Spreadsheet+ Insulin Dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Benny

Member
Hi, I thought once I got the basics down and did some reading up on the testing,dosing etc.things would progress and I wouldn't have to keep asking for help.Well... I'm not sure in what direction to go now.
Rather then explain what I was doing as far as dosing my cat .It might be easier for someone who has the time to take a look at Benny's spreadsheet.
I am at the point of starting dosing over again, but I dont think my cat is in good enough health to keep doing this.

Chuck
 
I can't help with the dosing advice since my girl is on Levemir but I did cross post for you over on the PZI ISG so those that use your insulin will know you have a question here.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
There are no dumb questions except those that go unasked.

I simply went to the top navigation bar, highlighted it (up at the very top you should see..posting and a number, that is what I highlighted), then hit control C to copy. Then go where you want to put a link to this post, in this case a new post in the PZI ISG, opened a new thread there, typed out a message that we had someone on Health needing dosing advice for Prozinc, then clicked on that little button that says URL and put my cursor inbetween the URL tags and hit control V to paste it. And that made the link for them to hop back through to your post here. It looks complex when you see it written out, but it really isn't hard at all.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
No Problem just hang in there answers may still be a little slow coming in as I think the PZI ISG is busier in the early mornings and evenings than it is through out the day, plus the board has been a little funky while it was being transferred to a new server so may take awhile to get everyone that is normally around up and running again.

Mel
 
Hi,

Here is your previous post so people can get up to speed: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?t=87134

Do you think his infection has cleared? Has his appetite improved?

So you decided to try a lower dose to see if he was bouncing - correct? I think I would only give one unit a cycle or so more before upping it to 1.5. Anytime you can get those midcycle numbers (especially at night) it will help you see the whole picture: is the insulin taking him down more at night than during the day? Is it taking him down more this cycle than the previous one?

We don't like to see the high numbers for very long before upping a half unit. Be sure to be testing for ketones also.
 
Hi, I dont think Benny has any infection going on,He did have bloodwork done about 3 weeks ago now. The results were Ok at that time.
He has had some improvement with his behavior.He is a little more alert.Having a BM on a regular basis,urinating to much(5-7 x per day) but he is using his litter box again.Bennys appetite has been real good.
He is not grooming,jumping ,playing etc.its has been a long time since he has acted any where near normal.
I did follow the dosing protocol and I check for ketones every couple of days.
Neg, for ketones with glucose present 1500-2000 mg.

Thanks,Chuck
 
What dosing protocol are you using? We don't have a specific one for ProZinc on this site. We tailor it to the individual cat, using the data we get from testing.
 
Hi Chuck,
Looks from the SS that you were following the "SLGS" dosing protocol. I certainly understand the frustration because it looks like Bennie hasn't responded too well as you've increased the dose.

Does the vial of insulin look ok? Cloudy when you roll it to mix it, but no "floaties" visible?

And you're using u40 syringes, right?

And he's eating just low-carb canned food?

Carl
 
Hi, Carl

The insulin is in good shape.its in a good spot in the fridge 38'-40' and I have never kept a vial anymore than 6-8 weeks. I'm using the correct syringes Monoject.u40 (1/2ml.29 gx1/2").
I feed Benny Fancyfeast classics chicken ,salmon,turkey etc.He has been on this diet for about 1 1/2 years now.

Bennys BG numbers seemed to be getting slightly better thru each day but not low enough.Then he started to have real high number spikes at his AMPS and PMPS.They were getting so high I thought he was getting a bounce or something .
One AMPS reading was over 600.
I can continue at 2.5 u. were I left off to see what happens... or start over.Starting over doesn't seem like a good idea though.Would lantus be any better?

Chuck
 
I think I would stay at 1.5 a few cycles, being sure to test for ketones. He had a late nadir today, with his lowest number at +9 and his pmps just a little higher than that. That seems like an encouraging cycle to me. Sometimes it takes them a few cycles to settle into a new dose.

The really nice numbers you got early on were due to a faulty meter, right?

Carl may have different dosing advice than I do. I tend to be more cautious than he is. The board is based on peer review so he'll say if he disagrees with me, and then you decide what you think.
 
I guess I will start at 1.5 u. again.Run with that for as long as possible.Benny has had such High BG numbers for so long... I dont want to cause any more damage.He has lost alot of muscle and I dont think he can afford to lose much more.Plus his vision has been affected.

Thanks,Chuck
 
Chuck,
I'd give it a couple of days. If you don't see improvement by then, it would appear "lower" is not the solution.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top