1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223

Nice sunny yellow start to the morning...Come on Lucian come on down for mom, you can do it.

Deb, another thing you want to do as well as looking at his numbers for the day is look down the columns too, look at the trend in his preshots values. Those are still constantly going down so he is still settling in on his dose. Just hang tough with this dose, we know it can get him into the greens now his body just has to decide that it's okay to be there.

It took me for what seemed like forever to get Autumn to where I have her today. Autumn and I have been dancing this dance since March and I just now have her to where I consider her tightly regulated. Some cats are easy to find that magic dose on, others like Lucian and Autumn can just be really PITAs about it. :lol: Patience Grasshopper, Lucian didn't become a diabetic over night and he isn't going to get regulated overnight either. And if he is anything like my little girl, just about the time you think you have him all figured out, he will decide that he wants a dose change...lol.

Remember they are still cats afterall... ohmygod_smile :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223

Hi Mel.

Yeah, I can see a bit of a trend happening, I don't plan to change his dose any time soon.
I see that the highs aren't AS high and will just keep watch. I'm guessing that the variances will become less and less until he's going 'flat' and then we look at his nadir to see what needs to be done, correct? Hoping he's on the right path now. :smile: I think I understand that correctly, 'flat' is when all his numbers are pretty much within the same color group, like all yellows, etc with an occasional up or down #? :?:

I knew he was in better numbers before I took the test, he was trying to fight me. :-D When he feels really bad, he's more docile.
He just came in purring at me, wants to eat again. :o

They aren't too crazy about the petsmart food. I bought 12 cans, 6 flavors. On sale @ .37 ea. Tried 2 different ones so far....meh.
I always get 2 of each cause they will usually eat anything ONCE. :lol: But only the feral seems to actually like it. That's ok, still very low carb. I didn't find the 'trout' one that gets raves and it wasn't on the list either. Have to go to Walmart this afternoon, after Lucian's +6, I'll check on the Special Kitty brand, but my store has no variety of it, I only saw 2 flavors last time I was there. Was really hoping they'd like the 5.5oz @.37 can, as opposed to the 3oz @ .68 can, but go figure! I like steak better than hotdogs too! :lol:

Gonna try to go btb for a bit, had a really bad night and worse morning.

Good wishes for all the kitties and their Beans! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223

nckitties3 said:
They aren't too crazy about the petsmart food.

LOL you should have seen the pile of REJECTED canned food we went through trying to find a bunch of flavors that all 14 (well actually 9 back then) could agree on when Muse was first dxed. You would think for a bunch of rescues they would eat just about anything that didn't try to eat them first..but OHHHH NOOOOO! Mine aren't too crazy about the Special Kitty at Walmart either except for the chicken one which seems to be the one that is always out. :roll: I tried the EVO, the Wellness, The Taste of the Wild canned..all expensive "better" brands were rejected, Special Kitty was rejected, what finally was a hit around here was just good old Friskies pate (46 cents for the 5.5oz & 98 cents for the 13oz cans) and the 9-lives pates. Yep I have a bunch of Mac and hot dog crowd....lol Well okay they all LOVED Fancy Feast but with 14 mouths to feed I was not about to open 36 cans a day, 16 cans is just fine thank you very much.. :lol:

Oh you will get a chuckle out of this one...the other day we were in Walmart picking up the week's supply of animal supplies...5 cases of canned food, & 2 (40lb) boxes of litter etc. This woman stops us in the checkstand and asks my husband...Do you have cats? Without missing a beat he replies "Why no..if you mix it with a little tuna or hamburger helper you never know the difference." :lol: :lol: Ask him a stupid question he will give you a stupid answer..lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223

:lol: Oh! He's quick! Him and my son would be a pair! My son is the same way and always keeps me in stitches. :lol:

It's so weird about cat's preferences in food......all of mine adopted me, except Lucian, they were all on the street! Lucian was a barn cat that originally belonged to son and DIL. Patches, a 5 wk old kitten that someone dumped in the parking lot where I worked and Shadow, a 5 month old, in heat, starving feral that accosted me in a grocery store parking lot at 1AM! She is by far the easiest to feed, tho. But strangely enough, none of them will eat chicken cat food. They'll eat some if it's like a Chicken and Tuna, but plain chicken, no way and only Shadow will eat real cooked chicken and only if warm. She's the only one that will eat any cooked meats. Lucian will eat a nibble or 2 of cooked liver or cooked salmon, Patches won't eat any people food at all. I have tried to explain to them how lucky they are! They refuse to listen! :lol:

Well, each time I try to doze back off, the phone rings, guess btb is not an option today. :sad: Guess I'll make something to eat and feed that starving Lucian. :lol: He doesn't eat but about half as much of this food and then wants to eat again an hour later. I'm gonna try a different flavor, hoping to find a couple out of the six that he likes, would sure help my pocket. Very little will go to waste, Shadow is pretty good about eating about anything. :smile:

OH! and Lucian has put on a little weight, not sure how much, but his tummy is a little 'rounder' ,instead of the flat/sunken it was. I only have bathroom scales and they are only accurate to my DR's scales and not in ounces. He looks to be about 8#, weighing him with me, but could be anywhere from 7.5-8.5, you know how that goes, hard to tell. I don't want him to lose progress in that area, so I'll keep trying to find something he likes......hell, he likes FF, but I can't afford it either! :smile: I will make a Friskee's list before I go, only have a Special kitty, 9-lives and Petsmart list. Friskees will be the next trial.
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223

A friskies shoping list is easy...if it says PATE you are good to go. :-D But I can make it even easier for you ...here are the favs here...Marnier's Catch, Ocean Whitefish & Tuna, Classic Seafood Dinner, & Sea Captian's choice ( I rotate those for the Fishy Flavor once a week). Non-fish flavors...Poultry Platter, Country Style Dinner, Turkey and Giblets, & Mixed Grill...Mixed Grill is a little higher in carbs about 10% but doesn't seem to affect either Maxwell or Autumn's BGs at all. The rest are between 7-9%.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI ???

REALLY?? HI???

Geez! I know he did not get a fur shot this morning and his food has been from 0-1 carb. Why is he jumping so hi? He hasn't eaten in about 3 hrs, I kept putting him off, but couldn't wait for a +6, he was starving, so I tested and fed him.

I don't get it! :dizcat
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI ???

Some cats do better on 4-7% carb rather than trying to get it to 0. Maybe he didn't have enough carbs for the insulin and the drop provoked a bounce again.
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI ???

That's interesting.......this is new food I bought last night. All I can say, is it's good thing human diabetics don't have to fight so hard to regulate, we'd all be dead!

Being as, by nature, they are meat eaters, I thought he would do better with as little carbs as possible. :YMSIGH: can't win.
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

Just did his PMPS, still over 600+ any thoughts, ideas, advice please?

6 days on this dose.

Thank you.
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

two choices...either go up again and hope for a breakthrough dose, or drop back in dose and see if he is rebounding. If you drop the dose you have to keep checking him for ketones. But very seldom have I seen a cat on all low carb canned hitting those 600s, so not sure which way I would go, but I think I would drop back and see if the numbers get better because the higher you go, the worse his numbers are getting overall. Are you absolutely sure he isn't getting into anything he shouldn't like dry dog or cat food?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

I gave away all the dry food, there is nothing he can get into, lost my dog last March.

His numbers were worse with a lower dose. Only started showing any improvement after I raised it.

I don't know what to do. I had hoped that changing him to only very low carb, as soon as he came home, would help. He has eaten only FF with 1.3.4 carbs, then I bought the new stuff with 0 or 1 carb. I just don't understand what's happening, or what to do about it. He's already had his shot tonight, have to decide what to do in the AM

Thanks Mel.
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

ya know, he was high, but not this high on 1 u........makes me wonder
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

Playing the devil's advocate here...what if even that 1u was causing him to "push back" on the insulin and rebounding him into higher numbers...usually we see cats started on .5 and raised from there. So what if that 1u that he was started on was also too high? Just thinking out loud.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

It could be possible? I took him off 3 u when I brought him home, I felt it was too much. I dropped his carb intake to next to nothing and dropped him from 3-1. Was I wrong in that? I hope not. :sad:
Could 1u have still been too much?
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

Autumn and Maxwell are both living proof that yes, at times 1u can be too much, then again it can be too little as well for some cats. Its that damn ECID thing..btw Maxwell as a Lantus kitty that started out at 485, and in two weeks and a diet change went OTJ. So anything is possible. But thinking how much you have reduced his carb intake...well....it could be.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/29 Lucian AMPS 223,+5.25/HI, PMPS/HI help please

I completely changed his diet when I brought him home and knew from what I read, that the 3 u they had him on was too high. They went from 1 to 2 to 3 in 6 days, up a unit every other day. That's why I changed the diet and dropped the dose, but maybe I didn't drop it far enough.

I'll have to make a decision in the morning. nailbite_smile

Thanks hon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top