Charlie "low" amps-264, shot 4u,hope that was ok!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Very Active Member
We woke up to puke piles from Charlie this morning. Amps:264. Did he hypo? I know 264 is good, but I don't know if I should shoot his whole 4.4u???? Anyone out there? Please advise. I will wait a half hour to shoot him, if I don't hear from anyone I'll probably be a chicken and shoot no more than half his dose.

Edit: I shot 4u at +12.5. either i have bos or I'm a whacko. We'll be home all day to watch him. I shot so much cuz I worried that the puking was because he ate a bug or something completely unrelated to his sugar. I didn't want to lose all our progress if that was the case. 264 is a beautiful number, I just hope it's a good sign.
 
Claudia,
I would watch him closely. No outside time today. Did he throw up food? If so you need to replace it.

When mine throw up, I reduce dose in case they won't eat because of ...? If its food, and its Cody, I suspect p'itis

Remember, typically onset is +2 so lets hope he is up some at +2 before he starts to drop at +3.

Chances are he will be fine, and the early higher doses are an OH wow, which they dont respond to as vigorously in later doses, so ...? we'll just have to see.

I hope somebody else is around today- One of my DP took several extra days of pills since I filled the weekly dispensor yesterday. 4 days are missing this morning.... may be back at the hospital today.... why did I even look at FDMB?
 
aren't you changing food right now, ...That could upset his stomach,

and I don't like to change food and dose at the same time. Too many variables.
 
Claudia, what a nice number this morning.

Have you taken any readings yet today beside the PS? If not, do so and post your results!

Shooting a little less will be OK as we don't have all his info.

With him vomiting he may not have had enough food in his system overnight and that caused some low numbers, but it will be hard to tell.

I am so sorry no one was around here this morning.

I am generally up and about by 5am daily, so next time if you want call me. I may not have all the answers, but we can discuss what to watch out for.
 
+3:334
Nancy- I haven't switched food yet, so everything is still the same. He may have just eaten a bug of something that upset his tummy. What he threw up was food and bile but not a whole lot. He's acting totally normal this morning.

Blue- I thought of you for help, and sent you a pm, but forgot to put a subject on it, so it didn't send and I didn't notice till later. I think the crisis us averted for now.

What should I do if this happens again though? Especially the lower amps number?
 
It sounds like he had food on-board.

He may not have hypo'd at all, you may have finally reached a good dose for him too. Let's just see where he goes today. Hopefully his tummy will settle down and it was just a bug.

Now might be a good time to review the hypo stickie anyway.

I think you made the wise and conservative choice this morning. It doesn't look like he is rising too fast, course I often think that with Attie and an hour later he is in the 400's.

If he is near or approaching the "good dose" mark...today is a day for celebration.
 
claudia cats throw up...i don't think that was a big deal.
what is a BIG DEAL is you broke thru!!!!! that is a fantastic amps for charlie!!!
as for dosing.
did you feed the uber low carb yet?
if yes...duh? then he is uber carb sensitive.
if no....watch very closely.. i don't like that he shot up after dose. the net 2 days should be a lot to testing to see if he did indeed break thru last night with a low enough number that his +2 high is rebounding from last night.
 
+4.5:287, going back down!

I'll test again in an hour or so. Maybe at +6 so the food won't be spiking his levels anymore- he ate right after I tested him now.

Lori- I haven't changed food yet. So still the friskies pate, just a good number I guess!
 
claudia you realize if his amps is 264 that in the middle of the night he was lower than that...perhaps in the 100's. tonight you will likely see a bounce. don't worry about it. that is a cat's typical reaction to numbers their bodies are not accustomed to. so if we see a red pm that does not mean you did'nt truly break thru...you might even get a 500. body itself just overeacting. very common. stick with 4U in that case. unless you get a low mid cycle today. low being below 70. then reduce.
the next few days may include some bouncing around...just a forewarning.
your mid cycle #'s are more important than ever now...
those are the #'s that will tell you how to dose...not the pmps. ok. if you go low today you will shave the dose even with the high pmps. you don't want to go low in the middle of the night and not be there.
i'm quite happy for this!
 
+6:183!! blues on the ss! To think I would've missed this if I had listened to the vet
Lori- I got a laugh from that! I probably wouldve felt like calling them too in your situation.
 
:RAHCAT dancing_cat flip_cat

Go Charlie...good job keeping an eye on him Claudia...

It will be interesting to see if this is a nadir or if he is going to throw you a late nadir?

How very wonderful and exciting! :-D
 
+7:420 ?!?!
What happened to my nice numbers? Is his liver panicking now? I guess I keep him at 4u tonight, right?

Btw, not a food spike. He ate at +4.5.
 
Yep, generally when they rise that fast it is the liver panicking. Most likely from seeing his first blue numbers, not from last night.

I would think to just hold this dose for a few more days, but let's see what Lori and Nancy have to say.
 
I would tend to want to hold the dose for another at least 24-72 hours. Give him time to settle in, unless you get a low hypo-type number.

Attie's been throwing me great numbers too the past few days. Our gorgeous weather?
 
hey claudia! :mrgreen: i hate to say this but i think it would be important to get another test or two tonight... i hate getting up in the middle of the night @-) but if you get another test in a little while to see how fast he's dropping and you really don't want to wake up again...just leave out food if he's moving fast. let's not add a midnight hypo to the mix :lol:
 
+4:337
it looks to me like he's just coming down from his food spike from eating at +2. I think I'll be safe to sleep easy. I don't see him dropping 300 points before his +6 nadir and meal.

Thanks for all the help today, and good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top