Dosing Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve and Blue

Member Since 2010
Hello. I posted over in another forum and it was suggested I try over here. If you all could take a look at the link
and offer some opinions it would be a great help. My cat Blue is a newly diagnosed diabetic and I'm still learning.
Thanks!

Here is the link: Won't matter if you should respond over there or right here as I'll be checking both.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10923

I posted his curve over there as well.

Edit: I'm going to give him his dose - lowering it from 3.0/2.5 Units to 2.0 for right now. His shot is past due and his last reading was 305 a few minutes ago. Hopefully things get back to around decent levels. Still would like advice should this happen again. Thanks.
 
Welcome!

My kitty is on ProZinc and I still haven't got him regulated. But, in the past when a dose has taken him into low bg readings (without hypo symptoms), he rebounds. When that rebound response is triggered, his next couple of cycles seemed to run high and/or flat. It may be that your kitty responds the same way to rapidly lowering or too low blood glucose levels.

Do you have other bg test data? Do you test before shots usually? Setting up a google spreadsheet is a good way to keep track of things, and what many of us here do.
 
Thanks for the welcome!

Yes, I've kept track of everything the past week. He has only been home 2 weeks since diagnosis. Most curves have been highs around 300 and lows around 50, but this is the first time he fell to nadir within 5 hours. Usually it takes 7-9 hours. I think I'm going to make a switch to another insulin if this keeps up - possibly BCP PZI or Glargine, but I'll give it a few weeks to do it's magic.

How long has your kitty been on the PZI?

Is lessening the dose for the next shot interval the recommended protocol when there appears to be 'rebound'? From the info I've gathered it seems to be the best bet. As mentioned, I gave him a 2.0U dose tonight instead of his 3 or 2.5.

I just tested for ketones and he is negative. :smile:

Thanks for the response.


Donna & Buddha said:
Welcome!

My kitty is on ProZinc and I still haven't got him regulated. But, in the past when a dose has taken him into low bg readings (without hypo symptoms), he rebounds. When that rebound response is triggered, his next couple of cycles seemed to run high and/or flat. It may be that your kitty responds the same way to rapidly lowering or too low blood glucose levels.

Do you have other bg test data? Do you test before shots usually? Setting up a google spreadsheet is a good way to keep track of things, and what many of us here do.
 
Welcome.

I'm not sure switching to BCP insulin will achieve the results you want. It can take upwards of 4-6 weeks for ProZinc to kind of "settle," in the interim the nadir may move around and things may otherwise change a little.

Is there any chance you can put together a profile and spreadsheet [and link in your signature perhaps]? The instructions for this can be found in the Tech Support forum here:
viewforum.php?f=6
These will help us help you better. :smile:

What food are you feeding exactly? You are using ProZinc insulin currently?

Your curve looks OK basically [maybe a bit of an earlier drop and nadir which happened to us when we switched to ProZinc and could also be caused by too high of a dose] but the nadir is a little lower than one would like especially why you are starting out.

IMHO, your one curve does not seem to show rebound. The rebound I'm familiar with happens quick, like within an hour. Maybe someone else knows different? You can read about rebound here:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Rebound

Also, make sure to read the info in the PZI reading & resource links sticky at the top of this forum.

BTW a nadir of +7 is just fine.

On the one curve you have, did you give another shot at the +12? If you did then that shot might have been a "fur shot."
 
Hi and welcome,
It would really help other people help you if we had more details on your kitty. The absolute best way to do that is set up Blue's "Profile" and to set up a "spreadsheet" . Help to accomplish these are on the "tech forum". Feline diabetes is a marathon, these items will really help everyone, especially you, figure out a good dose for Blue.

Folks are very hesitant to give specific advice without knowing your history, so I've scanned your previous posts, and from that I've gathered:
that he is newly diagnosed approx 3 weeks, he was in hosp 5 days for DKA, he is on Prozinc, initially 4u, now down to 2-3u on a 12/12 schedule. He is a big cat, 17 lbs, eats well, Fancy Feast, and eats no dry food(?). The switch to canned occurred at home, after the vet released him from the hosp on 4u PZIR (prozinc). He is likely experiencing rebound as you have had bg of 35 and 400's. Age? You have done a good amount of research and learned a lot, and are considering a switch of insulin. No other health issues? Am I close?- please add/correct anything else important. (and please figure out the spreadsheet first- because its really important)

In the meantime a couple thoughts I had for you.
Home glucose meters are not precision instruments, so sometimes you will get a crazy number, and if you are worried & suspicious of that, you should retest, and if it is quite different, test again to see which one is right. It is normal to see variance even from the same drop of blood. The lower the numbers the closer the variance, the higher readings are more likely to show greater variance. There is a blood glucometer available that can also test for ketones in the blood. If he is prone to ketones, you might want to consider it. Sorry I don't know the name.

It is important to watch glucose levels at home when you stop giving dry food to a cat receiving a set dose of insulin. It almost always reduces BG and insulin needs; and can put a cat in a hypo situation. As you are seeing, no dry frequently = less insulin.
Have you read the stickies about how to deal with hypo?

Newly diabetic cats can revert to being off the juice. Sometimes the food change and a bit of insulin, can give the pancreas time to kick back into gear. Aren't you glad you home test?!

Pzir is a good insulin, and it is very effective for you (bg=35) with good duration, so I wouldn't rush to switch just yet. What you need is to get the dose adjusted. (and to do that we could really use that spreadsheet :-D ) You may also need different syringes which help you fine tune a dose- more about that later.

Check tech forum ... :-D
 
Thanks for helping out with Blue Cat everyone!

:thumbup

I think I'm going to have to put together a spreadsheet. ;-)

In the mean time I'll answer your questions:

Gator and H: Yes, Blue rec'd a shot at +12 which had no effect. I was thinking Somogyi myself and I'm fairly certain that it was not a 'fur shot' as we always check for insulin in his fur after his shot - but I suppose it's possible. He is on PZI human recombinant. Initially 4.0 units which I've dropped to 3.0/2.5 since the switch to a canned food only diet.

Blue has been eating Walmart Special Kitty, Wellness turkey & salmon, assorted Fancy Feast. All canned and all hi protein/low carb according to labels and Janet and Binky's food charts.

Nancy and Cody: Thanks for researching my previous posts. Yes you're right on. Blue has had no Ketones since he's been home and I'm familiar with hypo and what steps to take. Blue is 13 years old. He has had bouts with Feline Herpes Virus and is currently taking 250mg Lysine/day after initially loading with 500mg. He was also placed on Clavamox for a possible infection while in the ICU. He is on his last dose of Clavamox today - so he has been home two weeks today. Everything else you mentioned is correct - nice job. :-D

I recently ordered the 3/10cc U-40 syringes from Hocks.com as no one around here seems to carry them besides the way overpriced animal emergency center. Is there a syringe out there that can fine tune dosage even more than that syringe?

My ultimate goal is to get Blue into remission ASAP - but realize it can be quite a process.

I'll get to work on that chart... and want to thank you all for the info. I think I've learned a lot in a short time from FDMB and felinediabetes.com, but have so much more to learn. :-D

I'll get to work on that spreadsheet
 
A lot of the other beans around here use U100 syringes with u 40 insulin (prozinc is u40). There is a conversion chart which you have to read carefully so you dose correctly. The u100 syringes you want have more lines of demarcation, and so you will see others referring to .2u dose increments. please get someone else to tell you about exactly which ones to buy. They are inexpensive and available everywhere.

I am NOT the best to discuss u100 syringes because I have a cat with acromegaly (a pituitary tumor) which means Cody needs much larger doses of insulin and I dont need to think about..2, .4, .6, etc, but most of the others do see a difference with small changes.

From my memory, and again it hasn't been an issue for us, ketones typically can show up when you have 2 or more of the following: not enough insulin, infection, not enough food. So the infection could have been an explanation.

Also fluids help clear them, so many of us add extra water to the food, and some of us give subcutaneous lactated ringers solution, or at least keep a bag on hand for an emergency/travel.

What can we call you?
 
Kivstev said:
He is on PZI human recombinant.
ProZinc right? I think I remember seeing some online place that sold something named "PZI human recombinant" and it as not really ProZinc, this is why I'm double checking with you.

Kivstev said:
I recently ordered the 3/10cc U-40 syringes from Hocks.com as no one around here seems to carry them besides the way overpriced animal emergency center. Is there a syringe out there that can fine tune dosage even more than that syringe?
Yes, the syringes that are linked in the sticky at the top of this forum are the ones that will give you the greatest amount of control [IMHO]. Make sure to print out the conversion chart and use it:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1979
Some say they can get the same thing from Walmart [but where I'm at they require prescription]. But basically what you want are U-100 31 Gauge 3/10cc 5/16 inch Needle 1/2 Unit Markings. If you go the U-100 syringe route the 1/2 unit markings are very important. then the 1/3cc size is next most important. The gauge and length of the needle are not so critical.

Kivstev said:
All canned and all hi protein/low carb according to labels
As you are probably aware, sadly the labels aren't good for much.

Looking forward to seeing your spreadsheet. It will really help the folks here get you the best input. :smile:
 
Sorry, just had another important thought. It is important to know the strength of your insulin. If it is indeed ProZinc then it is U-40 strength and my recommendation to use U100 needles with the conversion chart remains.

HOWEVER, if it turns out that it is a compounded insulin, many times the compounded insulin will come in U-100 strength. In that case you would use the U-100 needles WITHOUT the conversion chart.

This is another reason I want to double check exactly which insulin you are using. :smile:
 
Thanks for all the help everyone... Blue and I appreciate it.

The exact insulin is produced by Bohhringer Ingelheim and is trademarked Prozinc. In parenthesis under Prozinc is says "protamine
zinc recombinant human insulin". It's definitely U-40 as it states "40 units per mL".

What confuses me is that on the label from the pharmacy it says PZI U40 (IDEXX). I thought that I read that IDEXX was the old bovine
PZI and originally thought this was a bovine insulin. I believe IDEXX has been discontinued? I'm thinking that they vet pharm still uses the old label. Someone please correct me. :?

Once Blue gets stabilized a bit I will def tweak his dose with the U100 syringes. Much thanks for that suggestion as it will simplify things. For now I'm waiting on the U40 3/10cc from Hocks with the 1/2 U measurement.II will print out the conversion chart when I go that route. I will also look into the 'subcutaneous lactated ringers solution'.

This place is loaded with great info and help. I can't thank you all enough. Sites like this make are what makes the 'net so
'awesome'. :thumbup I know my Vet has learned a thing or two from here as well. She is great as she is willing to learn a thing or two and work with me on this.

Thank you. (Still working on the chart)

Call me Kivstev, Steve, Blue's Slave ;-) all are good.
 
Kivstev said:
What confuses me is that on the label from the pharmacy it says PZI U40 (IDEXX). I thought that I read that IDEXX was the old bovine
PZI and originally thought this was a bovine insulin. I believe IDEXX has been discontinued? I'm thinking that they vet pharm still uses the old label. Someone please correct me. :?
The PZI Vet brand insulin from IDEXX has been discontinued. There may still be bottles of it in the market however [but this is unlikely]. ProZinc is the "replacement" insulin for the old PZI Vet. Good to hear you are using ProZinc. You are right it is a U40 insulin and if you are using U40 syringes there is no need to convert. You will only need to do a conversion if you switch to U100 syringes with the U40 insulin.

If you are thinking about LRS, I like the 21g x 1" Terumo needles. I now buy the needles & IV admin sets from shopmedvet.com. You can get a lesson from your vet tech. You should be able to buy a case [12 x 1,000 ml bags] of the LRS from a local pharmacy. More info here:
http://members.verizon.net/~vze2r6qt/su ... ompare.htm
 
Gator & H said:
Kivstev said:
What confuses me is that on the label from the pharmacy it says PZI U40 (IDEXX). I thought that I read that IDEXX was the old bovine
PZI and originally thought this was a bovine insulin. I believe IDEXX has been discontinued? I'm thinking that they vet pharm still uses the old label. Someone please correct me. :?
The PZI Vet brand insulin from IDEXX has been discontinued.

Yeah I thought so. I'm going to have to talk to the original emergency Vet pharm and tell them not to use that label on the boxes because it adds confusion as to what exactly is inside.

Thanks for that link too. Will look into that.
 
BTW I recently bought LRS from Sams club pharmacy - a case for $23, prescription needed. Weird though, they couldn't get the tubing and needles, so I paid a lot more for them online.....

Steve, when your vet thinks we're crazy, Cody gets fluids for megacolon, keeps him 'moving'.
 
Nancy and Cody said:
BTW I recently bought LRS from Sams club pharmacy - a case for $23, prescription needed. Weird though, they couldn't get the tubing and needles, so I paid a lot more for them online.....

Steve, when your vet thinks we're crazy, Cody gets fluids for megacolon, keeps him 'moving'.

Nothing crazy about that! I had a cat with megacolon - we had the 'mega' part taken out. Had a good response to that surgery, but would have been nice to have that option.

Back to Blue Cat - Finally finished his spreadsheet pc_work - but feeding details were left out for now. Thanks to all who take a look at it. His numbers are fairly high now - hopefully will drop soon should it be rebound. no Ketones as of yet.

Thanks all!
 

Attachments

  • Blue Cat.jpg
    Blue Cat.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 5,014
Good work on the SS! On to the profile [the more info you can include in the profile the better]. :smile: Nancy did a wonderful job pulling together the earlier run down. Once you get the profile up then you may want to start another topic here in PZI to make sure it gets attention.

It can take up to a couple weeks for the food change from dry & high carb to work it's way out.

The 300 to 30 dip on the 28th on 3u is a bit worrying.

How are you feeding - timed feeding or free feeding?

Indoor only cat?

Does the appetite vary from day to day or does it stay pretty much the same? I ask this one because I've noticed with H when he eats a lot to try to make up for the time that he was not eating well that it is hard to keep up with his insulin needs. I'm not sure if Blue may be mowing it down right now because he is feeling skinny? Is 17lbs ideal body weight for Blue?

For the UTI, was a urine culture done?

You are doing great with the testing! Keep up the good work.
 
Gator & H said:
Good work on the SS! On to the profile [the more info you can include in the profile the better]. :smile: Nancy did a wonderful job pulling together the earlier run down. Once you get the profile up then you may want to start another topic here in PZI to make sure it gets attention.

I like your profile, but it seems those profiles are for the old board only? They are now read only. I did figure out how to change my account name. :-D

It can take up to a couple weeks for the food change from dry & high carb to work it's way out.

The 300 to 30 dip on the 28th on 3u is a bit worrying.

How are you feeding - timed feeding or free feeding?

If we're home we feed him when he's hungry. Blue is eating between 10 and 15oz canned/day. He has a good appetite and has no problem going without the old dry food.

Indoor only cat? Indoor only.

Does the appetite vary from day to day or does it stay pretty much the same? I ask this one because I've noticed with H when he eats a lot to try to make up for the time that he was not eating well that it is hard to keep up with his insulin needs. I'm not sure if Blue may be mowing it down right now because he is feeling skinny? Is 17lbs ideal body weight for Blue?

The vet says he is at his ideal weight of 15-17lbs. He's a big cat. He was 16lbs last week. He's eating well, but not as well as he did when he came home. He's slowing down a bit, but hAS definitely packed on some muscle. He was a bit bony when he went in to the hospital. He's looking good.

For the UTI, was a urine culture done? $1600.00 - Everything was done - except an MRI ;-)

You are doing great with the testing! Keep up the good work.Thanks. Been a lot of work! Thankfully he's a good cat and knoes it's necessary. Thanks for the help!
 
Yea, those profiles are no longer available. However, there are instructions in the Tech Support Forum. I have not tried to use the tools they have in there. The last time I looked at the doc for setting up profiles it kind of starts off with how to make one if you had an old profile, then a couple posts down it starts in as though one is starting fresh. The important thing are the questions. As I understand you might be able to use the old tool then copy and paste into a google doc.

Heck, I don't even know how to change my account name! :smile:

When you are not home you can leave food out too. I add a bit of water to the wet food to keep it from drying out and getting the crusties. Some folks freeze the wet food in ice cube trays. If blue can have food out all the time and not get fat then the grazing thing is best not only because it minimizes the effect of food on the curve but it is also closer to how they would supposedly naturally eat.

As Nancy noted DM is definitely a marathon.

I'm hoping some others might be along here to take a look at your SS. I really don't have much more input for you at this time, but I will be interested to see how the 2.5 goes here. You are kind of on the cusp of the food change and it's just a little hard for me to say much more at this point. You may need something in between 2.5 and 3, and you are on track to improve your syringe situation here shortly it sounds like.

Do you have a no shoot level? OR how would you say you are approaching no-shoot or shoot less situations?
 
I did find the SugarCats coolification profile in that thread. I believe I can use that.

I did pick up some 100U syringes today and printed out that chart. They are the ones that you described in an earlier post. Thanks again!

If his BGL is low at shoot time, then I basically try to mimic Dr. Hodgkins' Tight Regulation sliding scale chart (with adjustments) that I found. Hopefully I've learned from a mistake or two the last week:

Basically:
<150 BGL No shoot
150-170 .5U
171-185 1U
186-200 1.5U

Time to test again soon: I would think that if this Rebound that it should start to dip. We will see....
 
Bah! 392 :-x

Strongly considering going back up to 3.0U... but probably will stick with 2.5 again unless anyone has any ideas in the next 20 minutes.

Shot him a 2.6 (6.5) with the new 100U syringes. They work well.
 
Seeing what 3U gave you 3 days ago, I might stay with the 2.6U for one more day to make sure you are still not in a symogi rebound (sp?), but I am far from a definitive source for dosing information. I am often asking myself!
 
Kelly & Oscar said:
Seeing what 3U gave you 3 days ago, I might stay with the 2.6U for one more day to make sure you are still not in a symogi rebound (sp?), but I am far from a definitive source for dosing information. I am often asking myself!

I agree, although Blue was in the 170-180 range when I gave him his 3.0. Live and learn. On the 28th though he was at 300 and dive bombed to 30 on the 3.0U. I don't know what to attribute this to. Hopefully he lessens a bit when I test him tonight at +3. :?

Thanks - all responses help!

Edit: 357 at +3 tonight. Frustrating....
 
personally :) i think you are trying to rush things waaaaay too quick here. no one gets steady good numbers two weeks in to a diabetes diagnosis unless it was something like a steroid induced diabetic.

seriously, you cannot and should not expect to see good steady numbers for several more weeks. and rushing things ends up with kitty at the ER or your heart racing like crazy some night trying to save your cat's life with syrup.

slow down, take a deep breath, and hold steady for a bit and try to get Blue off this crazy roller coaster he's on. remember, roller coasters don't make most people or kitties feel very good.
 
Cindy + Mousie said:
personally :) i think you are trying to rush things waaaaay too quick here. no one gets steady good numbers two weeks in to a diabetes diagnosis unless it was something like a steroid induced diabetic.

seriously, you cannot and should not expect to see good steady numbers for several more weeks. and rushing things ends up with kitty at the ER or your heart racing like crazy some night trying to save your cat's life with syrup.

slow down, take a deep breath, and hold steady for a bit and try to get Blue off this crazy roller coaster he's on. remember, roller coasters don't make most people or kitties feel very good.

Thanks - advice noted and taken. I'm trying not to rush anything by keeping his dose at a 'reasonable?' 2.5U. I've dropped the dosage from 4 to 2.5 over the last couple weeks because of those swings. I'm just not understanding why the doses the last few days have had such little effect. As of late it hasn't been a rollercoaster - just high (too high for me) and steady. I'll try to be patient while checking for ketones. Not sure how long is long enough at these levels?
 
Steve,
Yes, welcome to FD, it can seriously be frustrating.... and yes, its amazing how much you can live & learn...

I'm tired tonight, so I had trouble figuring out that ss, but it is pretty clear that 3u is too much. It may take awhile to recover from the multiple rebounds, so I still think I would hold the 2.6u max dose for a few days, just to settle.

other things that could be messing with your numbers:
food variations for example I'm pretty sure the wellness poultry and salmon is one of the higher carb wellness flavors. ( I also cant help but be suspicious of the glycemic index of food with carrots in it. carrots have a high glycemic index, which means they break down to their sugar building blocks faster than food with low glycemic index.) This is part of the reason I feed DM. Its 5% carb, mostly all animal protein, and consistent. I have the "as fed" if you want it.

Injection technique- are you pretty sure you are shooting into the space between the muscle and fat/skin layer? I've been doing this for years and I still get nervous with every shot. since you are trying to move it around to different spots, some are easier, some lift easier, some have more fat, and the thick scruff may absorb poorly.

I (and others I seem to remember) have noticed that when the testing blood drop is "clearer " looking the number tests higher, and when the blood drop looks darker thicker red, it tests lower. Can't really tell you why...

You might consider a timed feeder if you want to keep the food coming at a steady rate. Petsafe.net has some to view.
http://www.petsafe.net/Products/Feed-an ... matic.aspx Cody can break into the 2 meal feeder, but he's crazy!

Activity level affects numbers.

Does Blue snore?

Did you ever try miralax with your megacolon kitty?
 
his body needs to figure out what to do with the dose, thus the lack of effect the last couple days. up until just a couple days ago he would get too much, drop too low, rebound back to high, drop, not get any, get too much again, drop too low, not get any, etc.....see, no routine? his body has no idea what it is getting or doing or supposed to be doing.

if this were me, i'd hold a steady dose for at least 4-5 days (assuming pre-shot numbers are at or above 200), let things settle down some, keep ketone testing just in case, and collect some good data based on stability at that point. if ketones come into the picture then things may need to be reevaluated.
 
Blue is handsome, looks like one I petsit....
I found this in something I saved- maybe it will help you attach his picture:
This is a copy of my post in the tech forum that might help you , from one computer challenged bean to another. The name/date of the post is below if you want to read all the other explanations, which I'm sure are better than mine:
Re: Help with signatures/links/images/avatars here!
by Nancy and Cody » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:42 pm
Ok, so last night I spent forever trying to figure the avatar out, but today I got it. Heres what happened and heres what I did in order
FYI I have a MAC book which is brand new to me so... plus I'm "not of the Twitter generation"
went to my pictures (iphoto) and found one I liked that the subject was kind of square
photoshopped and brightened it a bit
then
I found the above chats and went to shrinkpictures.com
clicked make avatar
then in this exact order 1 2 3
1 click choose picture- brings up my photos and I find the one I brightened- click it
2 type" 90" in where it asks for size
3 click resize and wait
then choose the 1 of 3 you like best
click download below that one
save it to your desktop
open user control panel in the FDMB
select profile tab
select edit avatar
shrink the open window enough to expose the avatar on your desktop
drag it onto the box that says upload from your machine, wait till you see a plus sign appear(+), and drop that baby
click submit and hold your breath
Last night when I hit resize the picture came up black everytime
today I choose a different picture and ta da!
Hope this helps
 
Nancy and Cody said:
I'm pretty sure the wellness poultry and salmon is one of the higher carb wellness flavors. ( I also cant help but be suspicious of the glycemic index of food with carrots in it. carrots have a high glycemic index, which means they break down to their sugar building blocks faster than food with low glycemic index.) This is part of the reason I feed DM. Its 5% carb, mostly all animal protein, and consistent. I have the "as fed" if you want it.
According to J&B's list the Turkey and Salmon is 5% carbs as %Kcal. Not high at all! As for the carrots I have fed multiple flavors of GF Wellness [without mixing with our Home Cooked] and although it has carrots H does not have a problem with it. And there are many others here who feed Wellness without problems. The devil is in the details and there can't be that many carrots with 5% carbs as %Kcal.

From a DM perspective the Wellness flavors to avoid would be: Sardines, Shrimp & Crab and Chicken & Lobster. Other than that, according to J&Bs list the rest of the flavors are under 9% carbs as % Kcal and are fine for DM kitties. I have the as-fed as well and have run the numbers on a couple Wellness flavors and J&Bs list seems up to date [as of about 9 months ago] for Wellness at least on the couple that I have double checked.

The only beef I have with the Wellness is that it tends to be higher in fat, but so is the Purina DM unfortunately.
 
I wouldn't interpret the #s either to mean that he is not responding. You've seen some high drama responses so far, so you may have higher expectations based on that.

Today for instance you got a decent curve with a drop of about 90 pts and then back to about the same PS. It doesn't *look* like much because it's all pink #s, but a few more points difference on either side it would have been from red to yellow & back.

And I think the 357 at +3 is actually pretty good (not the # itself of course, but relative to the PS). With Bix, when things were going well, his PS would be about parallel with something in the +2/+2.5 zone, and then by +3 he would be starting to drop, which is about where you are tonight. Bix's biggest drop would be from +3 to +5 ish, and then a bit more drop over the next hour or so til nadir. If there is a BIG drop by +2 and maybe even by +3, it can sometimes be a sign the dose was too high. Not necessarily anything worrisome, but the way PZI works onset isn't really til +2-ish, so you wouldn't expect a big drop too early.

It does look like this dose may not be enough, but it looks pretty certain that 3u is too much, so I'd probably hold it at 2.6 for a couple days (barring ketones), and if you aren't seeing improvement then try 2.8. I see a couple spots with possible pancreas action, so that might be part of what makes the #s more confusing.

You may already know this, but when you get a low PS, you can retest in an hour or so, and then shoot when the # is high enough, rather than skipping the shot entirely.

Overall I think things look really good actually. The #s are wonky of course, but there is some good stuff in there, and you have some good bracket data on doses that are too low vs. too high. It's just some patience and fine-tuning from here to get him in the upper greens for as much time as you can. Just keep a close eye on the ketones, and if you see any trace of them I would go ahead and raise the dose a little. With Bix sometimes I had to raise the dose to get action, it seems like sometimes they get stuck in higher #s and need a little extra help to come down. You may find you need to do something like go back up pretty close to 3u to get him back in good #s, but then back off immediately to something like 2.6 or 2.8. Not advising you do that now, just mentioning it in case the #s don't improve soon. But hopefully he'll give you some nice #s though in a cycle or two on this dose.
 
You people are so awesome! (Don't take offense at the 'you people' as I'm not very prejudiced) :lol:

I'll respond with more to say tonight, as I came home for lunch to test Blue and need to get back to work. I just got a 199 reading so there is a dip after quite a time in the 300's. Now I just have to figure out what it means and will test him again in about 4 hours. Bye for now and thanks...
 
Yay, good news!!! You are looking for around a 50 - 60% drop from PS to nadir, so this looks to me to be in the ballpark. If tonight's PS is dramatically lower, I'd consider easing off the dose just a hair, maybe to 2.5 or 2.4.
 
Maybe too much good news? :? Yes I'd say whatever that rebound was is now over as he tested a 38 a couple hours ago. I'm feeding him well since I obviously don't want it any lower than that. I think it is safe to say I should back off on the 2.6U tonight no matter what the PMPS level is? I can't be with him all night and that low number stresses me. ;) Sure glad i didn't up his dose this morning or there may have been some real drama around here - pays to be patient sometimes!

J&B: I will keep in mind to wait a bit if tonight's PMPS number is on the low side. Thanks I never really considered doing that as I thought it might screw up any type of consistency. Hopefully you are correct and there is some pancreatic function going on. :smile:

N&C: I think the problem is that the pix I've been using are from a 12 megapixel dig cam and that in order to get under the 9 kb limit the pic would be too small. I'll back off on the pixels and put a pic up later. Thanks.

C+M: I was planning on holding steady for a bit at his current dose to see how he responds, but these swings tell me I should back off on the dosage - even if Blue is above 300 @ PMPS. Agree?

N&C (again): I'll keep that in mind about shot location, but I'm fairly certain at this point it was some rebound going on. Blue used to snore when he was overweight, not so much any more. He was about 22lbs at some point - sorry Blue - bad daddy. Thanks for the feeder link. As for MegaColon kitty she got lots of enemas before her colon surgery. She had a bit of diarrhea for a few weeks and was great after that. She's no longer around, but died and a ripe age of 16 non-related to her megacolon.

So what now? :D I'll take a reading or two before Blue's preshot and post them. I'm most likely going to back off the dose unless I can understand a reason why I shouldn't, but unsure of exactly how much until I see some other numbers. Wish us luck - and thanks for the support everyone! What did I do before the net? ;-) ;-)

Edit: 66 @ +10
 
"C+M: I was planning on holding steady for a bit at his current dose to see how he responds, but these swings tell me I should back off on the dosage - even if Blue is above 300 @ PMPS. Agree? "

definitely back off some. even if you see a 300 it could be rebound still.

i'm not sure how far to back off though. myself, if this were me, i'd back off to at least 2.0 but that's just me. see what others say and hopefully they see this before your pm shot comes due.
 
Yes, absolutely lower the dose regardless of PS. Glad you have a breakthrough, though it s*cks when it gets scary like that! My rule of thumb is that you lower the dose immediately anytime you see a # below 50. There is some disagreement on the exact #, etc., etc., but that's what I would do.

What's always confusing (to me at least) is the variations they get in response, so a couple times a while back you shot 2.5 and it looked like it might be too much, but then in the past few days it has looked to be not enough. I have found you just have to hold on lightly to whatever dosing you have in mind, and respond to the #s as they come. 2.5 might indeed have been too much a while ago, too little these past few days, and now too much again. It's a puzzle, you just gotta kinda roll with the punches.

Even back on 3/30, when you shot 2u that night it was either too much, or his pancreas was kicking in. But 2u hasn't looked to be too much at other times.

I'm not sure about the dose either. I'd probably be tempted to shoot 2u if the PS is over 180, and get in some spot checks before bedtime. If I would not be able to check, I would probably shoot a little less than that.

PZI is pretty forgiving on shot times. 12/12 is nice when you can do it, but you can vary from that when you need to, and it's definitely advisable if the PS is too low at 12. More or less if you shoot earlier than +12 you might lower the dose a bit to account for extra overlap, and if you shoot later you might raise it a little.
 
BGL is 87 @ PMPS time. My plan is to wait and test again in 2 hours? :smile: I'm guessing that this is not very typical? Hopefully another rebound is not the future since he got pretty low. Darn cat is messing with me. :lol:

Feel free to give opinions on what is happening and how I should proceed with this. I've gone this route before and would like a consensus this time. Thaaaank you!

edit: Just refreshed the last two responses form J&B and C&M. Thanks for weighing in. I'm thinking of testing in two hours and if it's around 200 give him a 2.0U. At least that's what I'm thinking now... that may change depending. (nervous laff) ;) Keeping him at a steady dose every 12 isn't very wise at this point - even though I wish it were that easy. Trying not to bounce him around, but like you say very unpredictable at this stage.

You may like to know that Blue is feeling very chipper. :-D
 

Attachments

  • Blue rest.jpg
    Blue rest.jpg
    45.6 KB · Views: 5,267
  • Blue yawn.jpg
    Blue yawn.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 5,282
BGL 127 @ +14 (thank J&B) - Still not shooting. Riiight? :-| Test again @ +16 and then I'm done for the night... I think. ~O)
 
Given that he's had some drama-drops, I would be inclined to wait til closer to 150 to shoot. Technically if you are past +12 and you are over 100 and it's a clearly rising # (which it is) you don't *have* to wait for 150. Generally a late shot will not have the oomph that a +12 one will, so if you want to go ahead and shoot (I'd reduce the dose further) it's probably ok. You might want to do something like just shoot 1u so you can get some sleep, and sort things out in the morning.

Just keep in mind that you are now at +14 (or whatever) not +2 - it's counted from when you give the shot. Peeps may freak out if they think you are giving a shot tonight at +4 or whatnot. :)

I don't like to advise to lower the dose a lot because then you can lose the progress you've made and risk ketones, but at the same time, get the sleep you need, and don't put yourself in the position of shooting something that will keep you lying awake or spot testing all night. Nothing *wrong* with doing it that way, I have at times myself, but also you don't have to overstress yourself. Sometimes on the board we get pretty perfectionistic, trying to find the perfect dose that will give you the absolute perfect nadir, but sometimes that really adds to much stress.

Not sure what you meant by "gone this route before & would like a consensus?"...? Happy to throw in my 2c, only not sure which question/route it refers to. :)
 
Thanks J&B, I fixed that +2 (+14) mistake.

What I meant about this 'route before' is when Blue was fairly low on the 28th of March and I gave him a full 3.0U dose which kind of bottomed him out that night. A few nights later the same thing happened but he didn't quite bottom out - but had some low numbers.

He has never shown any clinical signs of hypo. Reading Dr. Hodgkin's Protocol she mentions that cats on this diet are much less likely to hypo. Is that pretty much the rule unless you vastly overdose? Also, does that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?

In any case, I'll probably test one more time at +16 and shoot him a 1 or 1.5U depending on where he is. My girlfriend can take over in the morning in five hours til I get up.

I would guess that I'd be one of those 'picky' ones trying to find the perfect dose/perfect nadir if I could figure out what is going on in his innards. :smile: Thanks for your two cents! I do realize it's an educated guessing game at this stage and not perfect science. I really hate to take away any progress at this point by changing doses and times, but what other options do I have w/o risking very high numbers overnight?


How the heck do I chart a +16 PMPS dose? :lol: I'll figure it out...
 
Steve and Blue said:
He has never shown any clinical signs of hypo. Reading Dr. Hodgkin's Protocol she mentions that cats on this diet are much less likely to hypo. Is that pretty much the rule unless you vastly overdose? Also, does that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?
The diet and much less likely to hypo argument is probably one of if not the most controversial elements [in these parts] of her protocol. As for "much less likely," how much 'less' is acceptable to you? Recent human studies have shown long term cognitive consequences of hypo. From my viewpoint, hypo is nothing to tempt fate over. Some here are more caviler than other about hypo. I'll just say I'm very chicken about it and it is not worth it for me or in H's case to press things too far. Your assessment of things may vary.

As for "that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?" I don't think anyone can absolutely say anything 100% but my assessment would be that the type of PZI insulin would have no bearing on the chances of hypo and I'm sure as heck not going to be the one to test that hypothesis.
 
Gator & H said:
Steve and Blue said:
He has never shown any clinical signs of hypo. Reading Dr. Hodgkin's Protocol she mentions that cats on this diet are much less likely to hypo. Is that pretty much the rule unless you vastly overdose? Also, does that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?
The diet and much less likely to hypo argument is probably one of if not the most controversial elements [in these parts] of her protocol. As for "much less likely," how much 'less' is acceptable to you? Recent human studies have shown long term cognitive consequences of hypo. From my viewpoint, hypo is nothing to tempt fate over. Some here are more caviler than other about hypo. I'll just say I'm very chicken about it and it is not worth it for me or in H's case to press things too far. Your assessment of things may vary.

As for "that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?" I don't think anyone can absolutely say anything 100% but my assessment would be that the type of PZI insulin would have no bearing on the chances of hypo and I'm sure as heck not going to be the one to test that hypothesis.

I hear ya G&H! Glad to see you're still following our little little drama - at least it seems like a drama from where I am. :-D

Edit: Shot Blue a 1.2U for PMPS (+17) He was at 203 BGL. A bit conservative? Those 100U syringes are coming in very handy.

Goodnight all, and thanks... really.
 
Steve and Blue said:
What I meant about this 'route before' is when Blue was fairly low on the 28th of March and I gave him a full 3.0U dose which kind of bottomed him out that night. A few nights later the same thing happened but he didn't quite bottom out - but had some low numbers.

Ahhh, that route. One thing we often tell newbies is to start with a no-shoot of 200. Once you have some data on that, then you can move it down to 180, and with more data and comfort level you can lower it to 150. The difficulty comes in with ketones. Taking the slow & patient route is great, but if you have a ketone-prone cat you probably want to be more aggressive.

Ultimately you are the holder of the syringe, so you have to do what feels safe to you. With Bix, I undershot many times, and when I got a lower PS I would reduce the dose WAY down. Then when his #s were sky-high after that :oops: , next time I wouldn't reduce that far. Everyone was telling me to shoot more and I'm sure rolling their eyes at my timid shooting, but it was what I needed to do, so that's what I did. Thankfully Bix has never had ketone issues, or even really bad symptoms from the diabetes, so I had the luxury of doing that.

I advocate for more aggressive dosing now because I learned from experience that the big reductions were counter-productive. But on the other hand, with the exception of during the switch to low-carb food, I never actually had doses that were too high, I was just scared of the low PSs.

Not sure what my point is :lol: except that there is no shame in lowering the dose to one you feel safe with, even if you suspect it won't be enough. Then you get some data, prove to yourself what works or doesn't work, and then use that knowledge to decide next time.

I'm certainly no dosing expert, just like to share my long-winded 2c :-D. Honestly the cats I've seen do best here are the ones where their beans shoot on the aggressive side rather than on the timid side, which is one reason I've taken to giving more aggressive advice (combined with having followed along with some DKA crises that in some cases ended badly). I wouldn't take the hypo risk lightly, but I also wouldn't suggest that anyone repeat what I did - live in daily terror of it :lol: - and undershoot consistently.

He has never shown any clinical signs of hypo. Reading Dr. Hodgkin's Protocol she mentions that cats on this diet are much less likely to hypo. Is that pretty much the rule unless you vastly overdose? Also, does that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?

I've never really understood that, and I agree about not putting it to the test!!! Without a vast overdose though, when there is some degree of overshooting, cats seem to do just fine when their beans can manage it with feeding small amounts and testing until past the danger zone of peak/low #s. I wouldn't suggest anyone do it intentionally, but I wouldn't have a big fear of it either. Someone recently mentioned their civvie tested at 40-something (!!!), so it's hard to really know what #s are truly hypo. That LO you got is d*arned scary, but the upper 30s might just be borderline scary.

I usually shoot with a nadir in mind, and aim for the dose that I think will give me that nadir (I like 60 - good #, but some margin for error there). To some extent with PZI you can evaluate doses by the % drop from PS to nadir. With Bix, I liked PSs around 150 and nadirs around 50% of that. If the PSs were too low or the nadirs getting lower I would lower the dose a hair, if things started creeping up, I would raise a hair. He was more consistent though in his #s than most cats, so I guess I had it easy. :)

I really hate to take away any progress at this point by changing doses and times, but what other options do I have w/o risking very high numbers overnight?

You won't lose progress necessarily by changing doses & times. Where you might lose progress is if he stays in high #s for a few days, it seems to get harder to get things back under control once you lose it. I wouldn't worry too much about 1 night of higher #s. I don't want to say anything that might jinx things :mrgreen: but my suspicion is if you can keep him in good #s for a few days you will find that his pancreas is helping out - it looks to me to be sputtering, but I'm definitely not an expert.
 
Hey there. Maybe I missed it somewhere in the reading (I think I got caught up) but at least for us, if we get a low DD (we've gotten 40's with no signs of hypo), we usually get a high PS in the next 2 cycles that react well to our usual dose instead of an increase in dose. Some weird seesawing always happens after that, so the no shoot rule is usually the best indicator. Good Luck!!
 
Joanna & Bix said:
Steve and Blue said:
What I meant about this 'route before' is when Blue was fairly low on the 28th of March and I gave him a full 3.0U dose which kind of bottomed him out that night. A few nights later the same thing happened but he didn't quite bottom out - but had some low numbers.

Ahhh, that route. One thing we often tell newbies is to start with a no-shoot of 200. Once you have some data on that, then you can move it down to 180, and with more data and comfort level you can lower it to 150. The difficulty comes in with ketones. Taking the slow & patient route is great, but if you have a ketone-prone cat you probably want to be more aggressive.

I like aggressive, but as mentioned some of those lows can make you lose some sleep!

Ultimately you are the holder of the syringe, so you have to do what feels safe to you. With Bix, I undershot many times, and when I got a lower PS I would reduce the dose WAY down. Then when his #s were sky-high after that :oops: , next time I wouldn't reduce that far. Everyone was telling me to shoot more and I'm sure rolling their eyes at my timid shooting, but it was what I needed to do, so that's what I did. Thankfully Bix has never had ketone issues, or even really bad symptoms from the diabetes, so I had the luxury of doing that.

Tested Blue twice the last 24 hours - Ketone free! Right now Blue is as active as he has been since returning home from the emergency center.
Under this circumstance I'm shooting him another 1.2U at four hours past his regular AMPS - and hopefully I can get back on the usual schedule this evening. He was at 266 when I shot him. I was going to go more, but that big drip a few days ago is still too fresh. Don't want to risk hypo and/or rebound right now. I'll probably get more agressive next time.


I advocate for more aggressive dosing now because I learned from experience that the big reductions were counter-productive. But on the other hand, with the exception of during the switch to low-carb food, I never actually had doses that were too high, I was just scared of the low PSs.

Not sure what my point is :lol: except that there is no shame in lowering the dose to one you feel safe with, even if you suspect it won't be enough. Then you get some data, prove to yourself what works or doesn't work, and then use that knowledge to decide next time.

Yes those fluctuations have me second guessing - being conservative for right now. You have some good points in there. ;-)

I'm certainly no dosing expert, just like to share my long-winded 2c :-D. Honestly the cats I've seen do best here are the ones where their beans shoot on the aggressive side rather than on the timid side, which is one reason I've taken to giving more aggressive advice (combined with having followed along with some DKA crises that in some cases ended badly). I wouldn't take the hypo risk lightly, but I also wouldn't suggest that anyone repeat what I did - live in daily terror of it :lol: - and undershoot consistently.

I think I would have shot higher the last two times if that rebound thing hadn't happenedl. Don't want to go there again so quick.

He has never shown any clinical signs of hypo. Reading Dr. Hodgkin's Protocol she mentions that cats on this diet are much less likely to hypo. Is that pretty much the rule unless you vastly overdose? Also, does that protocol hold true for the current form of non-bovine PZI?

I've never really understood that, and I agree about not putting it to the test!!! Without a vast overdose though, when there is some degree of overshooting, cats seem to do just fine when their beans can manage it with feeding small amounts and testing until past the danger zone of peak/low #s. I wouldn't suggest anyone do it intentionally, but I wouldn't have a big fear of it either. Someone recently mentioned their civvie tested at 40-something (!!!), so it's hard to really know what #s are truly hypo. That LO you got is d*arned scary, but the upper 30s might just be borderline scary.

I usually shoot with a nadir in mind, and aim for the dose that I think will give me that nadir (I like 60 - good #, but some margin for error there). To some extent with PZI you can evaluate doses by the % drop from PS to nadir. With Bix, I liked PSs around 150 and nadirs around 50% of that. If the PSs were too low or the nadirs getting lower I would lower the dose a hair, if things started creeping up, I would raise a hair. He was more consistent though in his #s than most cats, so I guess I had it easy. :)

Nice numbers, I'm jealous.

I really hate to take away any progress at this point by changing doses and times, but what other options do I have w/o risking very high numbers overnight?

You won't lose progress necessarily by changing doses & times. Where you might lose progress is if he stays in high #s for a few days, it seems to get harder to get things back under control once you lose it. I wouldn't worry too much about 1 night of higher #s. I don't want to say anything that might jinx things :mrgreen: but my suspicion is if you can keep him in good #s for a few days you will find that his pancreas is helping out - it looks to me to be sputtering, but I'm definitely not an expert.

I'm determined to get that thing (pancreas) started and humming again. It will happen. :-D
 
Hope and Aria said:
Hey there. Maybe I missed it somewhere in the reading (I think I got caught up) but at least for us, if we get a low DD (we've gotten 40's with no signs of hypo), we usually get a high PS in the next 2 cycles that react well to our usual dose instead of an increase in dose. Some weird seesawing always happens after that, so the no shoot rule is usually the best indicator. Good Luck!!

Thanks! Yeah Blue cat had no signs of hypo when even in the 30's or that 'low' number. Lost some sleep that night. I can't imagine not testing Blue cat and just shooting a standard 'blind' dose like many people do... scary.
 
One approach might be to save "aggressive" for if you see trace ketones. If he is ketone-free, while I wouldn't be *overly* cautious, you probably don't need to be super-aggressive either. You probably need some down time from all the excitement! :mrgreen:
 
I got lost on when today's shot is. If last night's was 5 hours later than usual and today's 4 hours later than usual, I think that makes it +11? Otherwise it's really confusing to judge how the dose is working. You would expect that a +17 shot would be much less effective than a +12 shot, and a +11 would be about the same as a +12 or possibly slightly more effective. So when you are viewing the data, you want to also have in mind how many hours it has been since the last shot.

He actually did surprisingly well on the +17, which could be a sign this dose is even still too high. Hard to say for sure really from that cycle. Sometimes when you see an inverse curve that means the dose was too high. I am always suspicious of that if the PS is lower than the mid-cycle #s. In his case though it could be a sign that his pancreas is working, since you've seen that before on no insulin. Or those yellow #s could have been a touch of rebound I suppose, though they seem low for rebound.

I would try to get a spot check or two this cycle if you can - if he goes higher and then comes back down by the PS you might want to go down to 1u. If the #s go low again, then definitely reduce further. Vs. if the #s go higher and the PS is even higher, then you'll want to raise back up to something between here and maybe 2u. Just guessing on the doses, but that's the framework that I see it in. When their pancreases start kicking in it can end up being a series of pretty quick dose reductions.
 
J&B: Would be nice in the pancreas had signs of working... I'm just not sure what is happening since he is barely into his 3rd week on the PZI. As I mentioned, he is doing very well and is one happy cat... so who can complain about that.

I shot him up at +11 (thanks for correcting that, the doses on the 1/2 hour confused me) when he was at 266 with a 1.2U. He dropped to a 64 @ +4 which is a 204 pt drop in four hours if you're counting at home. I'm not sure what that means at this point, but I don't think it's bad and I'm glad I went conservative. I'm feeding him well (and he's hungry) since I don't want much more of a drop (this feels like deja vu!)

Depending on what I see @ PMPS time, I doubt I would be likely to dose much more than a 1.2U unless he hits the high 200's.

Is it me, or is it really tough to see any pattern here? @-) The 200+ point swings are nutty. Sometimes they happen, sometimes not, etc. I think I'll take the advice of keeping it low and then adjust upwards if necessary considering his good numbers at this point. It'd be nice if the panc hit me on the head and told me that it's working or trying to regulate... time will tell I hope.
 
Many cats have improving numbers for a while [even beyond the initial two weeks] after they have switched to an all wet, low carb diet. Also in at least one of the ProZinc studies it seems to take a little getting used to [for the kitty], so things may change around here for a while [up to 4-6 weeks]. So stay loose. :smile:
 
Gator & H said:
Many cats have improving numbers for a while [even beyond the initial two weeks] after they have switched to an all wet, low carb diet. Also in at least one of the ProZinc studies it seems to take a little getting used to [for the kitty], so things may change around here for a while [up to 4-6 weeks]. So stay loose. :smile:

4 to 6 weeks of this? I cants takes much mo! :lol:
 
I'd consider lowering the dose to maybe 1u. 64 is a little low for a +4 - not scary low (actually it is an awesome #), but sometimes he nadirs late, so I would read it as a sign the dose might be too high. It's possible that is because you shot a little early, but +11 for many cats doesn't seem to make any difference from +12. You really don't want much more than a 65% drop, more than that is one sign you might not need to shoot quite as much insulin.

The patterns actually make sense to me, although I can't articulate it. I see probable evidence of pancreas action. What I have seen with other cats (no hard facts on this) is that when they get in good #s for a bit their pancreas will start taking over. When they hit higher #s for a bit, their pancreas will start to doze off.

I think you are in a good place, and it looks possible that you are on a dose reduction path. Some of it may be liver training too, they have to relearn that the blues & greens are a good place to be, and then once they get the picture, they will stay in those #s better on their own. Not sure that is what is going on, but could be a factor on the days when you see higher #s (i.e. liver is throwing a hissy-fit).

I wouldn't worry about it too much - trying to make all of this stuff mathematical or predictable will drive you nutso. I used to make charts & do elaborate calculations, etc. Some of it helped me, but really, "stay loose" as Gator said is the best approach I think. It all can change so fast, sometimes you have to throw out what worked a couple days ago, and just roll with the new data.
 
How about a 53 @ +6? ;-)

I would have liked to get him back on his usual 7:30AM/PM schedule, but that is not going to happen with these numbers right now. 50 @ nadir is about my comfort level considering the rebound from a day or two ago. Don't want to trigger that. He seems to do very well clinically with low numbers - as I've read that most cats do.

I'm not going to look at the old numbers for now as you guys suggest. What I plan on doing then is shooting him up whenever he gets back up to the 150-180 BGL mark - most likely 1U. Then we'll see what happens. Does that sound reasonable? If anyone has better ideas I'd love to hear them.

Thanks for the advice and info people. :thumbup

Edit: Ok I lied and looked at the old numbers from today and remembered he dropped 200+ points in 4 hours on a 1.2U dose - so maybe go less than 1u or maybe wait til he hits 200 or maybe I'll etc etc etc ... :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top