Update Part 2: Introducing Molly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Member Since 2011
Continued from Part 1

A new furbaby will be joining the family on September 10! Meet Molly, Harley’s Doppelganger in fur. Since the moment I saw her, I was in love. I saw her on DCIN’s Facebook page the day of Harley’s endoscopy and thought “Gee, what a sweet little baby, somebody will adopt her for sure” and quickly became engrossed in getting Harley back on his feet again. But I couldn’t shake her picture. Every time I saw him, I saw her and vice versa. So I followed her progress from her home in Maryland to foster care with Don (Don and Chubby and Gus) in Virginia. I still couldn’t shake her – so I put in an application to adopt. Her story even made DCIN’s first newsletter! Venita, Claudia and Don have been working on Molly’s transport. The plan is to fly her via Continental PetSafe from Dulles, to Chicago O’Hare, connecting in Newark next Saturday, September 10. If all goes well she will arrive in the morning and be home before Noon. (Prayers, fingers, paws, toes, tails, eyes and other flexible body parts crossed are much appreciated!)

Don says she’s a real sweetie but has been through a lot. She eats Friskies Mixed Grill and seems to prefer his kitchen counter as her personal space. He gave me some numbers over the phone and teased me with hinting that maybe he’d have her OTJ by the time she flies. We can only hope. If that doesn’t happen I’m going to start her on Levemir, probably 0.5u to start unless her numbers are really high. She’ll also start off on Friskies Mixed Grill as I’m very aware thanks to my experience with 2 IBD kitties of how sudden food changes are not good for the tummy. She’ll have enough adjusting to do as it is.

Please forgive me if I seem giddy with excitement and anticipation this week. I’m trying to get it out of my system now so I can be calm when Molly arrives. Her “Welcome Home” room is prepared and I hope that we won’t need to use it very long. With 2 senior cats in the house, it’s very quiet – a lot of sleeping going on – so I hope she will settle in and relax. The poor baby has had too many homes the last few months.

Look for more exciting news to come! :-D
 
Laura,

Thank you for taking Molly.

I am excited for you and for Molly to have a forever home. She is lucky to have you!
 
Thank you Ladies, this is going to be a real adventure! nailbite_smile

I'm serving advance notice that I may need shooting advice next Saturday night 9/10 between 6 and 6:30 p.m. Central time. Don called me tonight and Molly's vet visit yesterday went great - she is certified to fly on Saturday. He also said he's got her very close to regulated on 1.75u Lantus. Her numbers are fluctuating between 60 and about 140 (if I recall correctly). He's going to hold the dose unless anything changes between now and the time she comes home to me. If something changes, he'll let me know. Wow!

The challenge will be that I'm switching her to Lev next Saturday night, Venita already sent me a starter pen. I was going to start her out at 0.5u (if she needs insulin at all) but am wondering if 1u might be better considering she's on 1.75u Lantus.

Any thoughts?

And this thread is useless without pictures...
 

Attachments

  • 262846_257024640994233_147717841924914_971855_4489978_n.jpg
    262846_257024640994233_147717841924914_971855_4489978_n.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 2,914
Awww, Molly is a real cutie! Such a baby still. How wonderful she's getting a fantastic home with you. Hope the transition goes smoothly.
 
What a little sweetie! How wonderful that you are opening your heart and home to Molly. You're a fantastic Momma bean.
We will need alot more pictures when she gets home. :-D
 
Thanks Marcy and Carol!

Auntie Marcy - Be careful what you ask for.... :razz: :lol: :razz: :lol:

And if her numbers prove to be exciting...god forbid, you might even see daily posts. ohmygod_smile
 
Such green eyes! No wonder you couldn't stop thinking about her.

I believe there's some speculation that Lev dose compared to Lantus should be a little less. .5U might be too low and you don't want that. If you start at 1U, then you'll probably see fairly quickly that you need to increase and will probably get to best dose quicker.

Just my 2 cents.
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Such green eyes! No wonder you couldn't stop thinking about her.

I believe there's some speculation that Lev dose compared to Lantus should be a little less. .5U might be too low and you don't want that. If you start at 1U, then you'll probably see fairly quickly that you need to increase and will probably get to best dose quicker.

Just my 2 cents.

Thanks Vicky, then 1u to start it is. Is it Caturday yet?
 
And apparently I have this thing for kitties with big green eyes, white tuxedos and shaved tummies.

Meet Harley & Princess.
 

Attachments

  • Princess & Harley.JPG
    Princess & Harley.JPG
    25.1 KB · Views: 2,910
  • Princess.JPG
    Princess.JPG
    29.2 KB · Views: 2,906
  • Harley.JPG
    Harley.JPG
    15.2 KB · Views: 2,899
Just dropping by to say how excited I am that Molly is almost home! Only a few days to go! I think everything is set on my end, and Don is a pro at this, so it's going to go off without a hitch! I can't wait to see her welcome home pictures!

~Claudia
 
I am thrilled that you are adopting Molly. I've heard amazing things about her over time and have a crush on her. I'm glad she has found you to be her furrever bean :)
 
Charliemeow said:
Just dropping by to say how excited I am that Molly is almost home! Only a few days to go! I think everything is set on my end, and Don is a pro at this, so it's going to go off without a hitch! I can't wait to see her welcome home pictures!

~Claudia

Thank you so much Claudia for all your help - you and Don are such professionals! The countdown clock is ticking... Her room is ready and tonight I'll pack a few things to take to the airport, treats, fresh towels for her carrier in case she's soiled it and herself, bottled water, paper towels, and a bag to put the trash in. Once I pick her up it should only be a 10-15 minute drive home. Am I forgetting anything?

Thank you for the well wishes Jenn & Marci - there will be photos and a lot of updates in the near future! cat_pet_icon
 
Laura and Harley said:
Thank you for the well wishes Jenn & Marci - there will be photos and a lot of updates in the near future! cat_pet_icon

Lots of photos, please!! I'd like to keep her blog updated. You can email them to me jennifer @dcin.info (remove the space). Stories too, it's nice to see updates on the blogs after kitties have been in their new homes for a bit.
 
tuckers mom said:
Laura and Harley said:
Thank you for the well wishes Jenn & Marci - there will be photos and a lot of updates in the near future! cat_pet_icon

Lots of photos, please!! I'd like to keep her blog updated. You can email them to me jennifer @dcin.info (remove the space). Stories too, it's nice to see updates on the blogs after kitties have been in their new homes for a bit.

You got it! :-D
 
Laura and Harley said:
Thank you so much Claudia for all your help - you and Don are such professionals! The countdown clock is ticking... Her room is ready and tonight I'll pack a few things to take to the airport, treats, fresh towels for her carrier in case she's soiled it and herself, bottled water, paper towels, and a bag to put the trash in. Once I pick her up it should only be a 10-15 minute drive home. Am I forgetting anything?

I can't think of anything else. Maybe some snippers in your car to cut the zipties on her crate so you can get in and clean it out. I'm not sure if the door will be ziptied shut or if it's just the 2 halves of the clamshell carrier that are ziptied, but just in case you want to make sure you can get in there! And don't forget to ask for the rabies vaccine info that will be in the envelope with the airbill. It sounds like everything is ready on your end! I spoke to Don tonight and she is doing wonderfully, getting ready for her journey home.

We'll talk soon!
 
Charliemeow said:
I can't think of anything else. Maybe some snippers in your car to cut the zipties on her crate so you can get in and clean it out. I'm not sure if the door will be ziptied shut or if it's just the 2 halves of the clamshell carrier that are ziptied, but just in case you want to make sure you can get in there! And don't forget to ask for the rabies vaccine info that will be in the envelope with the airbill. It sounds like everything is ready on your end! I spoke to Don tonight and she is doing wonderfully, getting ready for her journey home.

We'll talk soon!

Got the snipers, thanks Claudia - I wouldn't have thought of that. :idea:

Need to find and charge my cell phone though - I barely use it.
 
Snippers are a good idea also I would recommend like a small box cutter or scissors, when both Maxwell and Musette flew their carriers had a ton of packing tape on them not only holding the clam shell together but also their vet records, travel certificates etc to the top of the carrier. And if Don packs Molly up like he did Musette he will have a complete care package tape up there too, he sent food, bottled water, a plastic spoon, & paper plates as well. He is just the greatest with seeing these babies off to a great start in their new homes.

One other thing I took with us when we went to get both Maxwell and Musette was a harness and leash but that was because we have a pickup and I didn't want them just loose in the truck while I was working on the carriers, so it was just something so they couldn't get down and get under a seat where we couldn't get to them.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Laura, I guess this news got by me at first, but I just wanted to stop by and tell you what an awesome kitty momma you are, and say congrats and welcome to Molly. What a sweet kitty!
How wonderful of you to expand your family. You have the biggest heart!
Mazel Tov!

Donna, Tom, Asher and Alby
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Snippers are a good idea also I would recommend like a small box cutter or scissors, when both Maxwell and Musette flew their carriers had a ton of packing tape on them not only holding the clam shell together but also their vet records, travel certificates etc to the top of the carrier. And if Don packs Molly up like he did Musette he will have a complete care package tape up there too, he sent food, bottled water, a plastic spoon, & paper plates as well. He is just the greatest with seeing these babies off to a great start in their new homes.

One other thing I took with us when we went to get both Maxwell and Musette was a harness and leash but that was because we have a pickup and I didn't want them just loose in the truck while I was working on the carriers, so it was just something so they couldn't get down and get under a seat where we couldn't get to them.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Mel, I was so hoping you'd respond as you've been in these shoes twice before. I ran out and bought a mondo-sized pair of snips last night (and wondered the entire time if my name was being entered into an FBI terrorist registry somewhere ohmygod_smile) and packed those along with Harley's leash. Don told me he'd pack Molly the same way he did Musette with food, plates, bottled water and spoons on top of the carrier and he put a frozen ice cake in a deli tray in her carrier to melt so she could drink. He also used two towels in case she soiled them so hopefully it'd soak in. He thinks of everything!

But alas we cannot control the airlines, Molly missed her first connection in Newark and has been re-booked on the next and only other fight out today. It just pushed back and her tracking info. says she is on it. So I'll be picking her up around Noon Central time. Meanwhile I'm doing laundry and vacuuming - anything to kill time and sooth my excited nerves! Soon, please let it be soon.

nailbite_smile
 
Yes! Don thinks of EVERYTHING!!!! LOL He had Musette packed up better than I pack for myself for road trips..lol. Although I always tease him that he packed her up too well, because she didn't get damaged in shipping like Maxwell did when Claudia shipped him ( Maxwell was just about OTJ when he got here. Musette well....she is still a work in progress...lol).

I know all about those nerves we went rushing off to meet up with Marcy so quickly that Jon forgot to put talk minutes on his cell,(he has unlimited text, but only keeps a small amount of talk minutes) and I managed to drop mine the day before and shatter it, and we then forgot about the time change, and ended up waiting for almost an hour... :roll: I don't think I paced as much as I did that day waiting for my grandkids to be born.

At least it looks like you are going to have beautiful weather to welcome your new baby girl home! With Maxwell, we were out running a snow storm and with Musette we out running a huge thunderstorm. And at least Molly is arriving fully dressed, it seems when I adopt a cat they have a full set of clothes on and by the time they get to me they are nekkid. :o I was beginning to think that the airline was stealing their clothes to make sure they aren't furry terrorists.. :lol:

I can't wait to hear that Molly is safe in your arms she is such a little doll. And of course we will all want to see lots and lots of pictures! Try not to worry mom, the airline takes really good care of them, both Musette and Maxwell arrived in purrfect shape.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Molly's Home!

Molly is home! And Mel is right, the airline did take good care of her and for some reason, this time they let her keep her clothes. She was ready and waiting for me when I arrived at the Continental Office. She was very alert and rubbed up against my mother's and my hands through the carrier door.

We leisurely made our way home and I promptly let her out of her carrier into my second bedroom or "denbedroom" as I call it, and took her BG. Now Don had warned me last night and this morning, but I still didn't believe my eyes when I saw the meter - 53. :mrgreen: After all that travel, stress and no food, she's 53. So I fed her and left her to settle in. At PMPS she was 47! Mel, apparently Maxwell has been making long distance calls again. You need to limit him to a local plan, like say only as far as your bedroom. :razz: :lol: She's a bit squirmy to test right now but hopefully she'll get used to me doing it soon enough.

She has not been formally introduced to Harley and Princess yet. While she seems very adaptable and flexible, my cats are a bit flumaxed. Harley's very interested in who's behind door number 3 but when he caught a glimps of her he growled and hissed. Now she's scared of him. I'm trying to reassure my 2 kits that she won't take their place but this is going to take time. I'm considering a consult with Dawn Allen to help smooth things a bit.


Thank you to everyone for all the warm thoughts, and good travel juju today, Molly sends purrs and scritches to you all.

I gotta turn in, I'm beat. What a wonderful day!!!!!!!
 
She is beautiful!!! and sounds like she just may like Maxwell...got damaged in shipping and is broken... :lol:

Laura, you did know we have an AC right here on the board too....Claudia (cjleo) not only does animal communication, she also does reconnective healing and just started taking clients...I'm still putting the finishing touches on her website...but if you want to check her out her site is www. cjmongin .com (remove spaces), I don't what her rates are like but it might be easier to get an appointment with her than with Dawn. Both are excellent, so either would be an excellent choice, just thought I would toss that out, since I know Dawn can at times be pretty booked up, and with Claudia just starting out professionally she might be easier to book with.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Congratulations Molly on getting to your furever home! You look all tuckered out in your first picture. Great job giving your momma such lovely BGs!

We look forward to hearing about your exploits in your new home, especially once you become friends with your house mates. But this is no Big Brother house, you are there to stay!!

cat_pet_icon
 
Hi everyone, This is just a quickie as I'm at work and it's crazy busy this week. Molly is doing well, she's starting to the explore the house a little more and is trading growls and hisses with Harley & Princess. No punches have been thrown thank goodness. There's a couple new pictures on her DCIN blog page. She is such a little sweetie and has the cutest little chirp of a meow. Every now and again she calls for her mommy just to see if I'll come and check on her. I hope they will all settle down and be friends some day soon.

Her BGs continue to amaze me - she's working on Day 6 of no insulin. This morning's AMPS was 30, tested with the Relion Confirm meter I bought to use just for her. Last night I did side by side tests with the Relion and a Freestyle Freedom and she was 42 on the Relion and 52 on the Freestyle. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I've started a SS with my numbers but gosh, it's pretty boring. We LOVE boring!

cat_pet_icon
 
MommaOfMuse said:
She is beautiful!!! and sounds like she just may like Maxwell...got damaged in shipping and is broken... :lol:

Laura, you did know we have an AC right here on the board too....Claudia (cjleo) not only does animal communication, she also does reconnective healing and just started taking clients...I'm still putting the finishing touches on her website...but if you want to check her out her site is www. cjmongin .com (remove spaces), I don't what her rates are like but it might be easier to get an appointment with her than with Dawn. Both are excellent, so either would be an excellent choice, just thought I would toss that out, since I know Dawn can at times be pretty booked up, and with Claudia just starting out professionally she might be easier to book with.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

Mel- Thanks for telling be about Claudia, I didn't know she is an animal communicator. Whether or not my kits all get along I would like to talk with Harley and Princess about their health and how they are feeling so I will definitely save Claudia's web site. The site is fabulous - I'm so impressed by your talent! :thumbup
 
Thanks Laura, I hadn't coded in years before starting Claudia's site but I have to admit I have had a blast doing it...if you know of anyone looking for a cheap web designer please refer me. :-D Yep we love boring on spreadsheets :-D Now if Musette could just start being as boring as Maxwell and Molly...lol. She is getting better at boring but still insisting that she has to be more multicolored than I would like.

Keeping my fingers and toes crossed that very soon we will be throwing an OTJ party for Ms. Molly!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Molly - One Week Home

Molly's been home a week and she's starting to settle in with my two confused seniors. Her home base is still the kitchen counter but she now follows me around the house with more confidence. She "trills" at me when I leave the room and also during the night. "Mommy, are you there?" She's met Harley and Princess and is able to be in the same room with them so long as they all have their personal space. There are still some hisses and swats exchanged when they are in very close quarters, but of the two, Harley is starting to show signs of coming around and accepting her. When she calls for me, sometimes he comes running too to investigate. She's not yet decided to be a lap cat but there are glimmers of hope for the future when she settles down more and is more relaxed around the others and they around her.

Her BGs continue to be excellent. She's been in the 30s and 40s all week and is currently on Day 11 without insulin. Yeah!!!

More pix...
 

Attachments

  • Molly.JPG
    Molly.JPG
    21 KB · Views: 2,700
  • Molly(3).JPG
    Molly(3).JPG
    24.5 KB · Views: 2,698
  • Molly Toy.JPG
    Molly Toy.JPG
    25 KB · Views: 2,700
...and we need to get to work on Ms. Musette. Although she's starting to not resemble her sweater on her SS as much. :razz: Looks like you're honing in on a good dose though - Go Mama Mel!
 
We are getting there, slowly but surely, I just keep telling just because she is a tortie, it doesn't mean her SS needs to be multicolored too... :roll: Now if I can just get her fine-tuned, she is getting close...1u isn't quite enough, but depending on where she settles on this dose 1.25 may be just slightly too much. So at least I have an idea now of about where she needs to be....Finally!

Although knowing her about the time I finally get her dialed in, she is going to decide she wants less...lol. Still hoping that one day there will be an OTJ party in her future, but right now I would settle for TR.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top