5/1 Oliver amps 317 +4~272 +6~311 +10~279 pmps 265

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo for Oliver

This morning was a pleasant sight to see Oliver's low pink. Today was weigh-in and he's up to 18.4lb / 8.35kg. I don't know what he weighed when he first arrived but after 2weeks with us, he weighed 15.2lb. I had started weighing him because he seemed so gaunt, but not anymore :thumbup He really IS a big boy, so hopefully he does not get too fat.

I think he's getting much closer to being Booboo's buddy; they do lots of nose touching and she has even been seen attempting to curl up beside him. He is still a scaredy cat and moves away but I did catch one picture of it before he fled.


I am hoping that once Shadoe sees her tiny buddy is not scared, maybe Shadoe will come around a bit. So far, she' sit fairly close, but only if she can keep an eye on him.
Meanwhile, Oliver follows Booboo around and bugs her.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1551.JPG
    IMG_1551.JPG
    3.2 MB · Views: 1,232
  • IMG_1552.JPG
    IMG_1552.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 1,234
  • IMG_1557.JPG
    IMG_1557.JPG
    2.7 MB · Views: 2,017
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317

Very nice low pink for Oliver today Gayle...he looks so great to me in the pictures.....filling in beautifully! you are doing such a great job with them all....Booboo really IS Miss Congeniality, isn't she? Hope you all have a great day! :razz:
 
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317 +2.5~313

Vera vera nice numbers for Oliver today, Gayle! :-D

For some reason I can't open the pictures..keep getting an error message. But I'm sure they are adorable (are they on FB)?
 
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317 +2.5~313 +4~272

After looking at a sea of pink, with a smattering of the odd red and black, it is AWESOME to see a yellow! Even if it took some R to get there.

I am not going o get too excited because the last time he freaked and went back up, but hopefully he will learn to like these lower numbers and come down to visit more often.

Following the nice number, he made a delightfully stinky LB deposit which was quickly whisked away to save the air and environment. I am sure that he feels much better with that out of his system.

Caryl,
I think I put them on fb as well; see if they are viewable there.
 
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317 +2.5~313 +4~272

I don't think I fully appreciated Oliver's size until seeing BooBoo curled up next to him. He's an armload! Your photos are wonderful.

It's great to see those yellow numbers.
 
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317 +2.5~313 +4~272

Sienne,
I think the best picture to show his size is the one up against the climber which is 36inches tall.
If you think about that height against yourself, you can visualize his length.
The climber comes just below my waist, so just think of a cat that stands against your side and can reach your waist if he wanted!
I am SERIOUSLY thinking of getting him a harness and leash to WALK him to the vets; forget about a carry case! Unless I can put it on wheels haha_smiley
 
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317 +2.5~313 +4~272 +6~311

Well, that was a good run of yellow; let's try maybe 2.5R on the latter half of this cycle.
 
Re: 5/1 Oliver amps 317 +2.5~313 +4~272 +6~311

Hey Oliver, Your photos are awesome, man! That was a good yellow number today. Keep on truckin'!

Stu
 
It's taking a bit of R, but we are keeping the big guy in yellow for now. He seems OK with it all, all colors are fine so long as the foods keep coming!
 
Hi Gayle
This is a nice day for Oliver. How nice is that yellow break.
I love the idea of a leash and walking him to the vets.
I could just imagine the look on their faces.
 
Randi,
With my luck, Oliver would be as cooperative as that kitty on the treadmill! I may as well look at getting him some sort of stroller.
I do have a blue dolly from Ikea that I got when I purchased a big item awhile back.
He's closing in on 20lb and combined with the carry case, it's too heavy and awkward to use without wheels under it.
 
hey there! ;-)

wow a YELLOW PMPS for the boy! and look it only took 14 units of insulin between the lev and R at get it. lolol, is there anyone out there that still has doubts about this being a HIGH DOSE cat? speak up now or forever hold you peas. :lol:

and yes i have been helping gayle with this boy on FB. it is the one case i made the commitment to take on no matter how ill i was because she desperately needed the reassurance. anyone that wishes to comment on that now is your chance. i have not read one of the previous condo here in LL of his, but have heard that she was taking some flack (not from usual LL peeps of course) for oliver's dosing needs. repeat, dosing needs. i hope those days are over. gayle is doing an awesome job with very very tough case here. my kudos to you gayle!
~jojo

ps. is may 14th still the scheduled day for the acro/IAA blood draws?
 
holy smokes! up to 14 units! and R too.
I hope he will learn to go down the dosing scale as easily as he learned to go up.

So, my question of the day is - can an acro cat (or high dose cat) go OTJ? Is that a realistic possible goal? Or is the goal with an acro regulation and steady numbers?

I know, in your case, healthy, happy is all that matters, but generally speaking....

And wow, he's a big boy, adorable, but big....I know, what he will say - there's just more of him to love is all!
 
Hilary,
Yes, it is possible.
I wanted to comment in the same condo as your question.
I have been told, just can't remember who, that an acro cat CAN go OTJ because they have a working, functional pancreas, and so the beans are more dealing with the output of the tumor, more than the diabetes. If the tumor goes inactive, then you could well see a big drop or disappearance in the need for insulin. Apparently it's in younger ages, and Shadoe is only 6, so it's possible. Whoever it was had said that one kitty had been OTJ 4 times but the durations lessened with age.

Now Oliver is a bit older, 8yrs I think, and I don't know how long he has been diabetic, so he has a few unknowns. Still, at his current dose needs, it's best to get him tested and know what is involved and what can be eliminated. Even if both acro and IAA are negative, it's still an answer of sorts because we will have ruled out two big reasons for Oliver's reaction to insulin.

While Shadoe's test results were positive, her number was much lower than others on their IGF-1 values likely indicating she was entering a more inactive phase, and her insulin needs dropped down to 2.5u for a short bit. They are on their way up, but stopped now at 6.5u.

To answer the question: Yes an acro cat can go OTJ. Acros have functioning pancreas so the aim is for BLUE not GREEN. If you think of how food is used by the body to regulate sugars, you will see how BLUE is the goal as low green numbers will not come up with foods like a normal FD kitty; you could see the numbers stay low or go lower.

I will go to the vet office later today and arrange the testing for Oliver on possibly May 9th blood draw and shipment, testing on May12th at msu, and hope to have the results May14th or the next Monday.
 
jojo and bunny said:
is there anyone out there that still has doubts about this being a HIGH DOSE cat? speak up now or forever hold you peas.

Yes, I still have doubts. Oliver was never appropriately started on the Lantus protocol. He was treated for almost a full month at the vet's office on 3-4u without consistent testing. Gayle's short 1U start-over did not give his system time to clear.

and yes i have been helping gayle with this boy on FB. it is the one case i made the commitment to take on no matter how ill i was because she desperately needed the reassurance. anyone that wishes to comment on that now is your chance. i have not read one of the previous condo here in LL of his, but have heard that she was taking some flack (not from usual LL peeps of course) for oliver's dosing needs. repeat, dosing needs. i hope those days are over. gayle is doing an awesome job with very very tough case here. my kudos to you gayle!

Yes, I have comments. Thank you so very much for your permission for those who do not agree with what is happening here to express their opinions. I believe that because Oliver is a DCIN placement, his treatment should be advised in an open, public forum. The private advising of a public adoption will factor into DCIN's future adoption evaluations. "Flack" is an overstatement, IMVHO, dearest JoJo, for the occasional concerns expressed publicly by those involved with Oliver's rescue and placement. It is not at all inappropriate for those "peeps" to be concerned. If they weren't concerned, Oliver would not have been rescued and rehomed. I am disappointed that those concerned persons were and continue to be attacked for expressing their reasoned opinions in a public forum. Hopefully, your clear permission here for comments will squelch attacks on my opinion.

is may 14th still the scheduled day for the acro/IAA blood draws?

The sooner the better.
 
The insinuations are too hurtful.
When you do your best, yet are still insulted, there's really not much point in offering more updates is there?
 
Venita:

I don't know if you missed the latter part of the exchange in an earlier condo. Unlike yourself, it was rather apparent that the person posting had not read Oliver's condo or reviewed his SS. A dialogue is fine -- it helps everyone. But the person posting had not studied the information available and as such, it is difficult to give that commentary much credibility other than acknowledging that it was an opinion based on insufficient information. Further, the tone of the post was such that it appeared that the purpose was to start a flame war -- something which serves absolutely no purpose.

I have seen the exchanges between Gayle and Jojo on FB. Gayle studiously will repeat that information here. I don't think anyone would support the promotion of 'off the Board' recommendations, least of all Jojo. Perhaps it would be helpful if you "friended" both Gayle and Jojo on FB so you could see this for yourself.

Gayle: I hope that you do not stop posting. As I've said to you previously, I think you are doing excellent work with Oliver and Shadoe. You have helped many of us who are trying to learn about dosing strategy become better informed whether it is with respect to the use of R or to the treatment of high dose kitties. I've certainly found our exchanges helpful in sharpening my thinking. I hope you've found it useful, as well.
 
Venita and The Boyz said:
jojo and bunny said:
is there anyone out there that still has doubts about this being a HIGH DOSE cat? speak up now or forever hold you peas.

Yes, I still have doubts. Oliver was never appropriately started on the Lantus protocol. He was treated for almost a full month at the vet's office on 3-4u without consistent testing. Gayle's short 1U start-over did not give his system time to clear.

and yes i have been helping gayle with this boy on FB. it is the one case i made the commitment to take on no matter how ill i was because she desperately needed the reassurance. anyone that wishes to comment on that now is your chance. i have not read one of the previous condo here in LL of his, but have heard that she was taking some flack (not from usual LL peeps of course) for oliver's dosing needs. repeat, dosing needs. i hope those days are over. gayle is doing an awesome job with very very tough case here. my kudos to you gayle!

Yes, I have comments. Thank you so very much for your permission for those who do not agree with what is happening here to express their opinions. I believe that because Oliver is a DCIN placement, his treatment should be advised in an open, public forum. The private advising of a public adoption will factor into DCIN's future adoption evaluations. "Flack" is an overstatement, IMVHO, dearest JoJo, for the occasional concerns expressed publicly by those involved with Oliver's rescue and placement. It is not at all inappropriate for those "peeps" to be concerned. If they weren't concerned, Oliver would not have been rescued and rehomed. I am disappointed that those concerned persons were and continue to be attacked for expressing their reasoned opinions in a public forum. Hopefully, your clear permission here for comments will squelch attacks on my opinion.

is may 14th still the scheduled day for the acro/IAA blood draws?

The sooner the better.

Venita,
With all due respect, I feel you are misunderstanding a whole lot about the treatment of Oliver. There are many of us high dose AND regular dose people looking at these numbers. We may not post every day but there is NOTHING wrong with what Gayle is doing. What you are doing, however, is an insult to her. Please understand that there are a good many of us who are VERY well qualified to see whether this cat needs more or less insulin and Gayle is indeed one of those people.

You know me personally, in real life, and you know my track record on spreadsheet reading and seeing things that others do not. It took me all of 5 seconds to note the cat was resistant to R which is indicative of multiple high dose conditions, and never indicative of overdose. It took me 5 seconds of looking at his pictures to note the potbelly, large frame, paws and head and the jutting jaw of this cat. I did not want to discuss that on Gayle's threads because I find it bad enough she's got this going on that I don't need to blurt out "Hey Gayle, I think you accidentally adopted a second acro!" You know that I have been on these threads so I know you know she is being talked to by people who actually know when there's something wrong. You know that I have had cats who have been dosed all over the place, micro, low, mid and now a 22u cat who was once at 40u. I would NOT condone poor dosing advice and I would NOT condone advising a cat to stay at too high a dose either. You know this about me, and you know this about a good many other people who are on Gayle's threads.

I am rather horrified that I am seeing these posts on this poor girl's condos. (Sorry Gayle, I know you are not a poor girl) In fact, I am beyond horrified. It is unseemly that someone who has gone so far out of her way to take into her home and worked so very hard to attempt to regulate him would be the recipient of such ugliness and second-guessing. You may not want to believe this but there is an extreme likelihood that she has accidentally adopted an acrocat or an IAA cat. How would you feel if you had an acrocat, thought you were getting a "regular" diabetic cat, and found out after spending THOUSANDS of dollars on insulin, treatment and tests that the cat was acro..? Do you not think she is feeling enough stress?

The time has come to allow her to treat this cat as if he is her own because he IS her own. Please please please call off the dogs, the cat is in VERY good hands with Gayle, and is being monitored by people who can and do read spreadsheets every single day. We can recognize these problems very quickly. You must have seen the extreme numbers of cats identified acro on this insulin support group alone. It is due to the protocol itself, which is known inside and out by every member here, most especially by Gayle who tried so hard to get Shadoe regulated before discovering she was acro. People don't understand that about high dose and acro moms. We already did the protocol. We know that information better than anyone... because we would have done ANYTHING to get our cats to be normal. ANYTHING. Think about loading up a syringe with 5, 8, 10, 20u of insulin and think how hard you'd have to swallow before injecting that. It's a damn difficult thing to do, especially when you see all these other people deciding if they should shoot a fat 1u or 1.25u. Then think about if you DON'T do it what can happen. Ketones, DKA, feeding tubes, thousands of $$ in treatment and even death. Yes, acro's and IAA kitties can both throw ketones and can both get DKA (Jennifer and Spunky is a classic case)

As far as your comment about the sooner the better.. Gayle lives in Canada which means her blood work costs 4-5 times the cost it does in the US, how about we give her some time to finance this instead of ramrodding her into doing something that makes YOU feel better. It's unfortunate that I have had to put this post up, but I feel that enough is enough -- there is not a single cat who has ever been hurt on Lantus Land as long as I have been on this board. I am certain we are not about to start now.
 
my dearest venita...
gayle sought me out for help which i kindly provided from where i find it easiest to help her, on FB. with my illness i cannot spend umpteen hours a day in LL typing and i certainly cannot come to LL and only post to one person and leave, i am not capable of ignoring the many other cats i have grown to know and love here and that would not be fair to them nor myself or good for my health. i attempt to come help out one day a week in LL, i was here for 8 hours straight last night and paying dearly for it today. neither myself nor gayle need your accusations causing us stress. what, you do not feel i'm qualified to give guidance and support wherever it is asked of me? (think about the meaning of word "peer" carefully before replying). should i take the phone off the hook? not answer PM's or e-mails?

this cat was adopted to gayle - she is the owner. is it not her right to seek help where she sees fit? unfortunately no matter how hard we try there is still a prejudice on FDMB towards high dose cats. usually they are safe in LL, i've worked damn hard to make sure they had an open friendly environment here, but gayle felt persecuted by people such as yourself visiting her condo and the PM's ~ causing her more and more stress, making her feel like she was doing wrong by giving this cat the insulin he needs. you are driving her off the board altogether. she is still a newbie, one in very tough situation with shadoe being a newly dx'ed acrocat and now oliver turning out to also be a high dose cat. really how dare you?

"Oliver was never appropriately started on the Lantus protocol"
huh? wait, have you really looked at the SS? we DID start cat over at 1 unit for 2 whole days and his numbers went dangerously high. quote: "Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours). " it took 14 units of insulin to get a yellow PMPS from him yesterday. you're kidding me right that you think this is a low dose cat? gayle is incredibly consciousness, she tests him practically around the clock, there is nothing being missed. she is just starting to get somewhere sorta in the neighborhood of the insulin this cat currently needs to be safe. he has testing for the insulin resistant conditions, acro and IAA lined up. (testing is not easy there like it is here, talking about a 600-700 dollar vet visit).

i have adopted out hundreds of rescues in my life, once the kitten or cat passed to new owner, i no longer had rights to it, that is what adoption entails. letting go.
"the private advising of a public adoption will factor into DCIN's future adoption evaluations."
what is with the threats? so a diabetic cat that is offered a home in future will come with stipulations that the owner can only follow what dosing protocol you approve of? wow. gee i adopted my cat off this board, should i send you copies of his SS? do you want a list of the meds he gets and doses for his CP flares?
and will anyone want to adopt a cat you've been involved with if they know how gayle has been tortured by you?

this is so sad. gayle needs all the SUPPORT she can get, anywhere she can get it, not this horrid petty BS. for shame venita for shame. she is too new and polite to say it here so i'll say it for her, leave her alone please, she is doing her very best for this cat.
 
Dear Gayle, I don't read everyone's condo every day, so I was just barely aware of the issues being debated here, but I think I speak for everyone in LL when I beseech you to keep posting in this forum. Oliver is special and we would really like to continue to follow his progress and to learn from your experience. You are doing a wonderful job with him. Please don't leave us!

Ella & Stu
 
if i had a gotten a fraction...a fraction of the negativity that this girl has gotten(and still seems to be) Id of gone into incognito mode and asked to be advised off board. this is too much. this is absurd.if not for the same people advising me,i would not be able to say that i (WE) have kept my acro girl going FOR TWO YEARS NOW.thank god for those who were there for me and still are.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
The insinuations are too hurtful.
When you do your best, yet are still insulted, there's really not much point in offering more updates is there?

(((Gayle))) I understand why you want to pack up your stuff and leave. I was very hurt in a big shakeup that occurred on this board early this year. While the offensive comments felt like they were directed at a few people like me (Old Timers), they were not as personally targeted as the attacks you are receiving. I know that I have never been able to regain my positive feelings about the Board. If it had not been for Jojo's suggestion creating a new structured format in which Old Timers could participate, I would have been long gone. People wonder why others disappear from the Board ... take a look around this condo. I'm not getting in the middle of your high dose/acro discussion, as I am not qualified, but I just wanted to say that I know how hurt you must feel at being singled out for such criticism when all you are doing is loving and caring for your boy. Yes, YOUR boy. Advisors can post advice, but the pet owner holds the needle and is ultimately responsible for the well-being of the cat. There is, again, much negativity on the Board these days. It brings tears to my eyes, just as it did last winter. We have a supportive, knowledgable, and functional group here. Please consider the good that happens here most of the time, and, as someone once posted to me, consider the credibility of your attackers. Finally, I think this is a public relations disaster for the charity in question, which relies on the good will, donations, and volunteer efforts of people like you, me, and other readers of this thread.
 
My apologies for upsetting so many; that was not my intent.

Could someone please address how the following fact fits into Oliver's treatment--without seeing my raising it as an insult to the many here, most notably Gayle who has her finger on the plunger, who care so much for Oliver?

Oliver was never appropriately started on the Lantus protocol. He was treated for almost a full month at the vet's office on 3-4u without consistent testing. Gayle's short 1U start-over did not give his system time to clear.
 
Venita and The Boyz said:
My apologies for upsetting so many; that was not my intent.

Could someone please address how the following fact fits into Oliver's treatment--without seeing my raising it as an insult to the many here, most notably Gayle who has her finger on the plunger, who care so much for Oliver?

Oliver was never appropriately started on the Lantus protocol. He was treated for almost a full month at the vet's office on 3-4u without consistent testing. Gayle's short 1U start-over did not give his system time to clear.

I am sure it was not your intent to upset people, so my question is, now that you have learned you have upset a great many of us, why are you still asking these questions which have been asked and answered time and time again? I think Gayle has probably had quite enough of defending herself, so I will explain it to you as I explained it to her.

There is no need to hold the dose when the cat goes black upon dose decrease. There was absolutely no positive response to his dose decrease. That is not a case of new dose wonkiness or rebound or shed restructuring. That is a case of insufficient insulin alone, and suddenly it became clear the cat was in danger. That is backed up by the fact that 3-4u without inconsistent testing did not harm the cat, dry food or otherwise. Finally, *if* this were a case of overdose while he was at the vet and prior to Gayle adopting him, then we were dealing with glucose toxicity. So. We have the following potential causes of this cat failing to positively respond to either decrease or increase:
1. Glucose toxicity
2. IAA
3. Cushings
4. Acromegaly
5. Some other hormonal or pancreatic issue undiagnosed.

How to handle ANY of these problems: Increase. Often and aggressively. Shoot your way through it. When you have ANY of the above scenarios, and we knew we had at least one of them, there is no need to hold doses low, and there is in fact detriment to holding the dose low, not including DKA or organ damage. When hormonal interference is present (Acro/IAA/Cushings/Pancreatic) you must, absolutely MUST, get ahead of it or you will spend too much time playing catch-up. The more you shoot, the more resistant they get. It's how it works. That's why Leo, a diagnosed acrocat, did better on 3u of insulin than he did on 33u units of insulin. Most of the acrocats and IAA cats did better on 1u than they did on 5u, or 10u, or 20u and in a couple of our cases, over 30u. It is the nature of the resistance. You must shoot more, and more aggressively, more quickly, with a hormonal disturbance. Glucose toxicity is exactly the same way. Remember Jenn and Sabrina? Glucose toxicity caused by 2 years of overdosing and shooting blind. More and more and more insulin until finally that cat broke on PZI somewhere in the vicinity of 4u PZI TID. Now 3 years later she's a happily controlled, very low dose Levemir kitty. It's what we know, it's what we recognize, and it's what we struggle to explain to people who do not experience it. You can not idle on these doses or you will have a very sick kitty, very quickly.

Because someone is shooting a dose higher than you personally have ever shot does not mean they are doing the wrong thing. It is endangering to the cat to recommend a lower dose continuously when it is clear in her SS that she did as protocol advised and she did as multiple experienced people on this board advised. Suddenly we see an influx of people we have never seen on any ISG in the entire time I have been on this board and I'm left wondering why.

Whatever it is, this cat's life and health hang in the balance and it needs to stop before a cat pays the ultimate price. Is it really worth your pride to lose a cat?
 
If i thought for one moment that gayle was not doing whats best for ollie by increasing him up to dose.id of said something long ago. a HD cat is unlike anything one has ever experienced.after a time yu do get a feel for it in a way that is hard to put into words.but those of us who go thru it know it.

please stop with the upsetting advice of oliver being overdosed.he is not.he is in very good hands of gayle. she should be getting support for the fantastic work she has done and continues to do with him.

yu can think all yu want about his being overdosed but the facts remain that there are enough of us here who live this everyday and know to the contrary that Oliver is not in a state of rebound due to this overdosing

and if this is so....why is it that in all my days here..all my days here.....no one..no one...NO ONE..told me ever that i was overdosing my cat.? why is that i wonder? or was it that the circumstances were different?
 
Gayle,

I think it's wonderful that Oliver is finally hitting some yellows. I think you need to continue to be aggressive on the dosing and I think you are doing a great job. I pray Oliver is just a crazy, high-dose cat, but we'll see after the acro test.

I hope that you will continue to post here, although I can certainly understand if you don't. It's very sad to me that all the acro/high dose people are driven away or chose to leave, for one reason or another (The only acros that post regularly is Nina and you; Where did Bonnie go?; How about all of our other high-dosers?; A couple of people make it very clear that I'm not wanted by simply pretending I don't exist). While FB is a useful place, I really wish the high-dose advice would be given here so that everybody can learn that it's not so uncommon and so high-dose people can actually feel the support that the "normal" people feel. However, w/o an experienced, strong personality watching over the group, maybe that's impossible.

Even if you stop posting here, I'll watch you on FB and try to offer support.
 
Venita and The Boyz said:
I believe that because Oliver is a DCIN placement, his treatment should be advised in an open, public forum. The private advising of a public adoption will factor into DCIN's future adoption evaluations.


I can't get this out of my head...
And I'm really sorry Gayle, to bump this hurtful thread back up to the top, but I really just needed to have my say.

I don't post much anymore, because I, like Linda, have never quite been able to regain my positive feelings toward the board after the shakeup earlier this year. And I too have a cat with unusual dosing requirements that has left me feeling that I needed to either defend or explain myself far too many times.

I have no personal problem with you Venita, and I while I admire the heart you put into the work you do - and obviously the work itself... I absolutely cringe at the words you just posted here. A "public relations disaster" is a spot on description!
Why would anyone want to adopt a cat from DCIN if they were going to be hounded and harrassed and have requirements such as this following that adoption?
You MUST learn to let go...
Oliver is Gayles family now - she loves him and she is caring for him properly - seeking and receiving very experienced guidance - she is helping him... What more can you really want for him?
There is a special place in our hearts for every cat we've ever fostered or helped - I understand that... But there is not a special place for our advice in their lives once they have their own families. That's just not how it works.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top