5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +5~58 +6~97 pmps 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo for Shadoe

Shadoe's getting some bloo amps numbers lately; I wonder what that means for her?
Because acro aims for bloo, not green, I always wonder - shoot or no shoot, and how much?

Anyways, it's the weekend and I am home, plus she was on her way up after 15min and no food, so I went with her usual 6.5uLev dose.

Shadoe, the little chunky monkey, has also put on some poundage this week - not alot but still a bit - 13.4 up to 13.6 now.

I had decided to keep track of their weights at home since I have a decent Tanita scale, so I can track mine and the kitties' weights now.
I always worry that Booboo is too tiny, Shadoe is a big fat football, and Oliver needs to put some meat on his bones.
And today, was an awesome weigh-in - everyone gained but I lost! YAY!

So today, we started in bloos - excellent. Now I have a question for acro moms:
If we never aim for green numbers, how do you earn a decrease? At what point do you say OK dose is too much?

This morn, as usual, I test 15min prior so that I can prepare foods and shots for both. On Shadoe's 155, I waited to test again after 15min and she was at 175, so I shot, but it got me wondering about what to do for very low bloos or maybe even a green ps number!

Thoughts anyone?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1547.JPG
    IMG_1547.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 1,016
  • IMG_1554 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1554 cropped.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1,009
  • IMG_1555 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1555 cropped.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 1,038
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175

Gayle, I just love your pictures. Your kids are so cute!!!
Shadoe looks great today! I am not acro-wise so I can't answer your question, sorry.
Hope you guys have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175

Good morning,Gayle!
It's nice start of a day for Shadow!
? where did you buy ' tanita' scale?
i have WW. but don't think it's accurate.Do You have to weigh cat and yourself than only You?
BTW,Shadow and Boo are so cute together!
You have nice Saturday!
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175

:lol: She is really ON ALERT! Wow! Too funny Gayle! She has a nice sheen to her fur...looking good with those wonderful numbers!
I love the way Shadoe and Booboo snuggle...so adorable! Congrats on shedding some poundage yourself....that must have been a cute weigh-in for everyone! Isn't that what they do in Weight Watchers? LOL
Hope you have a great day... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175

I'm learning about the acro-kitties so I'm happy to brainstorm with you. FWIW, from what I've seen when the acro-mom's post or give input, the first part is knowing your cat. Are you getting a one time lower number or is this an indication that the tumor is going into an inactive phase? It's looking like in Shadoe's case, it's the latter. This is beginning to look a lot like what was going on around 3/19. I could see your reducing Shadoe's dose to 6.0u or maybe more for the PM. I might have dropped it to 6.0u for this morning's shot given that Shadoe's been giving you some blues starting on the 26th and then greens yesterday.

You might want to note that you have an acro question in your subject line. There are acro-moms who post regularly and will chime in if they know you have a question.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Now I have a question for acro moms:
If we never aim for green numbers, how do you earn a decrease? At what point do you say OK dose is too much?
ECID. When you get greens that you weren't aiming for, per say, depending on how low and how far from nadir you might decide to BCS then after rebound clears think about a small decrease. It really depends on the situation and how low she went. I don't think there's a set rule. 40 for any cat, acro or not, probably earns one, but then you also have to factor in if you think there was R influence in reaching a low.

Just my rambling thoughts, I'm certainly no expert on this. If a decrease doesn't hold you don't have to wait to bring the dose back up.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97

Bo,
The Tanita scales are similar to the WW ones where you can get more values than just the weight. Because muscle weighs more than fat, you could start exercising, lose fat and gain muscle, then feel sad because you have gained wieight! The scale I have measure about 6 diff values, but I use only the weight feature with the cats because I can't train them to stay still and keep their paws on the metal plates haha_smiley
So that's what I do; I hold each separately, then weigh myself and subtract. It's not exact, but it's consistent and recordable so I can see who is being a piggy with the foods, not mentioning any names *cough Oliver cough*

Pat,
I have noticed that Shadoe's coat is becoming closer and closer to smooth, silky and shiny like Booboo's, and frequent brushings help too. Now I need to work at Oliver's to get more of the crud out of his coat and then when he gets more settled with a dose, he will have a better coat too.

I am excited and hope that eventually, Shadoe can join the club of acros OTJ even if it's just for a short time. I know it may take awhile since we are at a high dose, but you never know how she will go. Time will tell.

Sienne and Nina,
I have to say that acro is certainly never ever boring or predictable!
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97

Sienne,
That may be a good plan, to try a decrease today at pm if she continues with nice numbers through the day, especially since there was no R in the picture for the last 2 shots.

When I look at her ss, she seems to go wacky when she is changing; when she got those bloos, she followed with a red but then went right back down again and continued low. Then again, maybe I am just looking too hard. I can't read any ss for beans.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97 +4~68

Alrighty now, I think this :mrgreen: without the help of any R is Shadoe's way of saying I am good, but maybe we should look at shaving a wee bit off my dose!

I also have to remind myself that we did just start a new cart, so who knows? Maybe cracking open a fresh cart of juice contributed to this progress.

Whatever the reason, it's good to see.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97 +4~68

I'd also be thinking about some MC or HC about now. Remember, you want Shadoe surfing in blues. I'm thinking Shadoe's trending to an inactive phase and if so, getting those numbers up will be harder and harder. I'd definitely think about dropping the dose tonight.

If Jojo has any suggestions via FB, would you post them here?
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97 +4~68

ooooo Sienne, you have made Shadoe's day to say she can have some tastier foods with gravies!
And yes, I'll post what jojo has to say about it all in fb over to here.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97 +4~68

It's a good thing I did not look away; that heaping tbsp of ff wild salmon florentine was inhaled. Never did 11%carbs ever taste so good! haha_smiley
We'll see what that does to the next numbers - her +5 is 58
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +2.5~97 +4~68 +5~58

Naw, with Oliver, you just toss him a chicken or a big bowl of anything and he loves you till forever. haha_smiley

He totally could not care less and he's always been like that.
It's the little princess who gets her nose out of joint!

I'll test her again in a few min and see how she is after that scoop of good stuff.
If not coming up, I can always pull out the 18% stuff.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +5~58 +6~97

Fantastic photos! I can't answer any of the questions, but do wish you and Shadoe and the troops a fantastic Caturday! Hope her numbers get back to where they need to be - at least she can rejoice in really yummy MC/HC foods.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +5~58 +6~97

Sienne,
I forgot to comment on the phase part of your post.
When we got Shadoe's results, her number was only 120, which is alot lower than you see with others testing positive for acro, but still high enough to be considered as positive.
Because of the phases, if you were to test acro cats regularly, you would see those numbers fluctuate, just like the BG numbers, but based on what's up with the tumor.
Also, Shadoe's on the young side, so maybe that details plays into the picture.

I don't know how long they stay inactive, but being young, it may be awhile. Others mentioned that some acro cats actually can go OTJ but as they age, those times OTJ get shorter. I am hoping that's where we are headed.

I really think that all the stuff which happened last month knocked the socks off the tumor, and now that everything has returned back to normal, we can see what's really going on. Bad teeth gone, ultrasound done and no bad stuff seen, blood draws also in the past. I look on it as being similar to no R used; I see her true colors.

I am sure that Lorna and Carolynn can say more on the ups and downs, having experienced them. Me, I'll just post it all here as it happens. I am lousy at reading ss, but I can fill them with numbers.

It should be interesting to see how things turn out with Oliver and how he compares to Shadoe and her journey.
 
Re: 5/1 Shadoe amps 155/175 +5~58 +6~97 +10~115

Shadoe is certainly taking her sweet time coming up; her pmps should be interesting.
 
Woo hoo! Our first pseudo-earned decrease!

I am going to celebrate with a special pot of flavored coffee; Shadoe celebrated by attacking and charging at Oliver like a crazy wild cat, with ears slicked on her head and all teeth bared and all accompanied by a terrifying screech the likes of which I never heard from her, ever! And all he had done was jump up onto his tree, like he has done tons of times before. I guess she was startled or did not like how he jumped up.

He never budged except to look up with this dumb HUH? look on his face.
She seemed pleased with herself and it took me a good 15min to calm her down.
She can be so witchy to him.
Booboo slunk away and hid till her freaky buddy was calmed down.
 
It sounds like you have a constant source of entertainment at your place. I also think you may need a Flip camera to get all of the action for us!

Thanks for posting the info. I'm learning right along with you! My understanding is that how long the tumor is in an active or inactive phase is unpredictable -- you just have to keep an eye on the numbers. I wasn't aware, until recently, that an acro kitty could go OTJ. (And how cool is that?!) I think you're right though - now that all of Shadoe's other issues are out of the way, you'll have a clearer picture of how the acro effects her.

All I can say at this point is that you may need to go down the dose ladder quickly if the tumor is going inactive.
 
You asked about "the greens"; I went back and checked my ss. Unfortunately, we weren't "around" long enough to be very useful. Basically, we went up, up, up, got treated, then went down, down, off. When we were going down, I did still use 50 as a guide to reduce; however, I also used a mid-green preshoot to signal a reduction.

Even though "acro beans don't need green", I still shot low blues and greens, especially if I were going to be home to monitor. While it wasn't really necessary, I did it because I needed to know what would happen while I was at work. If I shot it and she hit a 50, I would reduce; more often than not, she just surfed nicely when we got a good dose.
 
"So today, we started in bloos - excellent. Now I have a question for acro moms:
If we never aim for green numbers, how do you earn a decrease? At what point do you say OK dose is too much?"

i said earlier on FB that i would elaborate on that here.
okay, nina gave good answer (and she certainly has been working her acro kitty long enough to know ;) ), it is an individualized thing, however since it is shadoe you are concerned with, let's just look at her.
okay look at your SS..do you see what is MIA that "should" have happened today but didn't? yep, that's right some RBC. that was her first green in a month. very telling that there was no rebound. sorry (well not really for her, but for your nerves) but i have a feeling she is gonna fast track you again down the dosing path. like i said to you earlier, she has only had one rev down in her acro history, there is still much to learn about what is 'typical' for her. she already did take a big dosecrease just by dropping the R...do you see now why that is another reason to use R during certain phases of her acro cycles? the shed-less R is so easy to cut off a dose on a quick changing cat.
okay so right now we have an acro that got a big dosecrease (dropped the R) and went green 2 days in a row. good thing tomorrow is sunday, i have a feeling you are gonna need to drop more off dose before work monday morning. see how tonight and tomorrow goes. remember you can ALWAYS BCS dose it monday morning, she looks like she is revving down quick and lev, although we love the shed, same shed is an issue when cat has jumped into a race car and puts petal to metal on the downward dosing path.
now about other part of the question, 'aiming for green', well that also depends on the acro, the dose, whether owner works or is home 24/7, and the above, speed with which the GH output cycles. nina/KB or wendi/milo can aim for green, they are not high dose acros, and it works for their cats. (while someone like the gone many hours a day at work/mega big gluper~ lorna/GC i would advise against it).
obvious that shadoe's pancreas works fine at this point (yes even an acro can lose that working pancreas they have by beta cell burn out from high numbers or CP flares, like sandy/cecil was an acro AND real diabetic cat) so she has no "need" for green like regular diabetic cats for pancreatic healing but if some high green happens it is not a "bad" thing. kinda hard to keep some cats flat in a tight range of blue w/o getting touches of the next colors around it. certainly would not sacrifice all touches of high green if it meant that pink had to be in cycle, you know what i mean here? like rather see a cycle of 190-90-190 than 330-190-330. we do want to avoid going above the renal threshold whenever possible, acro do have issues with kidney very often, o point in putting additional strain on them if it is easy to avoid it.
hmm......speaking of...do you know her renal threshold?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top