8/8/10 Harley AMPS 167, +2 188, +4 155, +6 149, +9 193

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/8/10 Harley AMPS 167

oh boy, how exciting!!!! yippeee!!! maybe he just surfed blues and greens all nite!
 
Re: 8/8/10 Harley AMPS 167, +2 188, +4 155, +6 149

dang, I guess I should have gone with what .75 or 1.

I looked back at last Wednesday and you all said .5. Did I understand that wrong?

I hope we don't lose too much momentum.
 
Re: 8/8/10 Harley AMPS 167, +2 188, +4 155, +6 149

Awesome PS, and the #s aren't as bad as I would have expected for the reduced dose, pretty cool!!!

Just in the FYI category :-D I would have shot the f1.2 and gotten in some early-cycle tests & fed if needed, assuming I was going to be home today. Or if I were feeling cautious, I would have shot 1u and tried to collect data to see if that was enough on the lower PS. (Of course when Bix was getting regulated I did EXACTLY what you did, so I say this only with the benefit of hindsight!). If I wasn't expecting to be home, then I might have gone as low as 0.8u, but probably would have shot 0.9 or 1u and left food out.

I have yet to see anything in his #s that suggests to me he actually needs a dose reduction on lower PSs. I agree it makes sense to experiment to some degree with lower doses to be data-ready to shoot lower PSs. And especially when one won't be home for the day, it makes sense to me to shoot less rather than be nailbite_smile all day long wondering if you hypo'd your cat.

If you are home though, and getting in some tests, I would say the risk of hypo is significantly lower, b/c you can deal with lower #s very readily by feeding some LC, or HC if needed. Since the only greens with him we've seen so far were on 1.4u, if it were me, I would be going a little more aggressively to try to get him some rides in green #s, at least on days where I knew that I could test/monitor. Not everyone would though, it's a choice what #s you want to aim for, and what your goals are with it.

All of that said again with the knowledge that when I was in your shoes, I was very conservative with dosing at times, even a lot more so that you are, so I don't say this as criticism, just trying to share what I've learned the hard way :mrgreen: to help you in your decisions.

It does look however like his liver may be settling down (or pancreas picking up?) - f1.2 is working better than it was in the past, and today's results are really surprisingly good on 0.5u. It may be that he won't need as much as f1.2 from here on, but I'd let him prove it to you by showing you some greens. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Although if you get a nice PS again tonight (!!!) I would probably try 1u, since that's pretty darn good for 0.5 and he is holding the blues well into the cycle, which is great! Some of that is momentum off the previous shot of f1.2, but still pretty good. Sometimes on a lowered dose they will by up in yellows half-way through the cycle, and so far it's blue as far as the eye can see. :-D
 
Thanks Joanna,

Hind sight is always 20/20 isn't it.

He is going to be over 200 at PMPS, what would you shoot into that given the day he's having? It's back to work tomorrow so no tests after +3 ?

I'll get this yet! :smile:
 
wow shooting 1.2 into 167? joanna lives on the wild side :lol: i thought i was daring with my shots!
i think it looks like a nice blue day. nothing wrong here. i did'nt see what you shot, was it .5?
that was a good lesson, good but could be little better. unlike my friend joanna i would be more conservative and only gone as high as .8?
that's only me, but i'm happy overall with it.

p.s. if you want to call me ( on a personal matter, not this stuff ) could you? i left my cell phone at the salon damn...call the house. will be leaving about 7 my time.
 
I always go back to the shot of 1.2 on a 169 the night of 7/22, where it kept the #s flattish overnight. So to me, that shot could have been a 1.3 and maybe hit perfect #s, or maybe even needed a 1.4 (though I would have been hesitant to try that unless I REALLY knew I could get in early tests & feed if needed).

It does look to me though like his response overall may have improved since then, and with today's good #s on a lower dose... hmmm. I'm thinking I would probably shoot either 1u or 1.2u tonight, regardless of PS (assuming it continues rising from where it is), and get in a bedtime test, using that data to help guide me as to what to shoot tomorrow. Tonight's dose, whatever it is, will likely have less oomph to it coming after a 0.5u than it would shot back to back. So if you shot say a 1.2u tonight and got perfect #s, I might back off it by 0.1 or so tomorrow, since it will have more momentum by then.

The key thing though Robin is that you shoot what YOU think is right. Really, anything that's higher than 0.5 and lower than 1.4 has logic to it to me. It's just a matter of picking the # in that range that fits what you want. If you want to aim for a ride in green #s then you shoot at the higher end, if you want low/mid blues you pick somewhere in the middle, and if you are feeling really nervous about lower #s and want to collect more data, then you shoot at the lower end of the range.

The good news is he responds well to the insulin, and his #s aren't bad. As long as you don't have ketones in the picture and he is feeling & acting reasonably well, he looks to me to be in a pretty good place really. Personally, I would be a little more aggressive on the thinking that if you can get him some good solid hours in greens he might go OTJ quickly. That's just me though, others would approach it differently. As long as he is doing well and is spending a fair amount of time in blue #s, I think you have some leeway in your choices.
 
I'd go ahead and shoot 1.2 at +11 tonight.

The thing about dropping from 1.2 to .5 is that it's more than a 50% reduction. If you think of your dose changes as percentages, it easier to not go quite so low. Plus, sometimes when you know you'll be around to monitor, you have to shoot more than you are comfortable with in order to get the data point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top