Hi,
I'll share my experience. I started out with 2u of Lantus for my cat, and it did not go well. After 7 months, and by using this site and following the advice I got here, my cat finally got good BG readings. Why did it take so long? The people on this site with the most experience think it was because we started out with a dose too high, and Max developed what is called "glucose toxicity" from getting too much insulin. In order to "break" the toxicity pattern, you have to raise the dose up even higher than you would have if you had started with the "Start Low Go Slow" approach. Then, the cat's insulin needs greatly decrease once the breakthrough dose is reached. (Also, I decreased the dose slowly first before raising it, and then raised it again to get to the breakthrough point. There was no way to know for sure, from my point of view, which way to go, and I thought going down was worth a shot. In my case, it took longer because of that, too.)
I hate to see other people go through what I did. I trusted my vet, gave my cat 2u, and didn't even know I could test his BG for a month! (Another thing I see on this site, too often, is a person doing exactly what I did, and the cat dies from a hypoglycemic event. So sad. I'm really glad you are testing! That could have happened to Max one day, but by then I was testing, and I caught the low number and fed him high carb food to get his BG back up.)
It is very, very hard in the beginning to hear your vet tell you one thing, and the "crazy cat people" on the internet tell you another. What I would like to share with you is that there is no harm at all in starting low and raising the dose carefully and by small amounts as long as you have Ketosticks* and are dipping them in the cat's fresh urine to check for ketones on a regular basis -- about once a day or more if you like. Cats are very resilient to high BG, (dogs are not) and it is much safer with an insulin that forms a shed to start out low. If you look at Max's spreadsheet you will see how long he was in high BGs -- months! Today, he is absolutely healthy -- his neuropathy is gone, his BG is normal, his purr is strong, and he feels great.
Ketosticks are available at any pharmacy, and are very inexpensive. It is very, very important that you use them while your cat's BG is up there above 300 or 400. You need fresh urine, and some people use (non-biodegradable) BB gun pellets or aquarium gravel for litter or there are special cat litter boxes to help you catch urine. I tried the BB gun pellets, and then I put a baby monitor next to the box so that I knew when he was going. Eventually, I just put a soup ladle under his little butt when he peed. (The look you get from your cat when you do this is priceless!) Follow the instructions on the Ketosticks vial exactly, of course. You do have to get a good baby monitor as the cheap ones pick up too much interference from your electronic devices. Try Craigslist or a baby resale shop.
Good luck!
EDITED: P.S. This is the Tight Regulation dosing protocol:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581 and this is the Start Low, Go Slow:
http://felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm I recommend using the Start Low, Go Slow first and then transitioning over to the Tight Regulation if you are able to. It takes a certain amount of time and the ability to be with the cat more hours in the day to use TR, in my experience. There are people who have found a way to make it work no matter what, and they will help you in the TR forum. Either way, I found that posting in the Tight Regulation forum is where I got the most advice, and if you are clear that you are not yet on TR, you will get advice for SLGS, too.