4/22 Lanky AMPS 462;+6 352; PMPS 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Very Active Member
Gulp - this is not what I went to bed hoping for. If Lanky's #'s stay hi today with this 5th dose increase, I'm thinking of taking in to see the Vet on Friday. I'll have everything checked out to make sure there is not some other health issue going on. Lanky seems to be in good spirits, ate well (could eat more but I am trying smaller meals more often), talking up a storm. So, I just don't know. The roller-coaster is really getting to me today. Bummer.

Hope this day is bright & blessed for all.

Yesterday's Conco
 
Re: 4/22 Lanky AMPS 462

I'm sorry Susan you are feeling down with Lanky's nummers. :YMHUG: It is hard and I know alot of our moods are directly related to their BG's. I know mine was...

Good luck with the dosecrease!!!
 
Re: 4/22 Lanky AMPS 462

Morning Susan and Lanky! I am wondering if you have had a dental for Lanky...sorry if this has been asked and answered earlier. Infection can cause the higher BGs. Perhaps blood work might show if there is any infection and it is always a good baseline for you.
Have you been testing for ketones?
If there is no infection and ketones are negative, then it is a matter of upping the dose until the right dose has been reached. I would check that there isn't something else going on ...that will give you a better picture, right?
 
Re: 4/22 Lanky AMPS 462

Lanky had his full Wellness Physical last Aug 09 with all systems go, it is a thorough exam. Then in Mar 2010 he had the "attack" that caused me to take him to the Vet where a full blood panel was done identifying diabetes as the culprit. Subsequently, we did a full urine-analysis & culture. He did not need a dental back then but maybe now. Also, Lanky's history includes asthma, chronic eye herpes, chin acne, and ear problems. I have been checking for ketones and so far they've tested negative.

So get this, I called my Vet and he is stuck in Germany. He can't get a flight home because of the volcanic ash! He is such a great guy and so supportive. Anyway, I made an appointment with another doc at the clinic. Interestingly, the substitute doc usually prescribes Lantus from the beginning where my regular doc started me with Humulin N. We have all chatted before and he too is very interested in my case. So when I show up with all my data & other information, it will be good to get his current perspective. My regular vet does all the dental work & hopefully he will be back next week if we need to do that...

Stay tuned.
 
Went to see Vet this PM - all OK, may do an ultra sound next week to check pancreas & rest of insides for good measure. Lanky was a very good boy traveling well and behaving as a perfect gentleman. I was so proud of him. His behavior makes me believe my husband & I could take him fishing with us this summer & he would do just fine.

Then Lanky game me a BIG PMPS surprise -- go figure. And, I'll take it!
 
So did you bowl the vet over with your SS?

If you can catch a post by Randi/Max, take a look at Max's SS. He was up to over 6.0u of insulin before he was able to get some action. Max is now OTJ. I don't know if this will be the case for Lanky but just because your dose is creeping up, don't lose heart.
 
Hi Susan
Thought I would make Max's ss easy for you to get to so you can have a look again, as Sienne
suggested.
I know how hard this is for you, as you can see.
I cried many nights that nothing I did was doing any good and that I was a total failure.
We followed protocol did everything possible and had absolutely no vet support.
Everything I did for Max was through the board.

We still do not know why Max was the way he was and how he cracked. Many theories but nothing official. Hang in there.
I am glad that Lanky had a good vet visit. He is being watched.
 
((((Susan)))) don't worry too much about the dose yet. I know it's tough sometimes to see a lot of other cats on little bitty doses, but there are plenty on 3 or 4 units or more too. My cat's magic dose was 4.25. It doesn't really matter how much juice they need, we just give it to them. I'm glad you got Lanky into the vet, though, so you could be sure that everything else is ok.
 
Randi & Max - Wow! Looking at your SS makes me apprehensive about what may come. I guess you just take it a day at a time & be prepared, eh? While I don't understand yet why you did some of the things you did or did not do, guess I don't need to worry about it now. Knowing that the Board will be there to hold my hand and Lanky's paw gives me comfort. So I am not going to worry about the what if's, just concentrate on the now or at least I am going to try. I am truly impressed with the job you guys did.

PS You'll love this, the Vet suggested I consider testing less, LOL!!! He was very tactful about it too.
 
Susan
Yes sometimes you just need to take one day at a time. It is Lanky's sugar dance for you to follow. He is a cat and he will do as he pleases.
I realized many times when I wanted to plan strategy for a few days ahead and Max had his own Agenda.
Yes the board will be here for you but I remeber my first time shooting a blue number.\I sent out a 911 Panick attack. You see I never paid too much attention to the sticky, shoot low to stay low.
If you would like, I can post my last official condo in a pm to you and you can keeo scroling back an back to the end of December when the new board started. Let me know, k?
You can read what I was going through with Max's increase dosing and then when he started to come down.
Good to be prepared.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top