12/24 Cleo AMPS 178 +1=220 +3=251 +5=242 +7=267 +10=189 PMPS 304 +2=456 +5=461

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
Today I'll be at home so I just gave her injection with normal dose (1.25 iu).
I will test every hour, right? Cleo will hate me...
icon_e_sad.gif


From OLDFDMB:
Re: Cleo AMPS 178
by Chris & China » Wed Dec 24, 2014 7:36 am

You really don't need to check every hour unless you get some numbers that worry you

A full curve is every 2 hours and a "mini" curve is every 3 hours

If Cleo were to drop below 50, you might need to get more tests in, but for now, just do a test every 2 or 3 hours

Nice AMPS number to start at! Let's see some pretty green later in this cycle Miss Cleo!!
 
Last edited:
Thank you Chris, I tested at +1 and I will test in 2 hours as you suggested.
I just ran to buy honey for her. I found the acacia honey, I hope it's right.
I hope that my little Cleo improves a bit during these holidays. It would be a wonderful Christmas present
icon_e_biggrin.gif
icon_e_biggrin.gif
icon_e_biggrin.gif
 
I really do not understand. I expected that the values come down instead they remain virtually unchanged? I still can not figure out when is the nadir of Cleo. What am I doing wrong? At +7 bg is higher than preshot, why? I expect something similar to this:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

But I have:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Higher than PreShot number.
+3 - Higher than the PreShot number.
+5 - Higher than the PreShot number, Lower than +3.
+7 - Higher than the PreShot number, Higher than +5.
 
I really don't understand! This is not first time I see this pattern. Cleo's bg decrease after 10 hours. Is it possible to have nadir at +12?
 
Hi, I know is Christmas Eve and you all are very busy, but I need you to tell me what should I expect tonight. It all seems so strange. 189 at +10 and 304 at +12? Any idea why?
 
There isn't going to be one right answer here but I'll try to run through a couple of scenarios.

First, the "typical" (whatever that is) Lantus curve is flat. If you read about the use of Lantus in humans, you'll hear a great deal about this being a type of insulin that doesn't have a marked nadir. Likewise, if you look at some of the spreadsheets for kitties that are on and OTJ trial, you'll also see a fairly flat curve. So seeing Cleo's numbers for most of the AM cycle isn't that big of a surprise.

I would have re-tested when I saw the 189 and/or the 304 just to make sure it wasn't a bad test or strip. Those numbers are out of context with the rest of the cycle which often causes me to re-test. That said, the flat yellow cycle of this morning could be a "heads up" that you may have an active PM cycle. While it may be a somewhat superstitious observation, many cats seem to have a busy cycle when it's preceded by a flat yellow cycle.

The other explanation for the yellow-to-blue-to-pink is that the blue was a dip at the end of the cycle. Since it was close to the end of the cycle, your Lantus lost it's oomph by +12 and numbers were heading up.
 
Thank you so much for your answer and explanation! Sorry, but there is still something I do not understand. Could you please explain what does this means?
That said, the flat yellow cycle of this morning could be a "heads up" that you may have an active PM cycle.
What do you mean for "active cycle"?
And again:
many cats seem to have a busy cycle when it's preceded by a flat yellow cycle.
What is a busy cycle?

Thank you again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top