kalyv said:
So how do you actually know when your cat is regulated? I know OTJ is when you get two straight weeks of green numbers.
But I am still a little unclear on what it means to be "regulated."
Is that your numbers stay pretty even through out the day? Or is more about being in the blues and greens?
Sorry, I am still struggling with what I should be looking/hoping for.
Lucy's BG seemed to stay about the same for most of yesterday (mid-yellows and only a PMPS pink).
Today her AMPS was pink but her +6 is blue.
How do you guys interpret these numbers. Does it mean that we might be getting close to finding the right dose/food balance for her?
________
Previous post.
OK I'll give it a go with an answer.
I think my two are pretty much 'regulated' for a couple of acros. I try to keep them above 100 or 5.6 to you.
Ollie's been around 60 to 200 now for weeks, and that's great. His dose today was 21.5u and was up to 37u a few weeks ago, but I kept his numbers as close to a normal non-diabetic as I could.
Shadoe's been not as low with her numbers but she has curves not as flat. With her, the dose has been rising, from 17u and up to 19u but is coming down, so her dose is dictated by her lows.
If you have a cat not diabetic,their numbers should be green or even up to maybe 110 or 120 (6.1-6.6) maybe from foods or stress or meds or a bit sick, and your goal is to try your best to use insulin to get your cat into that range, under the 11/5.6 as much as you can.
I bet if you tested yr non diabetic cat, you would see fluctuating numbers. I have tested Booboo a few times and she's mostly around 42 - 58, but other cats could have a higher decent range.
If you are giving a dose that can get numbers into some good stretches of greens and blues, I would say you are doing pretty well. If you can adjust the dose to fit the needs, then you are OK.
If you are standing on the solid ground, things are pretty stable, yes? Now, what if you were standing in a boat? When there are no waves, it's pretty easy to redistribute your weight and stay upright, but if the waves get a bit bigger, it's a little harder but doable.
That's what you are doing, you are helping your cat stay balanced. Sometimes it's a little iffy, but you know how to adjust the dose to get back on balance. You know how to keep your cat regulated.
In the beginning, a cat is started on a dose, and you wait and test to see if it's too much, enough or not enough and you adjust. As you go along, you learn how YOUR cat reacts to foods and to insulin and to dose changes, up or down. You learn how long it takes for a dose to settle, and many other things. Eventually you reach a dose where you are getting pretty nice numbers mid cycle. You could say if you can keep nadir between 50 and 200, you are doing a bang up job.
Keep in mind the general guidelines from the Lantus/Lev protocol as it still applies when thinking about regulated.
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Sure you may have the odd spikes, so just focus on the nadir in the cycles, keep between 50 and 200.