6/7 Nikki PMPS 162; +2 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexis & Nikki (GA)

Member Since 2013
Dang cat...I don't know what the heck is going on with her. Is it the late shot, just a bounce, Somogyi, partial fur shot? Pretty sure no fur shot last night. I really don't think it's Somogyi because she tends to be lower at shot time and then go up mid-cycle from the carbs in her food. Seems like she got better numbers with the 1.75u though. Argh. :evil:

Since her diarrhea's gotten less with slightly better insulin control, I'm trialing a dehydrated raw food this week to see if her system can handle it. She could use the extra protein anyway with these numbers. I would love to get her off the z/d so I could reduce her insulin.

ETA: Whoops, forgot to add Yesterday's condo
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437 :(
 

Attachments

  • phpuXNZa5PM.jpg
    phpuXNZa5PM.jpg
    8.2 KB · Views: 557
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437 :(

Those are hot! ;-)

I'm so frustrated and depressed today. It's been almost a year since she first started having the bad gastro issues and I feel like I'm letting her down. :cry:

I don't know at this point whether I need to find a new vet who will work more closely with me on small dose increases/decreases or what the hell I'm doing. I'm praying that she tolerates this raw food so that I can try TR, although I don't even know if it's possible to do TR since I only get 4 tests in a day. Or maybe I just need to relax. :lol: :?
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437 :(

Have you ever tried a little canned pumpkin added to her food to help with the diarrhea?
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437 :(

That's actually the one thing I haven't tried. She went downhill so fast last fall that we ran out of time to try all the options. The raw food actually has pumpkin in it, so maybe it'll help. For right now I'm just going to feed a small portion of the (about a tablespoon) as a supplemental meal. In that past, that change would be enough to kickstart the diarrhea. If she can handle that, I'll have to talk to the vet about cutting the insulin way back while I transition her....According to Dr Pierson, the new food is 10% carbs as opposed to the 30% + she's eating right now, and I would love it if she can handle it. We'll see! nailbite_smile

If her numbers on the 2u don't go back down a bit this weekend I might drop back down to the 1.75u. She was mostly blue and yellow on that dose and I think I should have held it a bit longer. Live and learn I guess!
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437 :(

One change at a time, especially where food is concerned with Nikki.

If you do decide to try the pumpkin, 1t (teaspoon) mixed in with the food is good. Only plain pumpkin, no spices added. Some cats really love it and will eat it straight up. Wink prefers his mixed into his wet food. Up the amount if you don't see improvement.

Wink had to get a dose of pumpkin this morning, both first and second breffis. To help firm up his stools. He is normally constipated so gets Miralax to soften. I'd rather try this first before resorting to antibiotics, which is what the shelter vet staff always prescribes for his diarrhea.

The pumpkin can help with both the diarrhea and the constipation.
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437 :(

Agreed. Will try the raw first and see what happens. Hopefully this morning was just a weird spike and I'll have some nice yellows this weekend. :-D I just want to keep her as healthy as I can....

Thanks again for the lovely pants! I've got 'em on!
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437; +8.5 187

Yikes, I wonder how low she went today?!

Gave a little (1/8 tsp?) of re-hydrated raw as snack. Hopefully she'll surf this blue for a bit....
 
Re: 6/7 Nikki AMPS 437; +8.5 187; +10 197; PMPS 162

Surfing along. I'm afraid she's going too low on the 2.00 and it's causing her to bounce, so I'm pulling back to the 1.75 dose. Looking at the numbers, she seemed to stay relatively flat on that dose.

I'm gonna get a +2 and before bed and see if I'm going to need coffee tonight. It's a good thing I got a nap in!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top