Ozzie - New member to the board

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by lauren77, Oct 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lauren77

lauren77 Member

Hello Everyone --

This is my first time on the board and a few hours away from giving my first insulin shot to my beautiful six year old year cat Ozzie. I took him to the vets this morning, after noticing slight weight/muscle loss, ravenous appetite, excessive thirst and finally jumping up on to the bathroom sink yesterday whilst running the water.
    Urine, blood and thyroid snap was taken and his results were 356 but thank goodness no ketones were found. I came back from the vets w/ lantus - 1 unit to be taken every 12 hours and the DM dry/wet food. He will be on 1 can/1/8 of dry food for each day -- I go back in one week for a retest to see how he has done on the shots and new diet. I wanted to blog and see if my new experience which at first is heart wrenching will help anyone else out there who was as naive and uniformed like myself about diabetes in cats/pets until I came to this site and the other wonderful blogs that dedicated cat owners do in the hope of reaching out to others. Many thanks so far and I will keep you all posted as to his condition. The vet explained that every cat is different and he might need the shots for weeks, months or long-term. Whilst, I'm hoping for the former, I am open and willing to learn from anyone who can offer even the slightest bit of advice.

Thanx for a wonderful home to come to -

Newbie diabetic - Ozzie and owner Lauren :YMSIGH:

2. Maggies Mom Debby

Maggies Mom Debby Well-Known Member

Welcome to both of you. This is a wonderful site with people who care about Ozzie and you. The first step is to read the FAQs to understand the basics. Then come back with questions.