OK, I am going to attempt to expain this whole process the way that I think it works. And don't take this for gospel by any means. I'm an amatuer and I'll probably say something wrong. Luckily there are lots of people with a great understanding of diabetes that can correct anything I mis-speak on.
Basically, Lucky's pancreas is screwed up. Which is why you have to give him the insulin that his pancreas is supposed to be producing. During this "dance", his pancreas will begin to heal, but until then, you're his pancreas.
You dose him when he's at say 400, and the insulin pushes down his BG until he reaches nadir. That could be 200, 100 or lower. The lower it goes, the greater chance his body will say "hey, wait a minute, this doesn't feel right at all". It could be a BG that is perfectly normal or higher than normal in a non-diabetic cat. But Lucky is so used to "living high", that his body can't deal with "normal". So his liver decides "hey, I can dump sugar into the blood and "fix" this problem". So it does, and even though you've gotten a nice drop to "normal", it's too much too soon. So his BG 12 hours later is right back where it started. And you're sitting there saying "I don't understand!, It was low, now it's high again. Even higher than it was! What is going on????"
At some point, Lucky's pancreas will begin to heal. Right now, the insulin you are giving him is letting his pancreas "rest and recouparate". When it starts healing, it will supplement the insulin you are shooting. I think at that point, his "curve" will begin to look more flat. You might shoot at 300, and he'll only drop to 150 maybe, then go back up to 275. Once that "flattening" occurs, at that point you might make adjustments to dosages. You might even have to increase the dose so that he starts and ends at 200 and his nadir is in the "normal" range. His pancreas will continue to heal and his numbers will continue to drop at that dose. Once his pancreas is in good enough shape, you'll start decrease his dose and let his body start taking care of itself.
This entire process might take months, or it might just be a matter of weeks. Bob went from almost dead to almost OTJ in about 10 weeks. But, as is said, ECID.
That's my layman's version of how this dance works. Like I said, I might have said some stuff that isn't right, and I'm hoping one of the more experienced and knowledgable members will correct as needed!
Carl in SC