4/13 Latte AMPS~278, PMPS-278

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Good morning LL.

Last night:
PMPS~216 (pred cycle)
+3~ 256
+6~ 314

yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11762

Latte ate REALLY well last night. Both wet and kibble. So much I was certain she was dropping. Instead, she was just feeling well I guess. She is getting a good start this a.m. so far.

Her numbers are reflective of a bounce, since she was still going UP at +6 last night. So she either did go lower than her liver prefered, or is having a delayed bounce from greens the other day.

Her vet sent an email last night suggesting I increase her steroid. My heart sank. After some thinking I realized her vomiting has increased, eating decreased, along with overall demeanor since I started pilling the pred rather than give it in compound form. Also her BG's @ night have generally not been having as great of spikes unless she is bouncing. So I'm beginning to wonder....are the pills expired despite the exp date being next year? Does she absorb the pills differently making the drug less effective? Had the compounded treats actually have MORE of the drug in it than they say? It's just very suspect after going through many things in my mind and looking over her ss .

So, I think the first thing would be to get a new batch of pills. I will do that today. Also, call the compounding pharmacy and talk to them a bit.

I am not thrilled with giving her more pred when in fact her kidneys or the metabolic acidosis could be getting worse (she was showing a worsening trend over last 6+ months). So I think it would be worth getting some labs to be sure. It,s the type of vomit she had yesterday, the reflux, and a few other things that make me wonder.

If new pills dont help, if blood work does not come back with significant changes, and she is still vomiting/ not eating well after all that, Then I will consider an increase.

Anyone with thoughts on my thoughts?

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Re: 4/13 Latte AMPS~278

I think you are going through the process of sorting out all of the variables. I'd also point out that the binders that are in meds can effect the way something is absorbed. It's on of the issues with generics. It's good to hear you are both feeling better.
 
Re: 4/13 Latte AMPS~278

Carolyn - glad to her that Latte had a good eat - especially with all the worries of late. I would have a hard time thinking that the pred pills - with a year left on them before expiring - were bad. Issue with absorption I could buy but not being bad. If you do end up getting more pills - you could consider just getting a few to see if there is a difference rather than a whole script.
 
Re: 4/13 Latte AMPS~278

Joyce's post is very logical....I agree with her about the pills.
You certainly have a way of sorting out your thoughts Carolyn...you are doing a great job! All I have to offer once again is lots of hugs for you both ((((((Carolyn & Latte))))))) Good report as always :razz:
 
Re: 4/13 Latte AMPS~278

Hi Carolyn, We're so glad that you had a good night and that Latte is feeling better. Your "thinking" sounds sound to me, although I don't know anything about meds. Certainly the pharmacist will be able to help you there. Hope Latte continues to feel good and to eat her food. You have a good day, too!

Ella & Stu (who sends love to his favorite old lady [i.e., Latte!!!!!])
 
Re: 4/13 Latte AMPS~278

Hi Carolyn
So happy to hear that Latte was eating very well.
I can't give any opininions on the meds, just lots and lots
of hugs and support.

(check your pm k?)
 
I'm assuming she had a flat yellow cycle with those amps and pmps :lol:

AMPS-278
+1-268
+2-230
+10-249
PMPS-278

Too bad she does not seem to be feeling well. She greeted me when I got home, but pretty quickly let out a burp (this is becoming more common lately), and boy did it stink. :? I know, I know, you guys really needed to know that! ;-) She didnt finish up much of her bfast after what I thought was good start, ate a little kibble when I was gone, and licked her lips when I offered something after her shot (licking lips = nausea). She has also been drinking a lot of water, which is likely due to nausea.

The Pharmacy doing the compounding said there was nothing sugar related in pred treat, and no new 'recipe'. They said its possible she could be metabolizing the pills differently. They insisted the amount of pred is the compound was correct.

I picked up a new bottle of pred tonight and gave that. She has an appt with her regular vet on Saturday for a renal panel and possibly blood gas to see if the metabolic acidosis is progressing. From there we will decide about increasing her pred or not. Only problem is I can not give it twice/daily next week with my wacked up schedule.

I think she spent most of the day under the piano. She was out a bit after I got home, but is back under now. Its really hard to see her go from feeling so good last night (like...REALLY good) to so blah today. :YMSIGH:
 
Hi Carolyn,
Have you considered injecting her steroids subQ?
Maybe you could increase her steroid dose for a brief period and then plan to taper it right back down? Maybe a higher loading dose would break the cycle of inflammation?
 
I will be bringing Latte in tomorrow a.m. rather than Saturday, as I found her meatloafing for quite a while after her shot this evening. I have not seen her do that since the first year of the kidney failure and it really scared me. I think her ondansetron and cerenia kicked in. She is (still under the piano) laying more comfortably and sleeping. She took about 2tsp of babyfood a short while ago. Im not expecting any food intake on this cycle, which may pose a problem if her bounce breaks tonight or in the a.m.

Linda,
When I first read your response I thought you meant dex shot...thus the pm I sent. Which I still think *may* be an option to explore. I could never find information on injectible prednisolone. But a friend of mine last night sent me a link showing it exists. I will ask the vet about both tomorrow.

again, I want to check the kidneys first and make sure that is not the culprit before increasing or adding more steroids.

Thanks!

And sorry for being so absent in posting...I feel like every moment Im home (which is not much during the week), Im just sitting with her if not trying to get food or medicines in. I am reading up on folks from my phone as I lay next to her. Big day for Shadow. Gabby knocking those numbers down. OTJ party. More OTJ's coming up (should we make it a festival?). Logan eating...out of the closet! Folks waiting for their timed feeders. Stu cookin' up a storm. A sad loss. Many new people finding there way....and the list goes on. :YMHUG:
 
((((((Carolyn))))) My heart goes out to you and Latte. You just do what you can and love on that sweetheart of yours. As always you and Latte are in my thoughts and prayers. :YMHUG:
 
Dear Carolyn & Latte, We'll be thinking good thoughts and sending healing vines tomorrow, when you head to the vet. Get a good night's rest. Feel better, dear Latte!

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top