Cat showing no curve

Status
Not open for further replies.
TheNewTeddy said:
I've made a chart
http://i1218.photobucket.com/albums/dd4 ... urve01.gif
of our cat's "curve" and all our testing results.
Sorry about the bad colours, I've put the 4 most recent full days at the bottom to help more easily see the "curve"

Curious if anyone knows why our readings are all over the place

Sorry, the charts are pretty nifty but it would be easier to see that actual test numbers posted here.
amps - number
pmps - number

you can put the times of each test as well, then people will be able to give more feedback.
the charts don't look flat to me... just a bunch of zig zags.

if you could put your numbers into a google sheet, others can access and see the numbers and give you some suggestions.
Create your Spreadsheet
 
Hi

When cats just start insulin they are still unregulated and will be all over the place until they get regulated with the proper insulin, dose, food, etc. What insulin are you using, what dose, when was he diagnosed and what food is he eating?

I'm really glad you're hometesting. That's great! Did you know that we have a spreadsheet in our signatures that we all can see so people can help each other? It would help a lot if you switched over to our sheet and put it in your signature. If ;you click on Racci's SS you'll see Racci's. I'll get you the link.

Welcome!

Melanie & Racci

Edit: I guess Gayle got it for you already. :smile:
 
Correct me if I'm wrong, but if I am looking at your charts correctly, it appears the cat's glucose levels are going down over time, right?

As Melanie mentioned, can you post what insulin you are using, what dose, how long the cat has been on it, etc.? Welcome!
 
We are using Lantus, and the chart details the entire time we've been using it - about a week.

We've decided to test every 2 hours today and we are having more of a curve.
 
TheNewTeddy said:
We are using Lantus, and the chart details the entire time we've been using it - about a week.

We've decided to test every 2 hours today and we are having more of a curve.

Can you give the dose you are giving and what time are your shots?

example

6am/ amps - 350 gave 1u Lantus
8am - 370
10am - 280
noon - 220
2pm - 239
4pm - 267
6pm/ pmps - 306 gave 1u Lantus

It is the above sort of submission of data that will give you better feedback.
Without knowing the exact times of the dots, I would say that you are seeing a curve.
It may not be the kind you want but you are getting one.
No curve would be a flat line as if drawn with a ruler.

the link I provided will take you to the making of a google spreadsheet which is the form used by others here for tracking. Google is free and viewable by all, unlike other sorts of attachments and programs.


How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Sorry I've not responded, but I'm Autistic, and, a visual learner, so, while I don't doubt that you guys have trouble understanding the graph, I was unable to understand why :-|

My roomate and I however had a discussion and came up with a better graph. Also, we started doing this:
Spreadsheet on Boo
which I will eventually back-date to when this all began.

The good news is that we did a 2 hour testing regimen all day and we do indeed have a nice curve.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67966&p=739856#p739847

Thanks for the tips.
 
AAACCCKKK - you gave insulin with a pre-shot around 100 (US). You need to test again NOW.
I will PM you too.
Your cat could have a hypoglycemic attack with a preshot so low. You need to have a hypo kit ready to go.



I'm a graph happy sort and upon looking at the graphs, I suspect the issue is labeling, and choice of axes.

Make the X-axis be time in hours from 0 (the pretest) to 24 (the 0 for the next day)
Make the Y-axis be the glucose level.
 
We're working with a tight protocol that advises caution at PS values of around 100, but there's been no problem yet. If Boo feels his sugar going a little lower than he likes, he takes a snack break. His nadirs haven't been in the close-to-50 range yet anyway, so we're just keeping an eye on him, hoping to get the nadirs closer to 50-ish in the coming days. With the support of the Mellit drops, his downward BG trend has been very gentle and almost predictable thus far (we're not forcing the numbers lower by increasing the Lantus, but helping his body better self-regulate his BG gradually via herbal support before we start decreasing the Lantus dosage).
 
You may be fine or not.

With only 5 days of data, you are shooting at a potentially dangerously low number. You don't have enough history to know what will happen.

Sienne is over on the main Lantus board and she is one of the MOST experienced Lantus users here. If she thinks you'll be fine, believe it. And if she says test you could be in trouble, believe that.
edited to add: noop, she's logged off.

... but I did the same thing when I first started here and spent the entire night testing my cat and hovering over him to make sure I didn't kill him.
 
This is s safe number to shoot and you shot almost the same number this morning. I see you are already posting on lantus so it's better to hang there so we can watch. I don't know where you are in the cycle but if you are not at +1 yet, you need to get a +1 test. If you are past +1 and haven't tested, I'd get a test as soon as you can ( now).

Then can you post your number in your thread in the lantus ISG please? Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top