Pandasmom
Active Member
Odie's been on Lantus for about a month now, currently getting 3 units twice a day.
We're in the process of switching from Dexamethasone to Budesonide. Last night was the start of the process. He had 1mg Budesonide. This morning at 6am he had 0.37mg Dexasone + 1/4 Pepcid AC tablet. (I have to give him his pills a couple of hours before breakfast because he won't eat otherwise due to the reduced dose of Dex these last few weeks in preparation for the switch).
8am - I tested BG twice (each ear) pre-shot - 6.1 (110) and 6.2 (111). Normally he's in the 10-14 (180-250) range pre-shot.
We expect that his BG levels will drop as we progress through the switch and gradually remove the Dex... but his Dex hasn't been decreased again yet! The only change was the addition of the Budesonide last night.
I haven't given him his morning insulin yet.
Waiting for vet to arrive...
We're in the process of switching from Dexamethasone to Budesonide. Last night was the start of the process. He had 1mg Budesonide. This morning at 6am he had 0.37mg Dexasone + 1/4 Pepcid AC tablet. (I have to give him his pills a couple of hours before breakfast because he won't eat otherwise due to the reduced dose of Dex these last few weeks in preparation for the switch).
8am - I tested BG twice (each ear) pre-shot - 6.1 (110) and 6.2 (111). Normally he's in the 10-14 (180-250) range pre-shot.
We expect that his BG levels will drop as we progress through the switch and gradually remove the Dex... but his Dex hasn't been decreased again yet! The only change was the addition of the Budesonide last night.
I haven't given him his morning insulin yet.
Waiting for vet to arrive...