03/08 Frankie AMPS 484

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Dan and Frankie, Mar 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
  2. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Oh you will dance the only question this morning is she going to cha-cha or waltz :D

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  3. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    HAHA!!

    Appointments this morning, I will test when I get back around 10:30 (+4)
     
  4. nckitties3

    nckitties3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Good luck hon!

    As soon as I think I know Lucian's steps, he changes them! :eek:
     
  5. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    256 @ +4.25
     
  6. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Oh lookie she is going to waltz today...Good Frankie

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  7. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
  8. nckitties3

    nckitties3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Nice drop from this morning, without being a nosedive (no jinx). :D
     
  9. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Nice! That's what we want slow and steady.

    She is looking good. And giving daddy plenty of breathing room to do what needs to be done to keep her in catfood. :D

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  10. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    I'm very concerned about this weekend.... it's going to be very busy and I am not going to be home during the day at all...and Saturday were supposed to be going to see my wife's cousin and kids at her parents house and we usually have dinner with them, but I'm eaither going to have to ask that dinner be very early, or we will have to pass... I really hate taking time away from Amy to be with her cousin... they are very close :sad:
     
  11. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    I know it sounds selfish... I'm just wondering how this is going to look in the future if I can't even get through one weekend and knowing I have twins coming.... yeah, I'm drinking tonight :sad:
     
  12. nckitties3

    nckitties3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    I hate to say it, but surely they know how much Frankie means to you? This isn't about your children, it's a visit with family, who you could visit some other time. Is there a reason why wife couldn't go without you?

    My son's B-day is tomorrow, we have plans, but if Lucian doesn't cooperate, the plans are kaput. I'm probably more upset by that prospect than my son will be.

    I don't mean to over step bounds, just giving MHO. Sorry, I'm a pretty blunt person. ohmygod_smile
     
  13. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    There is actually a very easy answer to it all...just reduce her dose for the day that you have to visit to the cousins..Instead of 1u, give either .75 or .5u and then pick it back up the following day. Many of us will do that if we have to leave a pet sitter in charge to travel for work or take a vacation..that way she still has some insulin on board but not enough to take her too low while you are away. You can also freeze her food and put it out frozen so she and Molly can nibble on it as it thaws.

    What I do when DH's band is gigging and I know I won't be around to feed at their normal meal time I freeze their food ahead of time and then leave the frozen in their dishes with fresh food on top of that, that way they can eat the fresh right away and the frozen as it thaws out.

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  14. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    I'm feeling guilty and suffocated at the same time...I'm probably going to dose the same for tomorrow and hope her +3 (or 2.5) comes out good. I don't know... maybe i'm just off cause I went down to the 14mg patch today... anyways... brb... test/food/shot time
     
  15. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    You are trying to juggle a lot of plates in the air right now hon. It really will be okay, it is just finding a balance between everything. My balancing act isn't quite as complex as yours but I do understand it. You have a little boy that needs his dad, a pregnant wife that needs her husband and a couple of sweet fur babies (one a little extra sweet) that also rely on you and a job to keep everything running.

    Frankie will be okay if you have to give a reduced dose so that you can take care of the human family, she may run a little high that day but that is the nice thing about the depot insulin is that she will have that shed to draw on as well if you do reduce her a shot or two. Canned food can be left up to 12 hours out at room temp and be fine. Cats in the wild will return to a kill and eat off of it for several days. The only real difference between the tiger on your couch and the tiger in the jungle is size.

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  16. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Thank you for the words of encouragement. She tested at 361... Were going to watch Wreck-it-Ralph on Vudu... See you all in a bit.
     
  17. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Well... Mollie has been pretty jealous of the attention Frankie has been getting and earlier they were going at it pretty good... I said it before and I did!! I grabber her fat as*, threw her on the counter and rolled her up in the towel.... she hissed and growled the whole time, but I tested her... said how do you like it??? is this really the attention you want?? Hmmmm she tested at 48... being as fat as she is and having eaten 2 hours ago... oh I really don't know how this whole thing works I guess. Testing Frankie now...
     
  18. nckitties3

    nckitties3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    I tested a fat, 16 yo feral, with dry flakey skin that pisses like a horse, 2 hrs after eating, she was 60. :lol:

    They either are or they aren't. :eek:
     
  19. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Well ShiZZZ... Frankie Tested at 435... WTH does that mean? Is she amped up because of the kitty altercation?
     
  20. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    She very well could be, but she will get over it, and at least you know she is high enough to get a good night's sleep. :D

    And BTW I ran a curve on my civie Lady Jane Grey and regardless of when I tested her she didn't move much out of the 40's ...I think low end she was 45 and high end she was like 48..lol Congrats Mollie is truly a civie :thumbup

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  21. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Thank Mel... I think I'll do just that :)
     
  22. MommaOfMuse

    MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Oh and I ran the curve on Lady Jane Grey for the exact same reason you just tested Mollie she was getting so pushy and jealous of Musette when I was running a curve on her, and pestering her that the next time I ran a curve I would just test them both...lol Jane was never a pest again.. :mrgreen:

    Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
     
  23. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    This is absolutely hilarious! Good for you!!! I bet Frankie was ROFL'ing the whole time!!!
     
  24. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    She could be, then again, it can be a lot of things. I drove myself crazy once trying to figure Gobbles' out. She'll come down. You are doing exactly what needs to be done and she's just keeping you busy and guessing...
     
  25. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Quitting su*ks. Mh DH & I quit a few years ago. We used the high-end e-cigarette and to this day, we vape. Though not with the e-cigs you see on TV or in the stores; something a little different you can only by at specialty websites. So we still get nicotine, in small amounts--Yes. But no cigarette smoke, no tobacco.
     
  26. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Tough question. Another one I tried to stop pondering. We do what we can do, Dan. Just keep doing the great job you have been. Take each day at a time. My daughter says "so you can never go anywhere because of that cat!" I told her that he's getting better every day and if I have to, he will be going with me/us. You have a lot on your shoulders, friend. I've canceled plans from time to time. Luckily, my DH tolerates me; though he has told me a few times that I need to chill out on the cat and to stop letting this disease (FD) consume me. He knows how much I love Gobbles; but he just doesn't understand. Thank God I have FDMB....
     
  27. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    I know, it is sad. I often feel guilt about what feels like picking between my family or my cat. I try to plan things around Gobbles' shot schedule but I always have it in my mind that I may get a "low" reading, and then, what happens to those plans? It sounds like Amy is very understanding. You've got a totally full plate what with your job, Frankie, your wife, and child (and two more on the way!!!!) When Gobbles' first got diagnosed, I was a total basket-case. My hair literally started falling out and my face broke out so bad I had to see a specialist. I still get the stress flare ups from time to time. I sometimes sneakily test him. I have feigned not feeling well. But I don't mind any of it; he deserves to get better and well, I do the best I can. Luckily, our youngest is college and husband and I do not work; I've got a bit of time on my hands. My sister thinks what I am doing is stupid, my Dad told me I should put Gobbles to sleep and there's a lady in the beauty shop (where my Mom and sister work), who blabs that I'm going to kill my cat because I test him so much. But ya know what? I don't care. Look at me going on & on... Wait. Hang On. Wow Dan. I feel better; I just vented :D
     
  28. Dan and Frankie

    Dan and Frankie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Sometime's it's all we need :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page