3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86 +2 199 +6 261 +9 323 dose?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Donna & KiKi, Mar 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Donna & KiKi

    Donna & KiKi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Ahhhhhh -- blue is so relaxing. :D
    Looking forward to a nice couple of days ahead. 70's today and tomorrow...... :mrgreen:

    viewtopic.php?f=9&t=10612
     
  2. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154

    Glad to hear that things are good. Go KiKi!!! :RAHCAT
     
  3. Donna & KiKi

    Donna & KiKi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86

    Goodness gracious! Went ahead and fed -- will re-test in .5 hr and shoot normal dose if >100. Have been working towards getting our test time to 9:00 or after anyhow -- KiKi must have known that :lol: Such a good boy!
    Or do I need to wait 1 hour after he's eatten?
     
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

    Donna:

    If you are stalling, you don't feed. Otherwise, what you will be interpreting as a rising number may be a food spike.

    You shot a 90 at a higher dose. If you have strips and HC in the house, you can shoot whenever you are ready.
     
  5. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

    then what happened? :mrgreen:
     
  6. Donna & KiKi

    Donna & KiKi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

    I was going by Table 3A:
    If blood glucose at the time of the next insulin injection 50-100
    mg/dl

    b. Feed the cat, wait 1-2 hours and when the glucose
    concentration increases to >100 mg/dL give the
    normal dose. If the glucose concentration does not
    increase within 1-2 hours, reduce the dose by 0.25 IU
    or 0.5 IU (as above).

    That's the only reason I fed him. Figured we tried option A. already and since I wanted to delay shot anywho . . . nailbite_smile
    But then while he was eatting -- I thought about food spike also -- so then I was confused. but it was too late :oops:

    Shot the full dose 1 hour late. :mrgreen:
     
  7. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 3/31 KiKi AMPS 154 +4 131 PMPS 86<--ADVICE?

    That may work if you don't mind your schedule being shot to wherever. Generally, what we advise is a variation on this. The options are:
    • Stall for 15 -20 min and don't feed. Re-test. Repeat this process until you get a clear surf in a shootable range or the numbers are rising.
    • Shoot a reduced, big chicken sh*t (BCS) dose.
    • Skip the shot.
    What you want to try to avoid is stalling for a long(ish) time and shooting a reduced dose. It has double the effect on the shed. Each of these options has it's pros and cons.
     
  8. Donna & KiKi

    Donna & KiKi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    The delayed option I chose certainly didn't do us any good :evil:
    +9 and we are already @ 323 and he's hungry, so fed more.
    Here is my question -- if >300 @ +11 would it be ok to shoot one hour early ? since that would have been the original time (had I not delayed PM shot) ?
    The one hour isn't that important -- my goal is to get the numbers back down now nailbite_smile
     
  9. Donna & KiKi

    Donna & KiKi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Anyone?
    +11 325
     
  10. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You could shoot early. However, will you be around to monitor? In looking at Kiki's SS, she comes down from a bounce pretty quickly. Remember, an early shot is like a dose reduction. Unless you are able to get a +2 and will be around to test, I wouldn't move the time by more than 30 min. at once and shooting 15 min. early each cycle may be a better option.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page