. Be sure to get there early!!

Stu
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

My thoughts:
I don't see this 411 as a bounce. Look at his history -- IMO I'd rule out bounce here --I'd call it a red that Lanky tosses out sometimes.
Lanky's doses may need to be raised in 0.5u increments rather than 0.25u.
If they are raised in 0.25u I think we need to consider raising dose sooner (numbers confirming) after 4 cycles.
I think his body easily adjusts to the new doses and returns to the higher numbers.
The lowest BG in 10 days was BG 143, 5/15, 6.5u, 3rd cycle of 0.5u increase.
The next time he saw blue was 5/18, BG 180, 7u, 3rd cycle after 0.5u increase.
Held the 7u for 9 cycles, the 3rd cycle of that dose was the best one.
I also don't think the vet trip has that much to do with his numbers "now."

From Tilly's:
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

I do not think the above excerpt is what is happening here BUT it should be considered.

Cats will shift in pattern, no doubt about it. I'm watching Lanky for a shift in pattern. His 3 cycle, numbers improve pattern, may switch to the 4th cycle, we'll see.

I don't like letting a cat get too comfy in high yellow and pink. After this cycle I'd like to see a 0.25u increase if there is no improvement.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

That sound just right to me D. I was thinking that at 7u, the last dose increase should have been +0.5 but that was just my gut, certainly not from knowledge or experience.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

Ok...he hasn't had a red in a long time...maybe this is a short trip down memory lane...a blip...that's it...just a blip. It's a low red anyway...hope he hates the feeling and quickly gets back to prettier numbers for you.
Lanky, lanky, lanky...what are we gonna DO with you? getting your mama upset like this...come on down Dude!!

Hey, wanna come over and help us decorate tonight? Maybe the added activity will help bring those numbers down....
we'll be decorating all night if you wanna come by...would love to see you....now get to work on that number, k? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

I am giving Lanky PepcicAC (Pac), 1/4 tab of 10 mg pill, with AM & PM routine as noted on SS in notes. Last night I forgot @ PM and gave him the tab between +3 & +4. I just want to check if Pac or my administration of it has anything to do with anything, thoughts?
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

I don't have first hand experience with pepcid. My guess would be that the pepcid doesn't make a difference but the reason the cat needs the pepcid might.

IMHO, when a cat is getting a dose like Lanky -- raising in 0.5u increments should be considered. It is not the same proportion for a cat who is on 1-2u. I would not raise the dose on a lower dosed cat in 0.5u increments. I would want to raise Lanky's dose by 0.25u next raise, to get us to the 0.5u we might have gone to, but I would like to do that sooner than later. Then we would wait at least 4 cycles and then consider the next raise in the amount of 0.5u. Tests will be back soon and we will know more. You can't really plot out a course for the future. Our future is a cycle at a time.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

It dose look like Lanky gets used to a dose and will throw out a higher number or numbers start creeping back up. I don't think the late dose of the Pepsid should be a big problem.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411

I am not ruling out raising next dose in 0.5u. An alternative plan might be to wait until tomorrow morning (2 cycles at present dose) and then raise by 0.5u. That plan has the push factor. It also would save a couple of cycles of wait and see time.

Part of my theory of pushing a cat hard is to try and not end up with a higher dose. My theory is with a kitty like Lanky, where he is right now, that if you initially are aggressive you "might" end up with a lower cruising dose then had you gone up by .25u increments. Does that make sense? If a cat continually gets comfortable in higher doses then it might take more time coupled with more 0.25u increases to bring him down. But if you push him closer to the blues, by trying increments of 0.5u, you might not have an ending break/cruise dose that is as high.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10 106

This is one beautiful example of the high before the break. Holy kittens, nice break Lanky.
I did have a feeling he was going to switch up on which cycle he would respond in.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

there it is!!! I knew he could find green. :mrgreen:

I think we're in for an interesting cycle tonight.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

That is really looking good! some drop today!! @-) --It is just one number, one day--hope tonite goes smoothly!
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

This is where it gets hard, shooting 7.25u at a green.
I'm not going to push you hard to shoot but while your thinking it over remember he will bounce from today's numbers, you worked very hard to get here, reducing dose or delaying the shot could affect numbers for days. You definitely will be getting a +1, +2, +3 if you shoot. His bounce can show up anytime, nowish to 48 hours from now.
You must feel comfortable with your decision -- do what you think is right.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

Can we all do a happy dance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

this is a good time to ask if you're well stocked for lower numbers. Do you have high carb canned food? And plenty of test strips? And your Ballz of Steel? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

Libby and Lucy said:
this is a good time to ask if you're well stocked for lower numbers. Do you have high carb canned food? And plenty of test strips? And your Ballz of Steel? :mrgreen:
:lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +11 99

sehjak (Susan & Lanky) said:
You betcha ya. The moment we have been waiting for...
the moment we've all been waiting for!!!
goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo lanky! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +11 99

Another switcherooo kitties can do -- move their nadirs. Not saying this is his nadir but some cats nadir at shot time. Noisy had many nadirs but my favorite was when he was a late nadir kitty.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +11 99

What is cool is that this will be the 5th cycle of this dose -- not in his recent (if any) history has he done this.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +11 99

Then that tells me this is the big break we all have been working & praying for...I'll do the PMPS pretty soon & then it will be show time! (not withstanding the # of course!)
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411; PMPS 97

Lanky is eating a great supper of Fancy Feast 3% and enjoying every morsel - 3/4 of 3 oz can so far. Ready for shoot on the hour of 7.25u. Let's go...
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411; PMPS 97

Will be watching.

ETA: TWINKLE DUST
ETA2: Nice BOS Susan. I think every time someone has BOS they should get some bonus -- chocolate, wine, something.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411; PMPS 97

D - you got that right. I have my nice little glass of wine & a wonderful dinner (the Greek salad is particularly good if any one wants the recipe-PM me) almost ready to go. Now it is just waiting, watching, testing, and snackus time!
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411; PMPS 97, +1 92

Lanky is napping peacefully by the fire (still very cold here in CA) and came in with +1 @ 92. Think I'll let him sleep more & not bug him too much since BG appears to be holding or only slightly declining. Dinner should be kicking in too. I am ready with MC & HC food as needed. If any of you see any actions I should be taking, please chime in.

To be continued...
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411; PMPS 97, +1 92

Nice +2!
Have a great night you guys. See you in the early morning.
 
Re: 5/23 Lanky AMPS 411 +10.5 98

D and Noisy said:
Can we all do a happy dance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Here is our happy dance. Green. So amazing Susan!!!! I know what that feels like, working so hard and getting a crack.

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Been expecting Mr. Bouncie. We'll see how big he gets. I assume we will hold the dose @ 7.25u but need to check with D and others for advice & recommendations. I am opening a condo for May 24, so see you over there as we chat about our evolving game plan. Very exciting PMPS cycle!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top