5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200, PMPS 290

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140

Very very very nice run of numbers there!!! I don't think you have enough data to conclude that Durie's nadir is always +11, but it's great you get that number to see if the values are on the way up or down. Paws crossed Durie surfs nicely today.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140

Yes, she's doing nicely. I'm not concluding, just positing that her nadir 'may' be near +11. I will test all day today to see what's going on. I wonder if people think these numbers still call for a dose increase back up to .75u? I know it's too early still, but some folks were saying a couple days ago that I shouldn't let her stay at .5u for too long.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140

So far the numbers are nice. Since you just dropped the dose and Durie is looking good, I wouldn't jump back up to the higher dose. It's good to let a cat settle into a new dose for several cycles. I'm not sure what others have told you lately and I don't want to contradict anything anyone else has said. I know I recommended to someone else the other day not to let a cat stay at the lower dose too long if it looked like the reduction to the lower dose wasn't "holding," but that was a different situation with a bouncy cat. But so far Durie looks good, and your testing is doing great! Good job!
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140

Good morning!

I don't believe I've visited you all yet...my apologies. It's probably late in coming but welcome to Lantus Land.

I agree with Lisa that it's hard to tell where her nadir is but are you aware that lantus often takes a second dip towards the end of the cycle? You would have to test more regularly to see if Duriel routinely gets a second dip. I wouldn't be surprised if she was lower than 107 at midcycle yesterday. It's common for cats on lantus to nadir somewhere in the midcycle range, come up towards the end, and then drop back down a bit towards +11 or so. The second dip is typically not lower than the nadir.

I normally don't get too caught up in trying to pinpoint the nadir because it can change. Yes...it's a good idea to study her SS and see the trends.

My bigger concern is that you reduced her dose. She did not have a number that would have called for a dose reduction. However, since you have reduced it, I'd leave her here and see what she does the next few cycles. If she bounces back up, let her clear the bounce and see where she comes down to. If she doesn't come to green....and I doubt she will...I'd take her dose back to .75u.

I'm sure it's been suggested you grab a few more tests. You don't have to test as often as you did yesterday unless her numbers are coming down into green but you are missing alot of data. If we had more tests for her, we could help you better with dosing and hopefully move her more towards remission.

If you work, we usually suggest a +2 or an out the door test and then another one as soon as you come home. At night, a +2 or before bed test will help. Any time you can get a +2 or +10/+11 test ...and perhaps a few more midcycle tests during the day when you are off...then we can see her patterns a little better.

Could you also please go into your "edit signature" in the user control panel and just change the "ccc" in her SS link to "pub" (no quotations necessary). With the ccc, every time someone opens her SS, it adds it to the persons google docs list.
thank you! :-D
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200

Ok, I will do +2 when possible. Someone with a lot of knowledge told me not to... that it's of no value, but I stand corrected. Not sure what you mean about "ccc" and "pub"... will check on that later to see if I can make it happen.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200

I have some information to add to this discussion. Duriel's testing supplies are provided by Diabetic Cats in Need, and we allot 125 strips/month, which averages to a touch over 4 strips a day. Any more than 125 strips/month Jorge would have to find other donors because paying for them on his own is not an option.

If the people on the Lantus ISG are going to be collectively advising Jorge to test as much as you seem to be doing, and he follows your advice, he will burn through his monthly allotment in 15 or fewer days and be shooting blind the rest of the month. I don't think that is what you intend, but that may be the result.

Please consider Jorge's limited testing resources when asking him for tests. For example, what do regular +2 and +10 tests really tell you? At 125 strips/month, Jorge could test two preshots and a mid-cycle every day (and the mid-cycle could be switched around among the +5 and +9 hours and between the am and pm cycles), as well as a mini-curve of every three hours one cycle once/week.

If you feel that more-frequent testing is absolutely required, perhaps you could approach the Lantus Land Emergency Fund to finance his test strips. Or perhaps one or more of those advising more-frequent testing can buy and send strips to him.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200

Venita and Ennis93 said:
If the people on the Lantus ISG are going to be collectively advising Jorge to test as much as you seem to be doing
I did not ask him to test as much as we are testing and especially not as much as I, personally, test. Please reread my post. I said "if you work" a +2 OR out the door and an in the door. That would be three tests in the a.m. including the PS. Then I said at night a +2 OR a before bed....that would be two tests in the pm including the PS. I was not aware there was a limit on how many strips he could use but I'm not suggesting that he test more than 4-5 times/day.

I also said a midcycle test would be fine when he is off work (if he works, I don't know the answer to that). That would be a PS, midcycle, PS, midcycle.

The value of a +2 test? Just for education, very valuable if it's possible to do. The +2 test will give a good idea if it's going to be an inactive cycle, a typical active lantus cycle, or a very active cycle. Let me give you an example. If he had gotten a +2 last night or this morning, it would have likely been similar to or higher than the PS. If it is much higher than the PS, then he can limit his testing. Since she was in mid blue both cycles, he could have just gotten a +6 test and saved some strips.

The +10/+11 tells the caregiver if he/she will be shooting a dropping number. He doesn't need to get a +2 and or a +10/+11 every cycle. If he's limited to four tests a day and he's not always around midcycle, then mix it up. Get his PSs every cycle and on the days he can, get just a midcycle, another cycle get just a +2, etc.

Since the question was asked and for additional information on why +2 and +10/+11 tests are important, from the Sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers

This is where the very early cycle spot checks (those +1's, +2's) and those very late cycle spot checks (the +10's, +11's) come into play. Call them the "neglected" spot checks. Everyone gets those +6 spot checks, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle.

Say you get a preshot of 150. Well if you've collected the data on the average time it takes the insulin to start having any effect for your cat and what happens after +12, then you might see that shooting a 150 is actually very safe in your cat. Kitty will be in the 200's before the insulin starts working. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) between shooting and effect time to your advantage.

So why the +10's and +11's? Well say you are on day 5 of a dose increase change and your storage shed is now not only full, it is overflowing... and your +10 or +11 was way higher than your preshot. Good way to stay out of trouble cause now you know you would have shot a still dropping number, not a good idea. so what is the plan then?.... keep testing, and not 2 hours later, every 20-30 minutes would be better, so you can catch the minute it turns and do not loose all your overlap. If you miss the rise and cat is way up there BG wise before you shoot, remember the number is just going to continue to rise in those hours before the insulin has a chance to kick in, and you have a roller coaster curve going rather than the flat curve that is ideal.

Also some Lantus and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that their preshot is always a bit lower than their +10 or +11. It is important to know if your cat is one of those because if you are not raising your dose because your PS doesn't seem to call for it, yet your nadir is not so hot... this could be the reason why.

If Jorge can get a PS and midcycle test each cycle, that would be fantastic but his schedule might not allow him to always get a mid cycle. My goal is to help him get Duriel regulated and perhaps in remission and then no one has the expense of 125 test strips a month. If we can't see what is happening some time during the cycle with a spot check, then Duriel could eventually be overdosed.

I also understand there will be days when Duriel starts getting into lower numbers, where Jorge will need to use more strips to keep her safe.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200

Sorry for the confusion, it's my fault I should have made it clear I can't regularly test more than 3 times daily. In the past few days however, it has made sense to test often because of the issues with getting the dosage right (now that Durie is getting lower numbers, and I was frankly scared of her going too low).
The testing I've done over these days is useful in learning what her pattern tends to be. And now I'm not so scared to get low scores thanks to all the advice I've gotten. I will finish today's testing/mini-curve, hold the dose until the 6th cycle, then review based on the protocol and the testing results.
My apologies for any confusion that I may have caused. DCIN has been a real life-saver to Durie, and this forum has helped me to keep her safe (because I really knew nothing when I first started treating Durie's diabetes back in Oct 2012 ... and the vet who diagnosed her knew very little about proper diet himself).
Durielle is a rescue-foster, so she needs to keep well and ideally go into remission so she can have a better chance at finding a permanent home. I am encouraged by the numbers she's scoring this week, and I hope she can level off soon.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200

Don't worry, Jorge. It's all ok....we are all on the same page to try and help her get into remission.

You are doing a great thing for her.
 
Re: 5/16 Duriel AMPS140, +3 176, +5 184, +8 200

Venita and Ennis93 said:
I have some information to add to this discussion. Duriel's testing supplies are provided by Diabetic Cats in Need, and we allot 125 strips/month, which averages to a touch over 4 strips a day. Any more than 125 strips/month Jorge would have to find other donors because paying for them on his own is not an option.

Hi Venita - thank you for sharing. We get into information-gathering mode easily and probably don't think often enough that funds could be a limit factor. We should all remember this going forward and make our recommendations based on a strategic view of Durie's SS.

Lisa & Leo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top