Amanda23
Member
Hi all,
I am very new to Feline Diabetes - my kitty Thomas (who is jolly, fat and orange and the sweetest boy ever) was diagnosed this past Friday after I noticed him acting lethargic and not eating for a day or so. At that time they measured his BG and it was over 20 mmol/L (about 360 mg/dl). My vet put him on 1/2 a unit of Lantus once daily. I am also giving him subcutaneous fluids by needle to keep him hydrated and syringe feeding him Hills A/D because he won't eat on his own. Monday is BG was around 18 so my vet increased the dose to 1 unit of insulin once daily. His BG dipped to 16.2 about 7 hours after insulin (I bought a meter and am doing the testing at home). Yesterday it was 21.7 before insulin, 21.2 about two hours afterwards, so my vet said that today I should start giving him 2 units once daily and check in with her tomorrow. Today I was unfortunately not able to do a reading before he got the two units (my mom came and administered it because I was at work) but his BG 3 hours past insulin was 22.9. I just took another reading (6 hours past insulin) and it's 19.3.
They tested his urine on Monday (no ketones thankfully) and found that he had a bladder infection so he's now on Baytril for that - has been since Monday night. I'm managing to get 120ml of subcutaneous fluids into him each day via needle, and about 3/4 to a can of Hills A/D using the syringe feeding.
I guess I'm mostly just confused and scared (and he doesn't seem too thrilled either, though he is seriously a champ about the fact that nearly hourly I'm coming at him with either a needle, a plastic syringe full of goopy food, or a pill to shove down his throat). I don't understand why, despite the introduction (and increase) of insulin, his daily overall BG seems to be rising still. Even the vet tech at my clinic said that seems odd - the vet wasn't there when I stopped by to pick up some stuff today. The vet's going to phone me tomorrow though and discuss potentially increasing the insulin to 3 units once daily.
Any thoughts on this - anyone have any idea why the BG would keep rising in spite of the added insulin? Or is this just part of getting regulated and I just need to be patient?
I appreciate any and all comments or advice - I just want my baby to feel better. Thank you!
Amanda
I am very new to Feline Diabetes - my kitty Thomas (who is jolly, fat and orange and the sweetest boy ever) was diagnosed this past Friday after I noticed him acting lethargic and not eating for a day or so. At that time they measured his BG and it was over 20 mmol/L (about 360 mg/dl). My vet put him on 1/2 a unit of Lantus once daily. I am also giving him subcutaneous fluids by needle to keep him hydrated and syringe feeding him Hills A/D because he won't eat on his own. Monday is BG was around 18 so my vet increased the dose to 1 unit of insulin once daily. His BG dipped to 16.2 about 7 hours after insulin (I bought a meter and am doing the testing at home). Yesterday it was 21.7 before insulin, 21.2 about two hours afterwards, so my vet said that today I should start giving him 2 units once daily and check in with her tomorrow. Today I was unfortunately not able to do a reading before he got the two units (my mom came and administered it because I was at work) but his BG 3 hours past insulin was 22.9. I just took another reading (6 hours past insulin) and it's 19.3.
They tested his urine on Monday (no ketones thankfully) and found that he had a bladder infection so he's now on Baytril for that - has been since Monday night. I'm managing to get 120ml of subcutaneous fluids into him each day via needle, and about 3/4 to a can of Hills A/D using the syringe feeding.
I guess I'm mostly just confused and scared (and he doesn't seem too thrilled either, though he is seriously a champ about the fact that nearly hourly I'm coming at him with either a needle, a plastic syringe full of goopy food, or a pill to shove down his throat). I don't understand why, despite the introduction (and increase) of insulin, his daily overall BG seems to be rising still. Even the vet tech at my clinic said that seems odd - the vet wasn't there when I stopped by to pick up some stuff today. The vet's going to phone me tomorrow though and discuss potentially increasing the insulin to 3 units once daily.
Any thoughts on this - anyone have any idea why the BG would keep rising in spite of the added insulin? Or is this just part of getting regulated and I just need to be patient?
I appreciate any and all comments or advice - I just want my baby to feel better. Thank you!
Amanda