8/20 Harley AMPS 254, PMPS 131 NS +18.5 196

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
So while Harley was laying in my lap getting his post test head rubbing I noticed some food stuck on his chin, I tried to pick it off but it was wet. I picked up the food dishes (which were mostly empty) an hour earlier so he may have had an early morning snack.

Question: on the odd mornings that I actually wake up on time sometimes I will test him +11 when he has been sleeping, resting and get a much lower # than I do at AMPS (anywhere from 20 to 80 pts) after he has been running around, checking for the food bowls, bathing, chasing a civie around.

Here is the question, is it the insulin wearing off that quickly during that last hour and would the extra activity raise bg's that much.

I didn't double test this morning (I thought about it), now I wish I had.

Have a good day everyone.

Yesterdays News
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=22787
 
My experience ECID

I always thought a 20 point difference was not too different (except at hypo times of course :smile: ) With Spunky in the early days of regulation when it wore off....it wore off. We used Idexx. It was like a rocket launching sometimes.
He was very different though. He had acromegaly a pituitary tumor that caused the need for insulin. His pancreas was fine...but when the tumor was raging...watch out. Insulin needs were great. We did lots of TID in the early days...

It would be interesting to see a curve that included numbers before and after the shot...so we see when the onset of the insulin is for you...and how high he gets before it starts working...make sense? That is just my two cents...I come from a background of over testing....but it got me good results...but too obsessive for many..and probably only necessary for acro cats. I wonder if i can find my old spreadsheet for spunky....hmmm.

Last thing I want to do is step on any toes...let me know if I should zip it rather than confuse everyone LOL Jen pc_work
 
Re: 8/20 Harley AMPS 254

No Jennifer, I appreciate any input. That's what is so great about this place, someone may have already figured something out that someone else is just starting to wonder about and we can all help each other.

These were random observations that I was wondering about. It's happened several times (I can be a testaholic, hey it's not time yet but I'm up so what the heck) and the difference is dramatic, sometimes almost 100 pts in an hour, it could be anything from getting into the food before I pick it up to the insulin just wearing out but I was wondering if running around for an hour would also raise bg's.

I'll try getting some +1's & +11's.
 
Re: 8/20 Harley AMPS 254

PZI I have been told is known for its dramatic poopout - back when Bix used to zoom I remember one +11 that was blue and by +12 he was in the blacks. I would guess it's that, as many cats don't get full duration all the way to the next +12, though there is probably still some insulin keeping their #s from going higher. I doubt a food spike would raise things more than maybe 40 points, but ECID. Some cats don't even get much food spike on the LC from what I've heard.

I think exercise lowers BG, but I don't know the timing - i.e. while exercising, or a little after, or maybe there's a delay. Shouldn't raise them though...?
 
Re: 8/20 Harley AMPS 254, PMPS 131

hey robin tomtom had the same pmps! 131! i have to shoot becuase i've lost the ability to not shoot :roll: seriously...i just have to shoot. gave him .4.
now lets see what we each wake up to.
i know for sure we have very different cats...tom's #'s have been better than usual lately.
 
honey you could have shot that 131 an hour later when it went up. a token dose like i did and kept you momentum and you schedule going. don't give up on shooting the #'s...it working for both of you. you just get scared to shoot those lower #'s but that's what token doses are for...and your keeping harley in the blues and greens where he belongs that way.
luv ya!
lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top