Yea!!!! We're OTJ as of this week-
Henry was diagnosed as diabetic on Feb 8th- Our ( now ex) vet prescribed 3 units of Prozinc 2 x a day, and said to come back in 10 days. She gave us a case of Hills Science Diet W/D canned and dry. She said that "eventually, I could home test.
I was told by several people that Hills food is NOT GOOD- So I began researching this, and found Dr Lisa Piersons (DVM) "catinfo.org" site on the web, and started reading about feline diabetes, nutrition, and the effect of high carbs on diabetic cats.
I spoke with this pioneer several times, and she coached me on getting a spreadsheet started, told me to home test IMMEDIATLEY, and got me on the FDMB.
A nurse friend said, "stay away from those message boards- they can drive you crazy!"
THANK GOD I DIDNT LISTEN- !
But I did think, how can I rely on faceless people on a message board?? Well, guess what?? IT WORKS. The people on the FDMB rallied around Henry and me, every step of the way. I would send a post, and within minutes- almost every time- a reply could come.
There is a tight protocol that the veterans on this board follow. They are knowledgeable, and share their vast experience with us newcomers.
They comforted me, taught me, listened to me, and let me know that all would be well. AND?? On very delicate dosing issues, etc, they actually conferred with eachother BEFORE replying to me- to ensure that they all agreed on the course of action.
I even spoke to 3 of them on the phone, because they graciously gave me their phone numbers! I was a mess- I felt so overwhelmed, and my knees would shake every time I would home test him.
The long story short?
On 2-19, I ditched the Hills food (which Ive learned is "crap" and I've nicknamed it Kills)- put Henry on FF classic, and Friskies low carb, and began to see BIG changes...
His numbers eventually began to show yellows, then blues, then greens! His fur became shiny and dander-free, he lost the extra weight, and began acting like a much younger cat!
Henry and I are blessed to have a change in diet make the difference between insulin dependent, and insulin free!
Our last shot was on Feb 19 (except for a "panic" shot I gave him on Feb 23- in error)- whoops- I didnt check woth the board first--
His average BG since testing is 106, and hes been non-diabetic for 2 weeks-
I found a new vet who is on board with home testing immediatley, and supports the wonderful people on this board. I shudder to think of Henry's fate if I had not QUESTIONED AUTHORITY! My old vets plan would have probably killed my cat-
I LOVE THESE PEOPLE AT FDMB!