SPRATS POSSIBLE HYPO

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here is her previous thread. viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35353 Tonight at 185 the shot was 2 units of N. +2 was 162. +4.5 was 43. She has given gravy food.

I can't remember your name. Please tell us. Can you add the 43 to your spreadsheet so people coming on can see it.

You need to do another test 15 minutes from the time you got the 43. Is it about time?
 
This is good. It most likely will stay up since you just gave high carb, not syrup - right? But you still want to take another test in 20 minutes or so. The idea is that you want 2 tests headed up, without syrup. We still don't know his nadir, so the insulin could counteract your high carb so we want to be sure.

I will stay on until you are out of the woods. No worries. This is looking better.
 
CORRECT, NO SYRUP. I have given him Friskies with gravy and some dry treats. He has eaten them fine. Even played around chasing a laser. Should I try to keep him "playful" or does he need to rest and save his energy?
 
Hi Jennifer,

Actually you don't want him to play. Sometimes activity lowers blood glucose levels.

I am guessing you will be okay, but let's just watch and make sure.

So - tomorrow. If you get any number around 200, I would wait 30 minutes and test again. You want to make sure it is headed up. Even if you get a higher number than usual, which you could since he had high carb and dry food tonight, if I were you, I would be cautious. I would give one unit, or even .5.

When are you planning to switch to Lantus?
 
Don't beat yourself up. Trying to learn and understand all the stuff you need to know in this short amount of time is HARD!

You are doing fine and Sprats seem to be doing okay too. You knew exactly what to do when you saw the low number.

Sorry, I should have remembered your name. I helped you set up your spreadsheet the other night.
 
I have read some things on Lantus, but wanted to be sure. The difference is is that you don't roll it, is that all? I have the pen and new u100 needles.
 
hey jennifer, how far along are you now? how many hours since shot?
 
+5 64?
or have you not tested in the last half hour?
and help me catch up..your using N or lantus?
 
Hey, Lori, thanks for coming. It is looking better but we aren't sure when her nadir is. She is using N.

Jennifer, water is fine. How about another test? Has it been about 20 minutes since the last one?
 
yes, let him eat and drink as he wants.
your using N...that is a fast acting insulin yet?
get the next test and we should talk about tomorow morning ok
 
The reason I am a little concerned about the nadir is that she got the 186 12 hours after her morning shot. That isn't N's usual pattern. Usually (I know ECID) you would see amps and pmps pretty close in numbers.

I am almost postitive, right,Jennifer? N today. She has Lantus but hasn't started it yet.
 
Just tested at 84.
Yes, it was N. I have not started Lantus yet. I just got it in the mail this afternoon and wasn't sure on the protocol, so I gave the N
 
well N works as a fast or short acting insulin...so there could be some pancreatic action in the mix.
 
That is encouraging. What do you think, Lori and Mel? It sounds good, but I am still concerned with the long duration, low pmps she got today.
 
Usually N hits fast - within 3-5 hours after the shot - and then it shoots right back up again. N is not acting that way in Sprats. He went a long way today never going back up into the 300-400 range. So Lori is thinking that Sprat's pancreas may be kicking in to help keep the numbers down. This is a GOOD thing!
 
Just catching up how far past the last shot are we? If it was N then he should be headed up no later than +6, that low of a pmps says to me Sprats may not want to take shots much longer. =)

Mel
 
Whew! I was starting to freak out again. Note, the morning shot was with my u40 syringe. It could have been closer to 2.
 
well jennifer if you can keep the number above 150 by +7 i would imagine your ok...the insulin has pretty much lost it's punch by then.
but let's wait and see how he goes.
glad you got your kit today! enough strips for a night like this?
 
Yes, thanks for the kit! I am glad for the strips :) I have gone through quite a bit tonight, unfortunately... I did use the sock this last test because I am by myself. No help, except for you all! <3
 
is he still interested in eatting?
would like to see him well past 100 before you quit
can you also put your #'s in the ss so we can see the pace.
you doing great and this will be a good lesson about hypo and shooting #'s
 
he isn't eating. he is in his bed "bathing". The 84 in the SS is more at 5.5 than 6. Now would be 20 minutes since the 84, so I will try another test...
 
I can stay with her Sue, we are in the same time zone so it is just a little before midnight for me, and Jon's band is gigging tonight soI have until about 3 am before he gets home. I won't sleep anyhow until he gets home.

Mel
 
jenn, was there no shot last nite?
also with no mid cycle's we really don't know if this dose has been too high all along.
tomorow you may likely get a high # as a result of the high carbs and a rebound from the low tonight.
do not react to that # and go down to 1u
now if you see a number under 200... .5 actually.
 
i'm leaving too. you have mel, and you have strips and high carb food. keep your cat above 150 before you finish with him ok. and not fast is actually better. fast up===fast down.
 
Nice getting to know you, Jennifer. You are doing great and have good help. I'll check in on you in the morning and as Lori has said, careful with the dose.

Just be sure you don't quit too soon. If you see any downward movement or even the same number range, stay up and test.
 
You know Lori has slow as he is going up... I think we have pancreas action...this late he should be going up faster on N.
It's a good thing. When Muse was on N she went back up quickly after about +5, but then again ECID

Night Lori I got her...sleep tight

Mel
 
night john-boy.
:lol:
i really thing the pancreas kicked in there too.
so if the number gets above 150 i don't think the pancreas will work sprats down to a hypo.
it may take a little while.
but jenn, this will work out nicely if the pancreas is indeed working.
 
you are right. the warm sock really does work, so far. I have used it the past two times and gotten enough on the first time.
 
I refer to Max's rice sock as my magic weapon....lol Who knew something so simple would be so much help.

Mel
 
Sounds good to me, I think you are probably out of the woods already but would like to see him just a little higher before we completely relax since it night. But at + 7 on N you should be good is we see 90 or above.

You do know you can use the U100 syringes with the N? Humulin N is a U100 insulin...just notice you said you had used your U40 syringes tonight.

Mel
 
I used the U100 syringe tonight. I really don't have any explanation for the 2. It just seemed less than what I gave with the U40. Plus the 499 this AM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top