Beth & Atlas
Member Since 2010
Weight...today we officially crossed the 12lb mark! Atlas has officially doubled his starting weight of 6lbs. We are at 6.5 units BID, which is technically down from the 8 units BID we started at when he came back into foster care.
We continued with the food "prescribed" and the dry food as prescribed in order to restore the much needed weight and muscle. His strength is back and he jumps, runs, and plays. This evening he was even chasing my female civvie around the house in a "serious" round of trap and hide.
AMps: 454 (pre-feeding)
+2 310 (post-feeding)
+4 92, retest 5 minutes later 122
+6 108
+8 225
+10 367
I am making the official decision to finally begin eliminating the dry food, Purina DM. Atlas has been getting several cans and a cup of dry per day. Tonight we start to cut the dry back. Instead of his evening half cup of dry at the +2 mark, it will be only a quarter cup. He has been allowed to snack on the dry throughout the day/night.
It has been weeks on the Humilin N and at the 6+ dosage. It appears to me that the insulin is doing all it can do. Now, it is time to really evaluate the food and its role in Atlas' recovery. I have chosen to ignore the food issue due to his lack of body weight and surgical recovery.
I realize many here did not understand the challenges that Atlas has faced in his recovery and some didn't "approve" of the protocol I've been using.
Atlas now has the strength to really begin tweaking his BG numbers. One change, one challenge, one thing at a time. This lesson was hard for me to do.
Tonight we begin our final leg of recovery. Normalization.
Purina DM from Binky's charts is fine for diabetic cats. Refer to the charts for the protein and carbs. numbers.
Ingredients are:
liver, poultry by products, meat by products, water, chicken, salmon and oat fiber
vs.
Purina Fancy Feast
chicken, chicken broth, liver, meat by products, fish, and poultry by products
And so our recovery journey continues a whole lot stronger and a whole lot wiser.
We continued with the food "prescribed" and the dry food as prescribed in order to restore the much needed weight and muscle. His strength is back and he jumps, runs, and plays. This evening he was even chasing my female civvie around the house in a "serious" round of trap and hide.
AMps: 454 (pre-feeding)
+2 310 (post-feeding)
+4 92, retest 5 minutes later 122
+6 108
+8 225
+10 367
I am making the official decision to finally begin eliminating the dry food, Purina DM. Atlas has been getting several cans and a cup of dry per day. Tonight we start to cut the dry back. Instead of his evening half cup of dry at the +2 mark, it will be only a quarter cup. He has been allowed to snack on the dry throughout the day/night.
It has been weeks on the Humilin N and at the 6+ dosage. It appears to me that the insulin is doing all it can do. Now, it is time to really evaluate the food and its role in Atlas' recovery. I have chosen to ignore the food issue due to his lack of body weight and surgical recovery.
I realize many here did not understand the challenges that Atlas has faced in his recovery and some didn't "approve" of the protocol I've been using.
Atlas now has the strength to really begin tweaking his BG numbers. One change, one challenge, one thing at a time. This lesson was hard for me to do.
Tonight we begin our final leg of recovery. Normalization.
Purina DM from Binky's charts is fine for diabetic cats. Refer to the charts for the protein and carbs. numbers.
Ingredients are:
liver, poultry by products, meat by products, water, chicken, salmon and oat fiber
vs.
Purina Fancy Feast
chicken, chicken broth, liver, meat by products, fish, and poultry by products
And so our recovery journey continues a whole lot stronger and a whole lot wiser.