04/27 Jasper ambg 273 , pmps 423, 0.5u update #2 added

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heather and Jasper

Member Since 2009
Jasper has been vomiting since Sunday, starting with food then vile, and this morning there was a puddle of bloody vomit.

He had a trip to the vet yesterday. (had dental scheduled for prevention, i canceled that due to vomiting and just wanted him checked out.) the vet took his temperature (38C, 100.4F) and said he was 1/2 of a degree (C)too low and gave him a shot to raise his temperature and two other shots to make him feel better (not sure what they were, German Vets aren't really great with sharing names of meds, as much as I love Herr Dr, really frustrating)
On Sunday his BG jumped from an ambg of 108 to 245 after a day of a day of vomiting.
Jasper has been turning his nose up at all of his favorite foods, (yogurt, milk, FF, roasted chicken)
I haven't gotten a ketone check in yet (never been positive, need to buy more strips, all I have are 2 years old and I haven't caught him in the litter box yet today)

I asked for a X-ray yesterday but didn't get one, I'm going to ask for another one today.
He's never had a history of CP before, I"m going to see if we can get a test for it done today.
I'm taking him back to the vet when they open in 40 minutes


***Update, back from vet***


X-Rays show the lining of the stomach are inflamed, the vet I saw today feels thats the cause for the bloody vomit today.
She thinks he might be having problems with his kidneys, took blood for BW, we'll get the results back from that on Thursday.
He got another shot for pain today. If he doesn't start eating on his own by this evening, then I'm going to start with syringe feeding :(


poor guy is now meatloafing on my lap purring
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed

(((Heather)))) Poor Jasper! I am sending vines and snowflakes to him. Feel better, Per.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((Jasper & Heather)))
I'm sending major snowflakes and get-all-better-soon vines to Jasper.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Hello,Heather!
Poor sweet Jasper!
Send all the snowflakes and feel better vines! Hope he feels better soon!
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((((Heather and Jasper)))))

Sending healing vines and a bilzzard of snowflakes!!!!!!
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

((((((((((((((((((((((Heather and Jasper)))))))))))))))))))))))))))
Sending oceans of snowflakes to you.

P.S. PM JoJo maybe she can help.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((Heather and Jasper)))

I am sorry to hear about Jasper not feeling very well.
Sending positive healing thoughts to Jasper.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Hoping Jasper will start feeling better soon.... (((Heather)))Hope they will find the source of his problem and the cause of all his vomiting.....blizzards of snowflakes for dear Jasper...
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Lots of vines and snowflakes coming your way.
Feel better soon Jasper.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Hello Heather and Jasper sending support and healing vines your way hope things improve really soon for you two :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Do Lou sent a Blizzard your way to help as well :-D
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((((((Heather & Jasper))))))) Sending truckloads of snowflakes & Healing vines to our sweet Jasper!! Hope he gets well real real soon!
Luv you both! Please update!
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Sending healing vibes for ((Jasper))...I hope he starts feeling better soon.

Take Care,

Sandy Dottie & Skippy
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Heather, I hope lil Jasper starts to feel better soon. I know you feel so helpless. Sending a blanket of snowflakes and a ton healing vines across the ocean to Jasper.....Feel better Buddy!!
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Get well Jasper. I hope it is just a "bug" or something and it passes soon.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Sending a mound of snowflakes and healing vines for Jasper. I hope it gets over this soon and it is nothing serious. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((Heather)))
Mountains of snowflakes and a forest of vines for your Jasper...
3173697236_885062c9ab.jpg
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

I'm sorry Heather! I hope Jasper starts feeling better very, very quickly! It's so awful seeing them sick.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Heather,

I'm sending snowflakes and vines, too. I hope that Jasper is feeling MUCH better VERY soon, and that the explanation is something simple to treat.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

((Heather & Jasper))

Heather, sending los of healing and feel better vines for Jasper
and that you know soon enough what is bothering him.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((Heather))) (((Jasper))) Healing vines and lots of snowflakes are heading your way (it is actually snowing here as I write, so I'm sending all those lovely snowflakes your way). We hope that Jasper will be all better very soon.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

I am so sorry to read this. Sending healing vines and soothing snowflakes and hope he feels better soon.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Vines and snowflakes coming to you.....please keep us updated!

Sherry & Zoe
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

I'm so sorry Jasper is sick. We'll keep you both in our thoughts and prayers today. ((((Heather and Jasper))))
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

((((Heather))) (((Jasper))))

Oh poor Jasper!

Sending tons snowflakes and healing vines Jasper's way!

Hang in there, Heather ♥

Love, Caryl, Alex & Jackson
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((Jasper)))

Heather and Jasper said:
He got another shot for pain today.

That wasn't metacam, was it? I'd be wary about metacam if they're suspecting kidney issues.

How's Azy doing? Been thinking of him lately.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

((((Heather)))) so sorry to hear about Jasper!!! Sending healing vines and snowflakes to the two of you!!!! Hugs!!!!
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Oh, no, poor baby Per. Sounds like he needs something bland for his tummy. I sure hope he feels better soon.

(P.S. If Jojo doesn't see a PM, try FB.)
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

snowflakes and healing vines on there way from Michelle and Mannie! I hope Jasper is better soon!
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

awww poor jasper!! I hope the lil guy starts feeling better soon. We are all sending lots of snowflakes and healing vines for jasper in this house.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

((((Heather)))) sending loads of vines and snowflakes to jasper. I hope he is feeling better soon.
âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§
âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť… cat_pet_icon âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…âť…
âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Oh poor guy. I hope ist something fixable with abs and hes feeling better quickly.
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

(((heather, eric, and jasper)))
hope whatever is wrong is an easy fix.
in addition to freeze dried chicken or kibble dust sprinkled on food, try dipping your finger in his food and wiping it on his lips. *sometimes* it's just enough to get alex to start eating.

sending snowflakes, positive thoughts, and "eating" vines...
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

update #2

pmps was 432, +2.5 303. I ended up shooting 0.5u because I can't let him get any higher. I've managed to syringe feed him around 80 ml of FF, baby food and water soup and he's only puked once more today. Thank you for the snow flakes and well wishes, it means everything to me :YMHUG:

our usual vet, (Herr Dr) wasn't in this morning when I took Per in, it was another vet who's English is worse than my German, so it wasn't the most clear conversation. She said (with translation help from a tech) that it looks like Per has some air in his stomach and the stomach inflation. When I took Azy in for his weekly visit, Herr Dr (who has been taking care of Azrael's cancer for the past year and a half) took a look at Per's X-ray's from earlier in the day, and he thinks that there is fluid in chest cavity and that it doesn't look good.

I'm supposed to call on Thursday morning to see if they've gotten the test results in and make an appt for that afternoon if they have. I think I'm going to ask my friend (who speaks both English and German perfectly, and was a vet in east Texas and in Ireland before moving back to Germany last year, but is not practicing now) to see if she can come with me, to make sure I understand the results.

Per's been a bit more mobile today, jumping on the couch and on Eric's computer chair, and, besides from the bloody vomit this morning he's only puked once more. He's purring for me and seems to like knowing that I'm here with him. He's not happy about the syringe feedings, even if it is his beloved FF. He's even been turning his nose up at crunchy treats.

I'm scared

Edit- WCF- Azy is doing great :) on a scale of 1 to 10 he's at about a 13, he's a hungry little, milk loving, head butting, purr machine

edit2, to fix dose (thanks WCF)
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Heather and Jasper said:
update #2

pmps was 432, +2.5 303. I ended up shooting 0.5ml because I can't let him get any higher.
*gulp* you mean 0.5 unit right? 0.5 ml is 50 units.

Glad you got him to eat some. Is he drinking by himself?

When I took Azy in for his weekly visit, Herr Dr (who has been taking care of Azrael's cancer for the past year and a half) took a look at the X-ray's from earlier in the day, and he thinks that there is fluid in chest cavity and that it doesn't look good.
:cry: (((Azy)))
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

WCF and Meowzi said:
Heather and Jasper said:
update #2

pmps was 432, +2.5 303. I ended up shooting 0.5ml because I can't let him get any higher.
*gulp* you mean 0.5 unit right? 0.5 ml is 50 units.
Glad you got him to eat some. Is he drinking by himself?

fixed, thank you. He's been sitting by his water bowl and i think he's been drinking (kind of acting like when he was first DX'd with DM)


WCF and Meowzi said:
When I took Azy in for his weekly visit, Herr Dr (who has been taking care of Azrael's cancer for the past year and a half) took a look at the X-ray's from earlier in the day, and he thinks that there is fluid in chest cavity and that it doesn't look good.
:cry: (((Azy)))

no, Azy is okay, it was Per's x-rays he was looking at....
 
Gosh, Heather. This is all stressful enough without having to deal with the language barrier on top of it. I hope all goes well. You certainly have all hands and paws full!
 
(((heather)))
i have no idea what all this could mean. try to get in touch with jojo and jess. they might be able to shed some light...
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Heather and Jasper said:
WCF and Meowzi said:
When I took Azy in for his weekly visit, Herr Dr (who has been taking care of Azrael's cancer for the past year and a half) took a look at the X-ray's from earlier in the day, and he thinks that there is fluid in chest cavity and that it doesn't look good.
:cry: (((Azy)))

no, Azy is okay, it was Per's x-rays he was looking at....

oh gosh. glad Azy is ok, but Per?? fluid in chest cavity?? how's his breathing?
 
Re: 04/27 Jasper ambg 273 vines and snowflakes needed *update*

Heather and Jasper said:
Herr Dr (who has been taking care of Azrael's cancer for the past year and a half) took a look at Per's X-ray's from earlier in the day, and he thinks that there is fluid in chest cavity and that it doesn't look good.

I'm scared

Oh (((Heather))) I am so sorry to hear this.I hope Herr Dr is wrong. I'm sending another blizzard of snowflakes to Jasper.
 
oh no, I'm just reading this (((((((((((Heather and Per)))))))))))))

it sounds like a good idea to take your friend to the appointment. You don't want something to get by you just because you don't understand. Sending snowflakes and vines and hugs your way....
 
I agree with Libby. Definitely take your friend with you, and also ask the vet to write it down. Then you will have the German in writing and can figure it out later with the help of your friend. I hope that all will be well and that Jasper will get better very soon.
More snowflakes and vines are coming your way.
Ella
 
We'd need the Queen Mary to carry all the snowflakes and vines coming your way -- but that's too slow. Will have to transport them by moonbeam. ((((Heather & Jasper)))) We are all thinking of you and sending healing thoughts.
 
Oh Heather man I can feel what you are feeling now,
Just because it sounds bad doesn't mean that it is, or that there is no help for Jasper.. I know what scared is. I've been pretty scared too lately, but you know our babies can get sick and get the right medical help and medications and get back on those little paws in no time. Just think positively Heather. We all are for you and Jasper.

And take that friend with you.

((((Heather&Jasper))))
 
(((((((((Heather)))))))))) I reeeeeeeeally hope your friend can go with you and 'Per's update is better. ((((((((((Jasper)))))))))
I know how worried you must be, but you know he's a tough one!

Many snowflake vines!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top