3/24 Max amps 132--questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mindy & Max

Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9989

Good night last night--Max actually came to bed with me and snuggled for a while as I was watching tv. He's snuggled on the couch, but not in bed since we got the diagnosis and started all the testing and shots. Made me happy to see him!

So if you didn't read yesterday's condo, I did a curve on Saturday, and he was still peaking >200 and his nadirs were still >100, so I tried to increase the dose to 2.25U on Sunday. While that did help bring him down into the double digits, we got in trouble with the pm dose that day, and nearly went hypo that evening. We're still working on leveling out again from that episode, but he's doing well. Today was his lowest amps ever. :-)

My question is: at what ps number do you not give insulin? 100? He was at 85 Sunday night, and I reduced the "new" dose back to 2U...but clearly that wasn't enough. I know that now...at the time I was in the middle of trying to make dinner and deal with two kids, so didn't manage to think it through thoroughly. I'm holding at 2U for the moment, but since he's on a general downward trend...when do I not give a dose, and when do I reduce it?
 
Nice job with the curve and with testing on Sunday.

Here's my spin on the curve. With the string of blue numbers, I would have held the 2.0u dose. What its looking like is that there have been cycles, like when you have yellow pre-shot numbers, where Max has been in the blues at mid-cycle. Generally, if you are seeing blues or greens, you want to hold the dose a little longer.

I also wouldn't consider numbers in the 60s (or 50s) "hypo" territory. These are great numbers! They are in the normal BG range and will help Max's pancreas to heal. I also wouldn't jump between meters -- you will make yourself crazy. Stick with one meter. (I'd vote for the one with the cheapest strips.) Remember, a dose reduction is earned when numbers drop below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat. This is another reason to stick with one meter since it's not clear whether or not Max "earned" a reduction.

Feeding: I would discourage you from using kibble for low numbers. It takes a while, much longer, in fact, than HC wet food/gravy to get into Max's system and it takes forever for it's effects to wear off. Gravy is faster on both sides. How much did you feed? Most cats get very hungry when numbers run low. If you give them too much food, they will scarf-n-barf, which I think you found out. In addition, you don't want to give so much food that Max isn't hungry in case you need to continue to feed over a few hours. Feed only a teaspoon or two. If you don't have any HC wet food (Most of us use FF flavors with gravy.), it's time to get some. In a pinch or with cats with irritable bowel problems, mixing a few drops of Karo or other syrup into food also works very well.
 
Thanks Sienne.

Yes, I will be getting some HC canned food tonight, I think. I didn't know how much to feed, so thanks for the info--everything I printed out and have on the counter at home said to give kibble, but no indication of amount. I didn't think 60 was "hypo", but I knew that's where he was headed...for him to show up with that low of a number only a few hours after a shot, well, he'd have ended going hypo in the next few, and I couldn't stay up all night to watch him. My DH is out of town this week, and sleep is a precious commodity with the kids, so I have to take it where I can.

Now here's another question: So if his ps numbers are yellow, and he's likely going blue between those (but I can't test to prove it)...now that his ps numbers are showing blue, and he's likely going green between those (but again, I can't be home to test), how do I know if he should be getting a reduction? AND, still, at what point do I skip a shot? With his amps being only 132 today, I suspect his pmps is going to be low, possibly still green. Do I shoot or not?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top