4/8 Lanky AMPS 511; PMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/8 Lanky AMPS 511

Just wanted to say welcome to Lantus Land! What a cute name - Lanky! I've never heard that one before!
 
Re: 4/8 Lanky AMPS 511

Welcome to LL :YMHUG:

Lanky looks sooo cute ;-)

So you switched from Humulin N eh? You will be happy with Lantus :mrgreen: Poor Lanky - with all those blacks and reds. Lantus will take some time but he will get there!!!
Do you mind telling me what these acronyms stand for? AMF-Fbc/FFac

:thumbup
 
Re: 4/8 Lanky AMPS 511

My shorthand:

AMF & PMF = AMFood & PMFood

W = Wellness
Wbc = Wellness beef & chicken
Wp = Wellness pouch healthy indulgence
Wptd = Wellness pouch turkey & duck

FF = Fancy Feast
F = Friskies Special Diet

etc, etc.

So, today Lanky shows AMF-Fbc/FFac which means Breakfast At 6 AM Friskies Special Diet beef & chicken entree with a little enhancer of Fancy Feast Appetizer white meat chicken. I am putting together a list of all the food I can use including the "code" and the % kCal # etc. I'll post it when I get it done so if someone finds it useful they can use it or modify it as they wish. I have 2 other kitties with Renal issues so I am looking for combo food: lo carb & lo phosphorous.

Thank you too for the words of encouragement - I am stressing a bit with all the high BG numbers. Lanky is a little down today but he is such a trooper. He just tested 397 at +4, yippee - out of the red!
 
Re: 4/8 Lanky AMPS 511

hi I saw your post on health and see you here now - welcome to LL.

And thanks for starting another new language for all of us! :smile:

I have similar issues - 3 cats, 1 diabetic (remission), 1 early kidney failure - and have gone through the food charts to find the low carb, phos combo too.

Something else you may want to consider which will help is raw food. You can purchase it or even make your own. I do both and have found that 2 out of 3 enjoy eating it without having to disguise it.

Also, whatever foods you're using - add lots of water (or tuna water or chicken broth) to the foods - by lots, I mean take a 5 ounce can, fill it and mix 1/2 or more into one serving. sometimes I use the whole can, sometimes half.

The more water the kidney kitty gets, the better to keep everything flowing and working.
 
Wow you are a testing fiend! Usually when people end up here we hound and hound them to test more.. for you.. I'll say.. you could probably test him a little bit less if you wanted to haha.. he's going to be wonky for a few days while lantus builds up its oomph.. more testing is always good and there's nothing wrong with it if you both tolerate it well (and have a money tree in your back yard ;) ).. I just don't want you to feel you "have" to test every single hour! Get some sleep tonight for petes sake!
 
Dawn's probably right you could test every 2 or 3 hours and still have plenty of data. You're still filling Lanky's shed so you're not going to be getting a clear snapshot of how Lantus is working yet.
 
Thanks for letting me know it is OK to test less. I am so fixated on the change to Lantus I guess I am worrying too much about what is going on especially for these first 5-7 days. I am usually fried by 11PM which is +5 after the PMPS. A few times I managed some later tests while on Humulin but not too often. Fortunately, Lanky is the best patient imaginable - he adopted us in 2005 & after much protesting from Dad, he has become the #1 Daddy's boy following him around just like a dog. He is quite the guy (both of them, Dad & Lanky!)
 
Oh I just want to kiss his face! (Lanky's not your hubby's :lol: ) He's adorable!

I did the testing crazies too when I first came to LL. I kept seeing the phrase "not enough data" and "get more spot checks" all over the place, so I just started testing lots and lots. I still do it, sometimes they (the forum folks) come in and steal my meter away and ground me from testing :lol: Tugger tolerates it well though (he's in it for the freeze dried chicken crack or FDCC) and I figure the way he's going, the more numbers we get, the better. But really, unless he's throwing you wonky numbers, every 2 hours is still more than enough.

AM cycle:
I generally skip +1 but I try to always get +2 because he likes to go for a wee slide around then sometimes.
I try to get +4 and 6 because he's often still sliding around till then.
I usually skip +7,8,9 unless the number from 6 was weird or if I was gone for +4 and 6, I'll get whatever it is when I return.
I try to always get a +10 because that's when I take away the food if there's any out.

Our PM cycle starts late so I usually get a +2 and sometimes a +3 before bed, which will let me know if I need to set the alarm for sleep checks. Then I get whatever it is when I wake up, usually +10 or 11, to see what he's been up to while I slept.

I am very glad I bought the Walmart Relion meter because the strips are cheap and I go through a lot of them, but it's worth every penny when I've seen him go from the 4.5u BID he was on just a few weeks ago, to the .5BID he's on today. :mrgreen: I'm also glad we got our tax refund just in time for me to spend it all on Tugger supplies and food :roll: The credit cards didn't really need to be paid off did they?
 
Marive & Tugger,
Thanks for the tips & the word of encouragement. Did you see where Jill & Alex are recommending we up the dose in the AM? I'll test tonight @ +2 & +4 per your advice & see if I need to set the alarm clock. Then get a read from the board on the AM dose -- you guys are great & funny.

Thx again!
 
You'll find there are lots of awesome people here =) It's a great place, filled with smart people who love kitties with a passion. I've come to "know" so many people here that I would love to know in real life. I'm awed by the amount of knowledge these folks have gathered on Lantus (and the other inuslins) right here in one condensed spot, we have more information available to us than most vets have I think. Not to mention the support. No one understands what we're going through like other people going through it =)

My husband's family spent Easter wondering why I was so focused on my sick cat at home, It's just a cat after all, not like it's your kid. It's going to die any day now anyway, it's what ten years old?? Why are you spending so much time and money on an animal that won't live that much longer? (Oh really? Another ten healthy years is not that much longer? GAH! People.)

But here, every single person understood how I felt Sunday morning when I left my cat who was threatening a decrease (Dipping below 50 earns him a decrease and he was at 51 an hour and a half after his shot with several more hours of dropping to do) and they kept an eye out on his thread in case his petsitter ran into any problems while I was away. I left home knowing that if my cell lost service, these folks would be there for my baby and his sitter. It was a pretty awesome feeling.

You'll like it here =)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top