8/3 Harley 242, +5 153, PMPS 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Morning,

Well another red last night. Lori asked about infection and got me thinking about his teeth. He has plaque and some gum problems. Would that cause a random red? Wouldn't an infection cause him to be run high all the time?

Also, is it even safe to do a dental on a 14 year old unregulated diabetic cat?

I'm going to call the vet and ask about his teeth, she has never really gone into detail about his teeth just picks plaque with her fingernail once in a while.

Yesterdays News
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=21315
 
Re: 8/3 Harley 242

well at least the 242 is kind of his 'back to normal' amps and who knows it may not be a flat yellow day so we can always hope for the blues, and dare i even say it 'anti jinx' maybe a green nadir. as the song says 'he may be high, or may be low, i must admit, i never know'
remember......
i think howdygirls blog should be on the required reading list for all hard to regulate cats...not for knowlege, just for bean's sanity!
 
Re: 8/3 Harley 242

Yay, nice PS this morning! Definitely makes last night's look like some sort of bouncy-ness rather than something causing him to go higher overall. If you can get any mid-cycle # today maybe somewhere in the +4 to +9 zone, I think that may really help you decipher things. Or not, who knows. :mrgreen: Some days the data is more cooperative than others.

Bix had terrible teeth & when I got them spiffified, it didn't help his #s at all. :cry: But apparently for lots of cats, teeth problems do cause higher #s - I would think infection would cause higher #s overall, but I don't really know. Pain/discomfort seems like that could cause spikes. Just speculating here...

Hope today goes great for everyone!!!
 
Re: 8/3 Harley 242

When you have high-ish numbers that don't seem to respond much to the insulin, one of the first things many people suspect is an infection. Teeth problems are often blamed, and I'm sure they do cause problems for some kitties. I don't have any experience with teeth issues, the vet always says that Tinkles' teeth look really good. However, he does have a chronic URI, and when his symptoms flare up more, his numbers overall do rise. I would increase the dose, and not get any improvement in the numbers....happened a couple of weeks before I switched to Lantus, and just when I was going to switch, the AB kicked in, and he dropped..had to lower the dose again. But it was more sustained, higher numbers, not a spike.

He would also throw random red #s, no real explanation for it, and I would just ignore them, not react, stick to what I was doing. He would bring himself down from it, like Harley just did, and I attributed it to liver bounce and moved on. It is part of the 45 day thing with ProZinc, IMHO. I wouldn't pay too much attention to it, look at the overall trend.
 
Re: 8/3 Harley 242, +5 153

ready for my decipher? hmmmm...looking good. :mrgreen:
the really good stuff with come with his pmps.
 
Re: 8/3 Harley 242, +5 153

I would say that you are getting a nice curve, but it's too shallow. You've held this dose long enough, he's not getting any better action, so I would increase to 1.3u.

He seems to like to drop early, like Alexia's Blue....at least some of the time, his nadir was +4, and there was a steep drop ahead of it. I wonder if he would do a little better with a slightly higher carb food at shot time or +2 or so to slow his drop? You might want to try that, see what happens. What is the carb % of the food you feed him? Try something 2-3% higher maybe? He might not bounce so much if you can control the drop. It worked great for Blue, it can't hurt to try it.
 
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
i'd say that's a pretty good day for the harley cat.
you ok with it?
another couple days of fat 1.2 just to see any real consistancy?
 
Lori, Yes, I like.

I was thinking I would like to see him stay stable for a few days and than re-asses (like he's going to do what I want). I know he needs a dose increase but I would like to wait until the weekend so I can be home to test.

Am I thinking the right way or off base.

BYW, I'm pretty sure he's at 1.3 now. It's so hard to see those small little lines and guess where you are with the dose. As far as I can tell there is a fly's eyelash width difference between f 1.2 & 1.3. Some days its probably one and the other day it's the other.
 
a fly's eyelash :lol: i think the difference equals out to the pee of a flea....
 
I agree with going to 1.3 or a skinny 1.4. Really you know he responds a tiny bit too well to 1.4, and whenever you have shot less than that, the results are mixed, or decent U-curves but #s just a little too high. I continue to think it's just a balancing act to shoot as much (up to say a skinny 1.4) that you feel comfortable with. If it doesn't feel safe and you are going to work, then you shoot a teeny bit less, and live with slightly higher #s. Even on higher PSs if it were me I would be shooting a 1.4 skinny, and just pulling back to 1.3 on anything under 250 (revising of course if needed as I got new data).

I do think lower carb might help, if he is now on 7-8% I would try lower carb for sure. Bix gets 4% and I can definitely tell that the food brings up his #s even at that level. 12% is what I have used when I've overshot and want to really bring up the #s, and with that even 2 or 3 bites are enough to raise him 40 points. So if what you are feeding now is almost double the carbs from what Bix gets, I can see how that might be raising the #s some.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top