2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310,+9/HI,PMPS HI, +4/HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
2/6 Condo

Morning all.

Starting out HI.
Too bad cats don't take Metformin, would keep that AM # from being so high. I have to take Metformin at night or my BG will climb overnight and will be highest in the morning, even though I haven't eaten for several hours. But I'm the exception, just like ECID.

BTB

Wishing everyone healthy kitties.
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI

Bummer I was hoping that he was going to hang onto those 400s overnight, hopefully he will come back down again today and surf for awhile again so his body will start getting use to those lower numbers.

He still may have bounced just a little off that 200 pt drop.

Got everything crossed that he will make a repeat performance today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310

310?? I'll take it!! :-D Maybe he'll surf pink today and get off that HI in the morning. Keeping fingers crossed!
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310

Woohoo everything crossed here too.

Better than yesterday so he's coming down..just a little new dose wonkiness.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310,+9/HI,PMPS HI

And it ends the way it started. :sad:

Hopefully tomorrow will be better.
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310,+9/HI,PMPS HI

Well today was a little better than yesterday but he dropped pretty far by +4.5 so maybe that HI was another bounce...if he isn't down better by tomorrow then Saturday I would say take him up to 1u and rinse and repeat, hold for 6 cycles and if not better go up again. If he isn't going to let us do this the easy way then we are just going to have to do it the hard way and keep raising him until we hit a breakthrough dose and force his BGs down.

I really hate when they make us do it that way because once you get that break through you have to be ready to reduce quickly. I was really hoping that he would choose to waltz like Autumn but he just may want to tango or Cha-cha. Hope you ordered your steel toed dancing shoes.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310,+9/HI,PMPS HI

Yup, that 12 step program, one day at a time! :-x I was hoping too. But then, anything could happen tomorrow, we'll just have to wait and see.

Wondering though, should I try .75 or go directly to 1.0, since the .75 didn't work before? Of course he was on 1.0 also, with no luck and 1.5 with no luck and 1.75 with no luck. The only thing I haven't tried is 1.25. I was so wishing that he needed a lower dose and since I had started at 1.0 and by-passed .5, that maybe we would get lucky. With his numbers, you think it would be ok to go to 1.0? Watch, after all this, I'll find out that 1.25 is what he needs! :-D

It makes me ALMOST wish I had stuck with the prescribed 3.0 but he was on dry food then and I felt it would really be too much when I switched him to low carb. I was praying that the low carb would require a lower dose, but maybe not, only time will tell and I feel it was safer to bring him down and start over. I hate feeling like the last month was a waste. But you never know until you try.

I did finally get a ketone test on him tonight, Negative, thank goodness. He kept sneaking past me! Since his LB is in the laundry, I had to stand in the kitchen and WAIT, and as soon as I turned my back for something, he'd be in there and done before I could get the strip and go for it! I barely caught him this time!

Will get his last BG test shortly, keeping fingers crossed, AGAIN. :-|
 
Re: 2/7 Lucian AMPS HI, +4.5/310,+9/HI,PMPS HI

Can you get a mini curve on him tomorrow...get amps (of course), +3, +6, +9, &pmps? I'd like to see if I can figure out exactly where his onset and nadir are, since the nadirs will tells more than the preshots with Lantus. But general rule of thumb is if nadirs are less than 100 you increase by .25, if the nadirs are greater than 200 but less than 300 increase by .25, and if nadirs are greater than 300 raise by .5. But right now we don't know what his true nadir is on this dose. Is it yesterday where he surfed the red? Or is it today where he can drop into the pinks? Or will he show us something completely different tomorrow? Right now it looks like he fits both critria for raising him by .5u. Since yesterday was definitely greater than 300.. ohmygod_smile and so was today's maybe because he could have continued to drop depending on how close to +6 his is, so he could have dipped into the 200s but we don't know.

If he shows us something completely different tomorrow I think if he was mine and I was still figuring out his pattern, I would hold until he reasonably repeats something. Example if tomorrow he starts out without the meter saying Good Morning and has any real tangible number and then drops into the blues or <gasp> the greens even if he goes sky high again by pmps. I think I would be inclined to just sit tight and let him settle some more.As long as he keeps testing negative for ketones. Now the flipside of that is if tomorrow you get up and test him and the meter greets you again and he stays anywhere above 300 then raise by .5 if he dips to the 200s at +6 then go up by .25. But that is just kinda how I figured out which way to go with Autumn, until I figured out her pattern. Like right now she looks really scary, she's up with Lucian on the red floor. :shock: But if she continues to repeat her previous patterns, I'm glad her test strips for her main meter got here today, because she is about to take a dive and earn herself a dose reduction. <anti-jinx>. I seriously expect her either tomorrow or the next day to head for the 40s and earn herself another dose reduction, and she is already on .25u...lol. But that is her pattern, she gets beautiful numbers for awhile on a dose, loves to surf the low blues and greens, then suddenly for no reason she starts creeping up until she soars up to the reds. Then within the next few cycles she'll start coming back down, and keep going down until she gives me a near heart-attack when I test her...lol So with her when I see her keep rising through a cycle and those reds pop up I know to really keep an eye on her with the meter because she is about to take a dive on me, and I want to catch her when she starts and feed her extra small meals once it starts to keep her steady, and then reduce on the next cycle.

You'll eventually be able to see Lucian's pattern and to use a poker term learn his tells...lol Then it becomes easier to distingish if he just isn't getting enough insulin and you need to go up, or he is getting too much and you need to go down. That's the worst part I found in the beginning with testing any of my diabetics, that at first too much insulin and too little insulin can look exactly alike.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
No drop that can be seen since it doesn't register over 600. This is getting out of hand, I'm considering upping him in the AM, I don't know how much longer he can take these numbers.

Mel, if you get on before I do, let me know what you think in the morning please.

Goodnight all.
 
Raise him to 1u this am if you see this before you shoot. Since for the last 6 cycles his nadir is above 300 you are safe to raise by .5 and the same thing hold at 1u for 6 cycles and then see where he drops by nadir.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top