3/26 Frank AMPS 391 PMPS 476-- Lots of Red last 8 cycles!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/26 Frank AMPS 391 PMPS 476 need to increase dose

Frank has been red so many times in the last 8 cycles it's crazy! He should not stay at these numbers, this can not be good for him. I think I need to increase dosage. His needs must have changed and he needs more insulin. What could he be bouncing from?...there are no low BGs, there are no blue, just pink and red. This is so insane. I am totally disturbed with all this. There's no understanding this...maybe lantus is not for him.
 
Re: 3/26 Frank AMPS 391

Don't have an answer for you unfortunately.. but wanted to ask a quick question in case it comes up.. when the more experienced people get a chance to pop in here.

You were on Vetsulin before Lantus.. what dose of Vetsulin were you giving? and what numbers did you typically see PS/peak?
 
Re: 3/26 Frank AMPS 391

Dawn & Nova said:
Don't have an answer for you unfortunately.. but wanted to ask a quick question in case it comes up.. when the more experienced people get a chance to pop in here.

You were on Vetsulin before Lantus.. what dose of Vetsulin were you giving? and what numbers did you typically see PS/peak?
When Frank was on vetsulin things were different. I didn't keep a SS like I do now, I didn't test like I do now. Often I would test AM/PM +3 and +6. I would say Frank probably averaged around 200 nadir on a 3-4U dose.
 
Well I do see on your SS that he might have gotten into some HC dry yesterday and the day before that you thought that you might have given a fur shot? How is he feeling otherwise? Any other issues that are bothering him?

Also on the 2U dose he was getting some blues and then you increased to 2.25

I am going to go back and read some of your previous condos.
 
Re: 3/26 Frank AMPS 391-- Lots of Red last 8 cycles!

There are explanations for the numbers: you weren't sure whether you'd given a fur shot (and there's been an epidemic of that lately) and you weren't sure whether Frank got into some kibble. Frank may have also gone lower than what you saw at +4 with the result being a bounce back into the reds tonight.

I'd like to see where his numbers are before you raise his dose. If he's bouncing, it's best to wait for the bounce to clear before raising the dose.
 
paige said:
Well I do see on your SS that he might have gotten into some HC dry yesterday and the day before that you thought that you might have given a fur shot? How is he feeling otherwise? Any other issues that are bothering him?

Also on the 2U dose he was getting some blues and then you increased to 2.25

I am going to go back and read some of your previous condos.

When he tested 522BG I was surprised and thought maybe he got a furshot although I didn't really think so (but it was such a unusually high BG.)

As far as the food, I don't know. I doubt he had his head in the bag since he really isnt a "go for it" kind of cat. It was a four-LB bag, kinda small. The bag was sort of flattened. It just scared me to see the bag out on the floor with Frank in the same room.

No purring today that I heard, played with a pencil that I dragged in front of him, pees fine, pooped yesterday, cleaned himself today. Slept a lot. Pretty much himself I'd say.
 
Re: 3/26 Frank AMPS 391-- Lots of Red last 8 cycles!

Sienne and Gabby said:
There are explanations for the numbers: you weren't sure whether you'd given a fur shot (and there's been an epidemic of that lately) and you weren't sure whether Frank got into some kibble. Frank may have also gone lower than what you saw at +4 with the result being a bounce back into the reds tonight.

I'd like to see where his numbers are before you raise his dose. If he's bouncing, it's best to wait for the bounce to clear before raising the dose.
I don't know if I can take 4 more days of all these reds... What happens if I raise to 2.5U if he is bouncing..which has he really stopped bouncing since back on 3/7?
 
If you increase before they clear their bounce it can cause it to take alot longer for the new dose to settle. Esentally they will start another bounce all over again.......NDW (new dose wonkiness) possible too.

Let's see what others say as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top