03/18 Frankie PMPS 383; +3 275

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

If you left food out for her is there any chance that she had just eaten right before that +6 test? That is the only thing I can think of that might explain that higher reading.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

There is no food left out... I dont know whats going on, but if you look at the SS, thats been the case for the last 3 times I've taken a +6 PM test. it is really boggling.
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

Those really are some swings.

I know Frankie is getting in some bounces- do you think there is too much insulin and it is just taking Frankie some time to clear them?

Sneakers is an acro and she doesn't respond to insulin sometimes 'normally' but it would take her a while to clear a bounce/swing and her numbers were sometimes effected by what happened two cycles ago.

This is what I am seeing and the others with Lantus (we are on Lev) can check me on this as I might not be reading it correctly:
Two cycles with blues (3-12 PM & 3-13 AM), two cycles with reds 3-13 PM & 3-14 AM)
3-14 AM - beyond the food spike, pretty flat day
3-14 PM - no food spike- in fact went low blues (drop off of 3-13 PM high, coupled with the fact that insulin could have been kicking in a little early to pull her down)
Two cycles with blues (3-14 PM & 3-15 AM), two cycles with pinks/reds 3-15 PM & 3-16 AM)
3-15 AM & PM - decent cycles with great drops
3-16 AM & PM - started high and probably stayed high, maybe a low pink drop but the PM showed an inverse curve
3-17 AM - started high but had a low blue
3-17 PM - jumped to red
3-18 AM - you said had already risen at +6

I call that the roller coaster on Sneakers and she's had plenty :lol:

Maybe do a reduction to .5u and hold for 5 days and see how she goes on that.
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

I think I may be missing her NADIR at +6... I'm testing today at +3, +4, +5 and +6, to try to pin her AM NADIR down... I should do the same tonight, but I'll see how I'm feeling.... I'm so brain dead right now. I'm still holding the dose because I want to see if her pre shots keep coming down because they have been trending down.... not very quickly, but I don't expect things to be immediate.
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

Her nadir could be later. Sometimes Lucian doesn't hit his until +7 or +8 and he changes often. :o

From what I understand, spiking mid cycle can also point to too high a dose. Lucian was doing that and because I had started him too high, I took him all the way to .5 and started over. I sometimes wonder if they don't have to get used to it from a low dose and then react better next time they hit that higher dose. Lucian seems to have, but THAT'S Lucian, no rhyme or reason most of the time. :lol: And Lord knows, I don't give dose advice, just telling you what Lucian did. :-D

Hang in there, those that have the experience will be able to help when they can see patterns, it just takes time. :roll:
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

I'm pretty sure her's is earlier based on her SS...I think it is around +5, but I'm here all day, so I'll test beyond +6 to see what happens... She just tested 263 @ +3.... I bet at +4 she is in high 100's and +5 she is in the lower 100's... +6 I'm betting on the curve back to high 100's, but who the "H" knows huh? We'll see ;-)
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

:lol: I hear ya! Just when I think I have figured something out about Lucian, he throws me a curve ball! :o
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338

hmjohnston said:
Those really are some swings.

I know Frankie is getting in some bounces- do you think there is too much insulin and it is just taking Frankie some time to clear them?

Sneakers is an acro and she doesn't respond to insulin sometimes 'normally' but it would take her a while to clear a bounce/swing and her numbers were sometimes effected by what happened two cycles ago.

This is what I am seeing and the others with Lantus (we are on Lev) can check me on this as I might not be reading it correctly:
Two cycles with blues (3-12 PM & 3-13 AM), two cycles with reds 3-13 PM & 3-14 AM)
3-14 AM - beyond the food spike, pretty flat day
3-14 PM - no food spike- in fact went low blues (drop off of 3-13 PM high, coupled with the fact that insulin could have been kicking in a little early to pull her down)
Two cycles with blues (3-14 PM & 3-15 AM), two cycles with pinks/reds 3-15 PM & 3-16 AM)
3-15 AM & PM - decent cycles with great drops
3-16 AM & PM - started high and probably stayed high, maybe a low pink drop but the PM showed an inverse curve
3-17 AM - started high but had a low blue
3-17 PM - jumped to red
3-18 AM - you said had already risen at +6

I call that the roller coaster on Sneakers and she's had plenty :lol:

Maybe do a reduction to .5u and hold for 5 days and see how she goes on that.

Sorry, The +6 reading was from 12 AM, so that was 3-17 PM Shot...., yes, it's been a roller coaster...not sure about what I'm going to do yet... watching numbers right now
 
Re: 03/18 Frankie AMPS 338; +3 263; +4 271

Stopped running the curve at +5 test of 316 as it appears she is not going to go swimming today.
 
Dan and Frankie said:
PMPS 383; +3 275.... Thinking more about raising back to 1.0

I'm reminded of what Mel told me when I first got her and wanted dose advice - that too much can act like too little. I think Deb just said the same thing above me.

In my case, I was really worried about high AM preshots, but then the evening was all wonky (Jez tended to hold Lantus for about 14-15 hours at the start and so the vet was having me shoot once a day - once I changed to twice I was on my own)

Anyhow - I was going to go up - she told me to go down......and looking back - overall I have lower preshots at .5 than I did at .75 or 1 for that matter. As you know, I'm pretty new to this, but I can see that you've had reds/pinks at 1 unit before and now at .75 - and the only time you had preshot yellows was with no dose at all.

So maybe it's worth a try going down for a few days....

Em
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top