4/29 Meadow AMPS 474, +4 433

Status
Not open for further replies.
Meadow only ate 1/2 a can this morning. Has anyone else had a problem with their cat who has never went outside the box before, start peeing everywhere? She pees on the carpet, on boxes, right beside the litter box, on the bathroom rug, etc. At this rate, I'll have to redo all the floors! I know when cats are sick, they go outside the litterbox, but this is ridiculous. It is everyday, and sometimes 2-3 times a day.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13205
 
Hi Amber,

I'm sorry about the pee issue. Looks to be like Meadow is not well and/or not happy.

Tonight will be your 6th cycle at this dose and per the protocol, if nadir is >200, you can increase on the 7th cycle. Try to get a couple more spot checks tonight if you can and tomorrow morning or tonight even before bed, write the word dose to your subject line - or write it now to have input for tomorrow.... how is that?

Hang in there.
 
Have you had Meadow checked for a urinary track infection (UTI)? Cat's with UTIs will often have this kind of behavior. If you haven't, please get a cytocentesis -- the vet gets a sterile sample by using a needle into the bladder to get the urine. You then need a culture and sensitivity (C & S) so they can grow the bacteria and then determine what the appropriate antibiotic is to treat the infection. Crystals are also a possibility that you would want to have the vet rule out.
 
From condo #2 today:

Amber & Meadow said:
Meadow ate almost 2 cans of food tonight. She didn't pee anywhere. As per her spreadsheet, she was at 405 PMPS and then >500 at 3+. Is she getting too much insulin again?

Amber -

I don't think she is getting too much insulin but let me see about getting some other folks to take a look at Meadow's SS.
 
it doesn't look like she's getting too much insulin to me either. however, more data would help get a better picture of what's going on. working outside the home makes it difficult to get spot checks during the day, but out-the-door, in-the-door, and before bed spot checks done every day will arm you with a whole lot more information. from the data you have collected, an increase tomorrow morning sounds about right.

Have you had Meadow checked for a urinary track infection (UTI)? Cat's with UTIs will often have this kind of behavior. If you haven't, please get a cytocentesis -- the vet gets a sterile sample by using a needle into the bladder to get the urine. You then need a culture and sensitivity (C & S) so they can grow the bacteria and then determine what the appropriate antibiotic is to treat the infection. Crystals are also a possibility that you would want to have the vet rule out.
excellent advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top