mihaelamiha
Member Since 2012
Thank you all for helping me during this process!
My 13th year old cat Statica was diagnose with diabet in 2012 and after a medicamentation zone, since September we switch to insuline. After 4 1/2 months, we are on OTJ!
1. Humuline 30 - we use, as my vet did not recomended Lantus; reading your post I was sceptic to administrate Humuline 30, but finally we succed to remitance.
2. Food - is what I have learned from you, wet food with low carbs, it realy make the difference. Now my cat is switched on this type of food and he will remain.
3. Regulated - I learned (read first) that is better to stay regulated - arround 200 BG than 100 - 300 BG. My cat stayed in a 100 - 300 BG period for a couple of months and when I reduce the dose, keeping him in 170 - 200 BG, he remitted. It is possible to regulate, even on a rush insuline like Humuline 30, by administrating small dose - 0.5 ui (probably 0.25 ui will work).
PS. How should I test him from now on?
You make a difference with this forum, a lot of support for cats in need!
Mihaela
My 13th year old cat Statica was diagnose with diabet in 2012 and after a medicamentation zone, since September we switch to insuline. After 4 1/2 months, we are on OTJ!
1. Humuline 30 - we use, as my vet did not recomended Lantus; reading your post I was sceptic to administrate Humuline 30, but finally we succed to remitance.
2. Food - is what I have learned from you, wet food with low carbs, it realy make the difference. Now my cat is switched on this type of food and he will remain.
3. Regulated - I learned (read first) that is better to stay regulated - arround 200 BG than 100 - 300 BG. My cat stayed in a 100 - 300 BG period for a couple of months and when I reduce the dose, keeping him in 170 - 200 BG, he remitted. It is possible to regulate, even on a rush insuline like Humuline 30, by administrating small dose - 0.5 ui (probably 0.25 ui will work).
PS. How should I test him from now on?
You make a difference with this forum, a lot of support for cats in need!
Mihaela